We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, happy staff, excellent experience.”
Review of Econo Lodge South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge South
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We recently stayed at the Econo Lodge South in Calgary, AB after trying other hotels in the area and this one was by far the best. We extended our stay one day at a time and the staff went out of their way to help and accommodate us. All the staff we interacted with were friendly, happy, and genuinely wanted to help make our stay more pleasant. Rooms are nice and hotel is clean. Overall a great experience and good value. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindsay_elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, enjoyed it all. The room was clean, parking is good. Employees very nice & helpful. We used the Pool and the Hot Tub is relaxing with windows so you can sit and view outdoors.
Continental breakfast had a good selection and we used it during our stay.
Finally a place I could get some sleep, no disturbances!

Definitely will return if/when back to Calgary. Good location, and good prices.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We recently stayed at this property for three nights. It was a good location for us. The bed was comfortable; however, the furniture was not in great shape. Also, used glasses and the coffee maker were not cleaned by housekeeping. Front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. Parking is tight. The inclusive breakfast was good; we enjoyed the large breakfast room with lots of windows.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My daughter 15 had a bowling tournament in Calgary at Chinook center mall, and the Econo lodge was really close to it ,and it was close to other restaurant in the area. The cheese cake cafe was right across the street from our hotel. Was very good.. The hotel was very quite . The beds were very comfortable , and the swimming pool was very nice to swim in . My son 10 enjoyed it a lot. the only problem i had with the hotel was the we were on the bottom floor and the window did not lock. i told the manager and he went solve the problem for us right away . the continental breakfast was soso. not hing to special about it . but it did save us morning for breakfast. i would go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bahamas_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff and great location!
Laundry services on site is most welcomed. Near all major amenities! Chinook shopping centre just down the road. Excellent assortment of eateries just across the street. Ballpark with trail is only a couple minute walk south on Macleod. Great if your into running!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocknessmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stay of 9 nites end of February 2013. Payed in advanced at home. Correct stay, just essentials. Ok location. Minimum service. A week after return home, rebilled with 200$ extra with no comment what so ever. Recalled extra payment through VISA. Nothing yet. No explanation from Eco Lodge South Calgary.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coquenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This is an older hotel/motel but clean and pleasant. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The rooms we stayed in were very comfortable, clean and bright. They have a continental breakfast, I enyoyed the waffles. The location is just a few minutes from the Chinook Mall and our favorite restaurant - Red Lobster.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#91 of 109 in Calgary
250 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#79 of 109 in Calgary
177 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#86 of 109 in Calgary
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#85 of 109 in Calgary
35 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#31 of 109 in Calgary
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South

Address: 7505 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £52 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge South 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is ideally situated in the energetic heart of Macleod Trail. Our location puts you just minutes away from a variety of tourist attractions, restaurants, shopping centres, pubs and nightclubs. Our many amenities and friendly welcoming staff will help set the stage for a total piece of mind during your stay. We offer 73 tastefully appointed guest rooms that will make you feel at home. You can count on our combination of outstanding value and personal service to make your stay as convenient and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge South Hotel Calgary
Econo Lodge Calgary
Calgary Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing