We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty, noisy, unprofessional”
Review of Econo Lodge South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge South
Ranked #90 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty, noisy, unprofessional”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The bad smell of this rundown place welcomes you right from the door. Obviously the maids had been in a hurry cleaning my room because it was dusty, the working desk was sticky, the micro smelled bad, tones of garbage behind the fridge,sloppy sheets and carelessly tossed throw pillows, hair in the washroom, disgusting shower curtain...Shall I continue? The Front desk casually dressed was more interested in gossiping with the staff than doing her job, noisy and unpleasant service. Breakfast was poor, parking lot tight and dirty. Won`t recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_78_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    59
    30
    20
    20
See reviews for
38
42
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We recently stayed at the Econo Lodge South in Calgary, AB after trying other hotels in the area and this one was by far the best. We extended our stay one day at a time and the staff went out of their way to help and accommodate us. All the staff we interacted with were friendly, happy, and genuinely wanted to help make our stay more pleasant. Rooms are nice and hotel is clean. Overall a great experience and good value. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsay_elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trail, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, enjoyed it all. The room was clean, parking is good. Employees very nice & helpful. We used the Pool and the Hot Tub is relaxing with windows so you can sit and view outdoors.
Continental breakfast had a good selection and we used it during our stay.
Finally a place I could get some sleep, no disturbances!

Definitely will return if/when back to Calgary. Good location, and good prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We recently stayed at this property for three nights. It was a good location for us. The bed was comfortable; however, the furniture was not in great shape. Also, used glasses and the coffee maker were not cleaned by housekeeping. Front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. Parking is tight. The inclusive breakfast was good; we enjoyed the large breakfast room with lots of windows.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My daughter 15 had a bowling tournament in Calgary at Chinook center mall, and the Econo lodge was really close to it ,and it was close to other restaurant in the area. The cheese cake cafe was right across the street from our hotel. Was very good.. The hotel was very quite . The beds were very comfortable , and the swimming pool was very nice to swim in . My son 10 enjoyed it a lot. the only problem i had with the hotel was the we were on the bottom floor and the window did not lock. i told the manager and he went solve the problem for us right away . the continental breakfast was soso. not hing to special about it . but it did save us morning for breakfast. i would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bahamas_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff and great location!
Laundry services on site is most welcomed. Near all major amenities! Chinook shopping centre just down the road. Excellent assortment of eateries just across the street. Ballpark with trail is only a couple minute walk south on Macleod. Great if your into running!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocknessmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stay of 9 nites end of February 2013. Payed in advanced at home. Correct stay, just essentials. Ok location. Minimum service. A week after return home, rebilled with 200$ extra with no comment what so ever. Recalled extra payment through VISA. Nothing yet. No explanation from Eco Lodge South Calgary.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coquenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#89 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#75 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#85 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#87 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South

Property: Econo Lodge South
Address: 7505 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge South 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is ideally situated in the energetic heart of Macleod Trail. Our location puts you just minutes away from a variety of tourist attractions, restaurants, shopping centres, pubs and nightclubs. Our many amenities and friendly welcoming staff will help set the stage for a total piece of mind during your stay. We offer 73 tastefully appointed guest rooms that will make you feel at home. You can count on our combination of outstanding value and personal service to make your stay as convenient and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge South Hotel Calgary
Econo Lodge Calgary
Calgary Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing