We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Ranked #78 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Pros: Room was fairly clean, curtains closed all the way to block out light, the pool and slide looked pretty cool, wifi was free

Cons: Wifi was terrible. The connection dropped all the time, which made it really hard to work from the hotel. The hallways were dirty and not well maintained. Wallpaper was peeling off the walls.
They had a tag in the bathroom that asked us to hang our towels to be environmentally friendly. I hung up my towel everyday and they took my towel anyway 3/4 days at the hotel, and replaced my towel 2/4 days.
The breakfast was ok. Decent selection. The waffles were pretty good, but the scrambled eggs were disgusting. The orange juice was not great.
The neighborhood was not that great. Go down the road a bit and there's a much nicer area, but the area around the hotel, not so nice.
The workout room was more like a workout closet.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel385, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Natalie,
Thank you for staying with us. I am so sorry to hear that there were some parts of your stay that were not so enjoyable. We do provide a free wifi connection throughout the hotel and if you were having any dificulties staying connected we do provide a 24 hour technical support number which was located in the guest room directory, tent cards and also provided at time of check in,

We are in the last phase of completing our hallway renovations therefore you may have experienced some dust and wallpaper removed this is simply the stage of us preparing for the new wallpaper to be hung.

We have discussed your comments about the towels and has been addressed with the housekeeper cleaning your room.

I would like to apologize for any inconveniences caused during your stay with us and look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

We were traveling for business and stayed at the Comfort Inn & Suites. I stayed for 5 days and the place was horrible. Upon walking in, you see two random mirrors set again the check in area with a price tag on them and a random piece of drywall laying with the mirrors. My spouse tried to call me at the hotel and the front desk never transferred the call to my room successfully. It took 4 calls and my spouse never got a hold of me. The community around the hotel was run down just like the hotel itself. The last day I was there the shower was completely cold. Breakfast was terrible and co-workers stopped eating the breakfast after the 1st day. The internet was horribly slow and kept disconnecting and reconnecting. Hallways were dirty, like gobs of mud and dirt on the carpets.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel385, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Lisa,

I am so sorry to hear that you felt your lodging experience was not a pleasant one after staying with us for 5 nights.

The complimentary breakfast that is provided is a standard breakfast provided by all Comfort Inn and not only does our breakfast meet the standard it exceeds it with more optional items.

There are signs posted in the lobby and elevator stating that we are completing renovations on one of our floors. The drywall and and dusty hallway was due to us preparing to replace the wallpaper in the hallway.

We do provide a complimentary internet connection with 24 hour technical support that would be able to assist you in anyway with your technical issues.

Please contact me directly as I would like to discuss your stay in more detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Hotel is very accessible from major freeways, has ample parking, and is located close to Chinook Centre Mall. Many fast food restaurants in the vicinity with more up market restaurants a short drive away. The rooms are average, beds are comfortable but pillows are small and square. Pool with water slides is very popular, especially with families. The breakfast is very good with lots of choices, Staff at reception is helpful and very friendly. A real plus is the number of electrical outlets, more than enough to plug in cameras, cell phones, iPads and all those things that need charging every night. Our only problem was with the air conditioner which was very loud and cut in and out constantly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty668988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This place is a short drive from downtown Calgary and is very close to Chinook Centre Mall. The rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast is included and was good - my kids would have loved the waffle maker had they been with me. Parking is free too. I didn't use the indoor pool but it looked nice.

I'd stay there again if my ususal hotel closer to downtown is unavailable.

There is a great Vietnamese restaurant next door that serves execellent phở, called Pho Chu The.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking lot rather than busy McLeod Trail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ukelele67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Nice little place. Stayed here for one night and it was easy check-in with a extremely professional, friendly receptionist (Nicole). Rooms clean and spacious. Nice and quiet. Signs stated they were doing renos but didn't see any evidence/noise because of it. Only complaint is heater in room gave LOUD bang when turning on. Besides that great location and would for sure stay again. Oh and I'm a smoker and they have smoking rooms which are hard to find so a big plus for that :)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Booked a room online paid in advance. Drove 4 hours from out of town to see a hockey game. We had tried to check in 30 min before game . While checking in I realized I didn't have my credit card only Visa debit/Cash. They would not accept a cash deposit or Visa debit and denied our Check in. The online booking agent called the front desk and tried to reason with clerk. When asked to speak with a manager we they were told "He is out of town". They refused my refund and refused my check in !!! Beware when booking here online!! Totally unreasonable staff and extremely rude. Ended up booking at a hotel down the street who was able to check us in and even get us a cab before game time!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Arrived around 10pm to be told they only had smoking rooms as that was what my travel agent had booked. Highly unlikely as it was a business trip and travel agent has my non smoking preference listed. Too late to change hotels due to early meeting in morning at plant nearby. I stayed. Big mistake! Halls were like a construction site with old beds and furniture stacked up, room stank of stale tobacco, Not even an attempt to deodorise the place. rooms grubby and carpets filthy, dust around edges showed place had never been cleaned fully. Noisy aircon with no vent fan option. Bathroom doors had large dents inside and out. All in all a very unpleasant place to stay. We have a lot of work going on nearby over the fall and winter but our teams will NOT be staying here!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#91 of 109 in Calgary
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn - Calgary South
#86 of 109 in Calgary
821 reviews
Econo Lodge South
#88 of 109 in Calgary
157 reviews
Hotel Blackfoot
#21 of 109 in Calgary
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites South

Address: 4611 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £63 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites(R) South is located minutes from downtown Calgary and the Pengrowth Saddledome, home of the Calgary Flames hockey team. This Calgary hotel is minutes from the Calgary Exhibition & Stampede grounds, the famous Calgary Tower, the Calgary Zoo and the Calgary TELUS Convention Centre. Guests of this Comfort Inn & Suites hotel will enjoy the indoor heated pool, two-storey water slide, hot tub and fitness room. Corporate travellers will appreciate the business center and meeting rooms that accommodate up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South Hotel Calgary
Comfort Inn Calgary
Comfort Inn South
Calgary Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing