We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

The location of this hotel was great and definitely the big draw of staying here. The Calgary Tower is literally 200-300m from the hotel entrance, the C-Train Station is less than a 3 minute walk and there are quite a few nice restaurants and shops close by. The hotel is quite large and doesn’t have a very homely feel (as you would expect) and there are quite a few conferences and business type people wandering around and it seemed like we were the only tourists, however none of these are bad things, just what I observed. The rooms were very clean and large and we had a large king sized bed which was very comfortable. The room had good space to store suitcases in the wardrobe and there was a safe. The is a really lovely lounge/bar which has an open fire and a massive bison head on the wall and we went here a couple of times for drinks before going out in the evening. The Starbucks in the hotel was also a great perk for us and we could grab a coffee in the evening before heading back up to the room. The buffet breakfast was lovely (although slightly pricey at $22 each) with a great variety of foods.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasperblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    424
    133
    41
    16
See reviews for
229
326
64
589
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great hotel in downtown Calgary with very friendly staff. Excellent location close to everything. Tastefully updated lobby and rooms, comfortable beds, newly renovated bathrooms. Spa is very relaxing with a wide-range of treatments.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Overall a very good experience. The room was clean and the hotel has a great little fitness area and pool. I experienced a few challenges with the room service food (I wouldn't recommend ordering eggs or sausages for breakfast; tried that twice and same result....). They were experiencing issues with the cable and telephone system when I was there. The bell staff and the housekeeping staff were great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HabsFan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed here in Sept 2013 for a business meeting. The hotel is very clean and modern. The staff are extremely attentive and visible during our event. They were responsive to questions and were very invested in the success of our meeting. Well before our meeting took place, they were hands on during the planning and were not shy about reaching out with questions and suggestions ... We had about 38 rooms reserved for our attendees and the check-in process was smooth and easy. Our rooms were spacious and very well attended. Our meeting room was just a bit tight for our attendees but it wasn't detrimental to our event. We also had 2 break-out rooms adjacent to the main meeting room which were ideal for our small group sessions! We had an AV tech from the hotel in the room with us which was excellent to ensure the technology and equipment were always functioning. The food---- it was great!! We had creative menu options and our attendees were impressed with the quality!! Overall, our experience with this hotel was very good! We were pleased with how our event turned out and would recommend this hotel for business travelers!

Room Tip: I had a room on the 18th floor so my room was quiet and I enjoyed it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swankysilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I was visiting Calgary for a conference at the close by Telus center.
On entering the hotel, the receptionist greeted me by name and finishing my check in within a couple of minutes. On entering the hotel, I was always felt welcomed with a smiling face.
The room was a clean and the bed comfortable.
We ate at their see food restaurant "Catch" and it was was a delight.
Great central location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eldomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
156 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Excellent location downtown . Self parking costs 25 $ day .
The rooms (ours had a king bed) are quite small and the decor and bathrooms are a bit dull and dated. We paid extra for Regency Club access and that suited us very well as we had some hours to wait on our departure day, and time to kill. Compared with other Regency Club facilities we have used, this one is also a little dull and dated, though perfectly comfortable. The evening hors d'oeuvres were limited and disappointing, though it was a Sunday evening and fairly quiet.....weekdays might be better.
Weekday breakfast is from 6am to 9am.......we went there at 8.30 am and by that time the hot options were dried out and unappetising (better quality sausages shouldn't be too difficult to source!!!!!!) . The fruit , cereals , etc were all very good. At 8.55am the server starter to clear away the breakfast.

It's interesting that the hotels used by previous reviewers strongly feature hotels close to the airport.
Given that there is not a great deal for non business travellers to do downtown, perhaps the better option is to stay closer to the airport , and take a taxi or public . transport into the city centre

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OTG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a higher standard of hotel than what I usually stay at, but I didn't know Calgary and decided to stay right in the middle of the town - this hotel is opposite the Glenbow Museum and a block or two from Chinatown and the skytower etc. The room was very comfortable (and had a row of power outlets right on the desk - no unplugging lamps to recharge devices, no climbing around under the desk looking for outlets!), the bed was comfortable and the amenities were very nice. I also had a great view, which was a benefit of paying $9 online for an upgraded room if available. There was also a first-class buffet breakfast available in the Balcony lounge on the second floor (ground floor restaurant was closed for renovation) for the incredibly good value price of $15. But best of all was the customer service, which was outstanding, right from check-in (when I got the very quiet room I asked for). I wasn't leaving town until midnight of the day I checked out, and the check-in desk manager allowed me to use their premium lounge on the 19th floor all afternoon and evening. I was able to get some urgent work done in peace and quiet and comfort. This was incredibly generous, considering I'd already checked out, and was by no means one of their regular guests, let alone a premium guest. Combined with an excellent advance-purchase room rate, this was altogether a wonderful stay and would stay here again in a flash.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussytraveller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#22 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
The Westin Calgary
#25 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Calgary

Property: Hyatt Regency Calgary
Address: Hyatt Regency Calgary 700 Centre St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 5P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#5 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#8 Business Hotel in Calgary
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#9 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Calgary offers world-class service, elegant surroundings and unsurpassed modern convenience. At the corner of Stephen Avenue Walk, a popular pedestrian street filled with restaurants, pubs, shops, theatre and entertainment venues, we are also connected to the Convention Centre. Nestled in one of the city's historic sandstone buildings, the hotel showcases the region's heritage, while embracing a contemporary, western feel that embraces Calgary's cosmopolitan personality. Not only is Hyatt Regency Calgary structurally stunning, it also captures the spirit of the surrounding landscapes with +500 collections of original western paintings and sculptures created by local artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Calgary Hotel Calgary
Hyatt Calgary
Calgary Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing