We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we chose Econo Lodge”
Review of Econo Lodge South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge South
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were in Calgary this past weekend, and was a last minute thing, to our surprise most of the hotels were booked. We drove around, called and was told they had a room at the Econo Lodge, the front desk guy i believe his name was Darrin was very helpful and polite, a joy to deal with on the phone and in person. We called other hotels and he was by far the best to deal with. Was told they had a room with a king bed and the price was reasonable compared to most. Got to the hotel Darrin was courteous and got us checked in with no problems. The room was clean, smelled good, bed was comfortable, room was big enough had a couch and a flat screen tv nice shower too, iron and iron board, microwave and fridge, and of course wifi.
We almost made the mistake of going with a different hotel only to save 20 bucks was well worth the extra have found our new favourite hotel to stay at when in Calgary. The breakfast was decent, all the regular things you come to expect form a continental breakfast, had a waffle maker they were good. It is also close to some restaurants and fast food and the Chinook mall, gas stations across st and a liquor store, and about 5-10 mins from downtown Calgary. Over all a great stay very happy i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Read the Reviews for a hotel its a good indication of what to expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kyle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeCalgary, Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank You for taking the time to comment on your experience during your stay at our Hotel. Your comments and feed back are important to us and will be used to make improvements in our service you.
Thank for choosing to stay at the Econo Lodge South Calgary. We look forward to serving you again with the same friendliness and high standard that you have come to expet of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Reasonably priced, clean and quiet. Definitely not high end hotel but location is great and people friendly. Can't complain really, A/C wasn't the best but temperature was cool enough not to need much. Quick access to wedding we were going to. Super clean!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huntlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeCalgary, General Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Your feed back on your recent stay with us was very helpful and will help us to improve our Hotel and our services so that we can serve you better in future. Thank you for taking the time to that and thank you for staying with us.
We look forward to having you again so we can make greater efforts to more than meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our stay here from June 13th – June 25th was good. We did not experience any difficulties during our stay. I always found the staff at this hotel to be courteous and helpful, especially Darren and Joey at the front desk.

Our room (114) was always ready and clean when we returned from our various activities. Included in the room was a fridge and coffee maker.

A continental style breakfast was included which consisted of waffles (waffle-maker), cold cereal, refrigerated boiled eggs, various breads, muffins, bagels, etcetera and coffee (high test and decaf) or tea. The only concern I have here was the lack of tongs. There was only one set for everything. For instance, because the bread was in the original plastic bags, people would reach in with their hands to grab slices because there were no dedicated tongs for the breads. Ditto for the boiled eggs. Don’t know where their hands have been before but I am sure that this is not quite sanitary. The set of tongs that was available was always in use somewhere else!

The Wi-Fi was decent enough and seemed to be better in the early morning hours and afternoon but as the hotel reached capacity towards the evening it had a tendency to drop frequently and became very slow.

Despite the minor problems mentioned above, I would stay here again, mostly because I found the staff so great which, when you get down to the nitty gritty, will form your opinion about any possible return visits down the road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barfly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeCalgary, General Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank You for your feed back on our service during your stay with us. We have more tongs on our breakfast spread and we have also asked our Internet provider to increase our Bandwidth and speed so that our guests can enjoy a much faster access and speed on the Internet service
provided at the hotel.
Thank you for booking with us. We look forwarrd to serving you again with even more higher standards on your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Decent rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff, great location in South Calgary near Chinook Centre. We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and keep coming back because of the value. We highly recommend Econo Lodge South as good accommodation for the price conscious traveler.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptmc789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeCalgary, General Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Econo Lodge South Calgary. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed the changes we have made at the Hotel.
We will continue to improve our standards continually and look forward to serving you again with
the same high standards and friendliness that you have come to expect of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights. Good location, close to the Chinook mall. Rooms are average for a hotel of this class. The hotel itself clean and the staff was friendly. Pool was a nice addition. The breakfast was terrible -absolute no choice -boiled eggs and DIY waffles for two days.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Isabella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeCalgary, General Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank You for your comments. It was nice to hear about your satisfaction with our staff, cleanliness of the Hotel and the pool.
The Continental Breakfast that we offer is complimentary and besides" the make your own fresh Waffles and fresh boiled eggs we also offer 3 different kinds of fruits,2 kinds of juices, milk ,assorted cold cereals, as well as a variety of pastries including bagels and bread.
I am really sorry that you were disappointed with our breakfast.
We will endeavour to improve it and look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here on business for 1 night. The rooms a clean and quiet and the beds are comfortable. The TV had a poor signal (digital signal, but took a while for the pixelation to settle after changing channels). The breakfast was good (nothing too special). Service was okay (not very professional).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seanwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeCalgary, General Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank You for taking the time to inform us about your experience with your stay at our Hotel.
We have noted your comments about the slow process of pixels formating on the screen and contacted Shaw Cable who is our provider for TV programs for the Hotel.
We also upgraded our system to the latest technology Shaw has for TV programming to eliminate this problem.
We have recently replaced our mattresses and bedding as a first phase of our renovations and will be replacing all our furniture in the second phase next year.
Sincerely apologize for your inconvenience and look forward to having you again at our Hotel with improved service.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights November 2013 for business. I picked the location because it was right down the road from where I had to be for an early morning meeting the next day. I requested a smoking room so I already know to lower my expectations at this point. Check-in was easy, the staff I dealt with over the couple of days were courteous and helpful.

However, the bed was the worst I have slept on for as long as I can even remember (could feel the springs poking out, terrible sleep) and I'm not sure if the thermostat was broken or that the door and windows weren't insulated properly but I had the thermostat sitting at 30 degrees and actual temperature in the room wouldn't get higher than 17. The bathtub had some sort of residue covering the entire bottom that made me wonder if I should be getting in with bare feet.

Even with the corporate discount price that I paid, I won't be back there again - mainly because I need my sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meesha780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeCalgary, General Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Guest,

My sincere apologies for the discomfort you experienced with the mattress in the smoking room which is located in our old wing and is upcoming and slated for phase 2 of our renovation program. I would like to assure you that all our rooms do not have mattresses like that.

All our non smoking rooms located in the new wing which was recently renovated have brand new very comfortable pillow top mattresses.

The non skid lining sprayed on the bath tub was a shade darker than the tub and turned darker over a period of time. But that will be taken care of with the renovation as well.

What you experienced is not a norm in all our rooms and once the old wing smoking rooms are renovated the experience you had will disappear.

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of our shortcomings so we can improve and serve our guests better.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#91 of 109 in Calgary
260 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#78 of 109 in Calgary
177 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#86 of 109 in Calgary
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#85 of 109 in Calgary
36 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#32 of 109 in Calgary
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South

Address: 7505 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £52 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge South 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is ideally situated in the energetic heart of Macleod Trail. Our location puts you just minutes away from a variety of tourist attractions, restaurants, shopping centres, pubs and nightclubs. Our many amenities and friendly welcoming staff will help set the stage for a total piece of mind during your stay. We offer 73 tastefully appointed guest rooms that will make you feel at home. You can count on our combination of outstanding value and personal service to make your stay as convenient and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge South Hotel Calgary
Econo Lodge Calgary
Calgary Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing