We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel; excellent location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Calgary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good hotel; excellent location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

Pros:
- Excellent location at the heart of Calgary: within walking distance to many attractions (e.g. Calgary Tower, Glenbow Museum, and Jack Singer Concert Hall)
- Friendly and helpful staff
- City views (the higher the level you're in, the better)
- Nice swimming pool on 18th floor.

Things you should know:
- Internet is not free
- Parking in downtown Calgary is expensive and is not usually included in room rates
- Housekeeping will not put your room back to how it was when you first checked in: they will clean, make the bed, and jet. If you have certain expectations, ask the staff.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank icFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    416
    131
    41
    16
See reviews for
228
319
63
576
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

My wife and I often stay at the Hyatt Calgary - about 3 or 4 times per year. We enjoy the location, secure parking and the staff are always exceptionally friendly and helpful. We stayed there again this week and have come to realize that the level of cleanliness has plummeted in the rooms and in the restaurants. The bathrooms are covered in film and grease; tiles are broken; fixtures are rusty and poor-functioning. We had a simple breakfast at Thompson's and noted that the tables and chairs are not clean and showing a lot of damage from use. The menus are sticky and the music is so loud that we could hardly enjoy our own conversation, being interrupted with Cindy Lauper's screeching. It's getting to the point where we have begun to look for alternative accommodation on our trips to Calgary. Hyatt, as regular guests, we want to point out that it's time for an overhaul; or at least a serious round of spring-cleaning and repairs.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmackayYEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHRC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Calgary, responded to this review, 4 January 2011
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We truly value comments such as yours, as they allow us the opportunity to evaluate our products and services, and make improvements where needed. Rest assured, I have shared your comments with our management team and we will address all areas of concern accordingly.

Keith Butz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

Excelent downtown location,nice staff,and close to my favorite shopping gallery boutique, Fashion Central There you can find international brands like Wolford,Betsey Johnson and the trendy Brazilian fashion shoes boutique "Carmen Steffens"

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ariel1g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

The hotel was ok... The lobby kind of fooled me because it was pretty opulent and then getting my room it was very worn and dated. Liked the separate tv room but the bathroom was really the disappointment. It just cost a lot for what you got.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angel_up_north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

The Hyatt is a fabulous place to stay in Calgary. I was there on business with colleagues, and the rooms we had were spacious, clean, and had upgraded features in the bathrooms. The hotel staff were very friendly--front desk staff as well as the houskeeping staff. There was virtually no noise from surrounding rooms. The only complaint colleagues had was that the pillows were too soft but this was a minor detail for me.

I would definitely stay there again--hotel is certainly more pricey than others but it is well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beautifulmidnight28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melville, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

My family and I stayed at the Hyatt for 4 days while I participated in a conference hosted at the hotel. The lobby, conference rooms, and guest rooms are nice and comfortable. The pool is small, but has a nice view. The food provided for the banquet was excellent, but the food in the restaurant was only average although priced well above average. The front desk and housekeeping staff were professional, friendly and helpful, but the food service staff tended to get rather upset if you used the wrong fork during your meal.

Parking in the underground parking is convenient but expensive, although the conference discount helped. Probably the most surprising charge to us was that the hotel wanted $15/day to allow me to log on to the internet with my laptop, even after paying for the room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

Just spent my pre-wedding night at the hyatt it was amazing. The rooms, service and hospitality room was amazing!! The spa was a great way to start off the day. We had people coming in and out doing makeup photos etc, the staff was great in accommodating us! Great stay over all

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tannermae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#20 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Calgary
#25 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Calgary

Property: Hyatt Regency Calgary
Address: Hyatt Regency Calgary 700 Centre St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 5P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#4 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#8 Business Hotel in Calgary
#9 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Calgary offers world-class service, elegant surroundings and unsurpassed modern convenience. At the corner of Stephen Avenue Walk, a popular pedestrian street filled with restaurants, pubs, shops, theatre and entertainment venues, we are also connected to the Convention Centre. Nestled in one of the city's historic sandstone buildings, the hotel showcases the region's heritage, while embracing a contemporary, western feel that embraces Calgary's cosmopolitan personality. Not only is Hyatt Regency Calgary structurally stunning, it also captures the spirit of the surrounding landscapes with +500 collections of original western paintings and sculptures created by local artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Calgary Hotel Calgary
Hyatt Calgary
Calgary Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing