We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be great, but let down by (poor!!) cleanliness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West
Ranked #53 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Could be great, but let down by (poor!!) cleanliness”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

On the surface, and when I first arrived, this hotel seems like a great modern and well-appointed choice to stay in Calgary. However, once I got settled into my room, some negative aspects soon became apparent... =(

Three negatives, unfortunately, stood out for me:
- The cleanliness could be ALOT better! On the surface, it seems like a modern and clean room - but upon closer inspection, there were a couple things that GROSSED me out. 1) the ice tongs had someone else's old food debris on it (see pic!), and 2) there were stray hairs on the shower walls! EEK.
- Not sure if it was just my room (2nd floor) or others as well, but the toilet/train would make a weird loud noise every 15-20 minutes or so. Even with the bathroom door closed, you could hear it 'going off' all the time.
- Finally the noise isolation/sound proofing from the hall/door into the room is lacking. Stayed in many hotels, and this one ranks poor in terms of sound/privacy from the hallway.
As a note, the hotel does provide ear plugs (but who really comes to a hotel and expects to always use/sleep with earplugs?).

--

Having mentioned the above 3 points, I would have to recommend to stay somewhere else.
If the hotel were to improve (significantly) on its cleanliness and sound/noise proofing, then I MAYBE would consider giving it another shot.

If you're looking for a hotel in NW Calgary area, I would personally recommend Aloft University (also a SPG hotel). Stayed there and it was great!

*If this review was helpful to you, please take a quick moment and hit the 'yes - review was helpful' button.*

Thanks for reading, HAPPY TRAVELS! =)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle L, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Ryan T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your most recent stay with us. We are happy to hear your welcome and first impression of our hotel was positive.

Please accept my most sincere apologies that you experienced housekeeping and maintenance issues during your stay with us. We apologize for this inconsistency and can assure you this is not our typical standard. Our housekeeping team prides themselves in winning Alberta Hotel and Lodging Award each year and we will certainly review this with them to ensure our Four Points standards are being met for every guest. Always feel free to reach out to the front desk for anything during your stay, including noise issues. Additionally, we encourage you to bring any issues to light during your stay as we would have been happy to move you to a different room so your stay was more enjoyable.

I encourage you to reach out to me directly so that I may address your concerns further.

We are happy to hear of your experience with our second owned and managed property, the Aloft Calgary University and we can assure you this is a one off experience at Four Points. We would love to welcome you back to our property for a great stay. Please feel free to reach out to me directly and I will ensure you receive a great rate and an overall fantastic stay.

In hospitality,

Rachelle La Forge
Front Office Manager
Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West
403-288-4441
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    119
    69
    27
    14
See reviews for
127
55
20
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We called ahead and requested an early check-in because we were coming from 8 hours away by car. Our room wasn't ready, but we were given a substitute room, which was very beautiful, overlooking Canada Olympic Park. We will definitely book this property again. Special thanks to the front desk crew...first class all the way...especially considering that the Calgary Stampede was in full swing and the hotel was at full capacity.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nixonreaganbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Flew into Calgary on our way to Banff. Spent the night at this Sheraton. It is approximately 25 minutes from the airport. Newly renovated rooms with wonderful bedding. Bathrooms were spotless and updated. No noise problems at all. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hogbarngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heather c, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I too love the Four Points bedding Hogbarngirl. Did you know that everything is available through the Four Points Store, online at www.fourpoints-hotelsathome.com/ ! We look forward to your next visit with us.
Safe Travels, Heather Craigdallie - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I had a 4 am departure time to get ready for my Calgary to Halifax flight. I decided to stay at the Sheraton as I was coming in from Canmore and reasoned that it was close enough to the hotel to warrant staying there. Quiet hours start around 9:30pm/10pm and that was a complete joke. The hotel did not quiet down until 1am. I called and complained and to their credit they did send someone to tell everyone to keep quiet. But that was it after hours of waves of children running in the hall and people shouting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluewater08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle L, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Bluewater08,

We are disappointed to hear of your initial experience regarding noise from other guests. Thank you for contacting the front desk during your stay. I am happy to see we were able to put a stop to this as soon as we were made aware.

We apologize that you did not receive any follow up regarding this. Please feel free to contact me should your travels bring you back to Calgary and I will be more than happy to provide you with an enhanced room at a great rate and the true relaxing Four Points experience.

Thank you for sharing, we hope to hear from you!


Best regards,

Rachelle La Forge
Front Office Manager
Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at this property and was pleasantly surprised. Staff were friendly and accomodating and the renovations provide for an updated experience. Great location for me as it was close to my meetings. I didn't rate the spa as I did not use it. The gym is smaller but had everything I needed as seemed very clean. I woudl definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I available ask for a room that doesn't face the highway, A room that is on the same side as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heather c, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you Nicholas, pleasant surprises are always the best.
A tip on room selection, if you are sensitive to the highway and still want a view of Canada Olympic Park, Choose the first floor. Without balcony doors it cuts down on the “hum” significantly.

Safe travels and we look forward to your next visits,
Heather Craigdallie – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My mom and I stayed here when we attended a show at Olympic Park. Upon walking into the lobby I was first impressed by the water feature and modern decor. The lady at the front desk was very helpful and by the time I finished checking in I not only had a room better than what I had reserved but I also had reservations at the restaurant for supper and breakfast the next morning and a tip to save us a few dollars on the show we were going to. The room was clean, it had a small balcony with a door we opened for fresh air, and it was quiet and the beds were very comfortable. I was very happy that we'd stayed there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle L, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Vicki P,

Thank you for sharing your stay with us! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time at Four Points.

We hope to welcome you back in the future for a 5/5 stay.

Take care!


In hospitality,

Rachelle La Forge
Front Office Manager
Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I arrived at this hotel a little early due to a group that I delivered to McDonalds across from Canada Olympic Park for furtherance to Banff. I checked in, not expecting to be able to move in, however, my move in was seamless, with a very friendly staff whom even helped me park my motorcoach on their lot. Their location is prime for families as it is surrounded by fast food properties, a strip mall, liquor store, gas station, & of course easy access to the Trans Canada Highway & COP if you are a skiier. Rooms are spacious, clean, & modern. No complaints. Recommend for groups(teams) as well. Close to University, & only 15-20 minutes City Hall, Zoo, Cross Iron Mills Mall, etc. Also good for Airport Access...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle L, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Bear20142014,


Thank you for the glowing review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

Should you return to Calgary, please feel free to reach out directly to me and I would be happy to set you up for another great stay.


Sincerely,

Rachelle La Forge
Front Office Manager
Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#44 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Village Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Four Points by Sheraton Calgary Airport
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West
Address: 8220 Bowridge Crescent Northwest, Calgary, Alberta T3B 2V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#37 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from WinSport Canada Olympic Park, Four Points Calgary West Hotel is near downtown and only 40 minutes from the Canadian Rocky Mountains. We have meeting space, a spa, and a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Calgary West Hotel Calgary
4 Points By Sheraton Calgary West
Four Points Calgary West
Sheraton Calgary
Calgary Sheraton
Calgary Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing