We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Go Wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Palliser
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can't Go Wrong”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Excellent as always I dont understand how people can expect more. The construction with the gold lounge was a bit of a dissapointment but not a huge concern. With the current rates for this hotel you cant go wrong and as a consumer we understand hotels do need to renovate in order to offer the best service possible. New rooms are nice food is excellent as always, only concern is we are a younger couple and still feel a bit out of place at the fairmont chain just in comparison to other guests but the staff are great. well done palliser.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianOil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalliser, Communications Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay at The Fairmont Palliser. We are very excited about our newly renovated guest rooms and are thrilled to announce that our new, excluisve Penthouse-level Fairmont Gold Lounge will open in late May. We sincerely hope to welcome you back then!

Kind Regards,

Jessica Reynolds
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,133
    642
    244
    102
    58
See reviews for
346
852
113
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2011

After just reading some of the other reviews, apparently we were fortunate to have stayed in a renovated room. It was beautiful, very spacious and very clean. I was actually quite impressed by how clean our room was . . . coming from someone who suffers from OCD, that says a LOT!!

Also after reading some of the other reviews, I am glad that we didn't waste our money ordering room service. The prices were ridiculous!! The prices at the restaraunt in the hotel's lobby are also outrageous - $48/person for Sunday Brunch?? Ouch!!

The Valet Parking is well worth the money. For only $10 more than the Public Parking rate, the front door service is great!

Room Tip: Pay in advance for a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandySandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalliser, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
CandySandi

Thank you for feedback regarding your recent stay at The Fairmont Palliser. We are thrilled that you found our renovated rooms to be beautiful, very spacious and very clean. The Fairmont Palliser has recently undergone a significant renovation project that is sure to impress our guests. We have also expanded our Fairmont Gold Floor to include double the Gold level guest rooms and an exquisite Fairmont Gold Lounge on the Penthouse level. We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding the cost of our Sunday Brunch and we will certainly take your comments into consideration; as we are always looking for opportunities to perfect our guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Palliser soon.

Best Regards,

Frédéric Paré
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I made a mistake in staying in this hotel during our visit to Calgary. I'm sure there were other far better hotels near the Calgary Tower. This hotel ruins the good name that Fairmont have. The rooms and bathrooms need a renovation. For the price they charge, none of my expectations were met. I will definitely look for other hotels on our next visit to Calgary.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fortmac_eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalliser, General Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
fortmac_eric,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor. Your comments are taken very seriously and I sincerely apologize that your expectations were not met. As per your feedback, The Fairmont Palliser is undergoing a significant renovation project that is sure to impress. By May 1, 2011 we will have completed two phases of renovations, which include 200 brand new guest rooms, an expanded Gold Floor product and an exclusive Gold Floor Lounge, check-in and concierge on our Penthouse level. With these significant enhancements we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back; in hopes of restoring your confidence in The Fairmont Palliser.

Sincerely,

Dan McGowan
General Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My friend and I stayed here to go to a concert. We stayed 2 nights in a room with 2 double beds.

The room was very room, with lots of space! The view out the window was less than desirable, but we weren't there for the view.

It's located right next to the calgary tower.

The prices were great per night!

Room service, rather, the food we ordered from room service at 11pm was not the greatest. But it was fast.

I ended up getting a concussion that night and upon returning to the hotel I called housekeeping asking for an iced pack, they said they would look but the didn't know that they had any. 5 minutes later we have a knock at the door from the a nurse(?) at the hotel, with a bag of ice and some advil! God send!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanatasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalliser, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
lanatasha,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you were thrilled with your room and rate at The Fairmont Palliser. Our colleagues take great pride in going above and beyond for our guests and we sincerely hope you are feeling better! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Frédéric Pare
Director of Operations
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

This is not the first time staying at the Palliser, but it may be our last. We booked a junior suite and the room itself was fine. However, in order to sit on the toilet one had to be double-jointed to use it. Once seated on the toilet one had to be sure that the floor heater did not touch your leg as it was extremely hot. We were on the fourth floor facing the railyards and the continual din of passing trains made having a good night sleep virtually impossible. Added to the noise and despite our best efforts we could not get the heat in the room above 18.5 degrees (one a -20 degrees evening). Any hopes that a warm shower would refresh us in the morning were quickly dashed as the shower head delivered a stinging spray of water. When the front desk was advised of the problems, they were aware of the situation and mentioned the hotel should change the shower heads at some point. While we have stayed at the Palliser frequently, this experience will cause us to consider whether we will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank right1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalliser, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
right1,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Fairmont Palliser. I sincerely apologize for any discontent you may have experienced, and truly value the feedback you have provided. As a loyal guest, your experience is extremely important and I can assure you that your concerns have been addressed. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Fairmont Palliser, in hopes of restoring your confidence in us.

Sincerely,

Frédéric Pare
Director of Operations
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

I stayed at the Fairmont Palliser for one night with my father before returning home from a Rocky Mountaineer rail vacation. I loved its location near the pedestrian mall and all the details around to the hotel that were an homage to its railway history.

Our room was spacious, though minimal in decor. We had a perfect view of the tower from out our window. Beds were comfy and the bathroom was great. I spent some time in the swimming pool where I met lots of friendly Canadian's who asked me dozens of questions about what it is like to live in NY....meanwhile I was jealous that they all lived in beautiful Canada.

I loved walking around the gorgeous lobby and seeing all the pictures and posters of the hotels history. They offer a menu of very unique non alcoholic beverages. They were very overpriced for not having any booze ($9 each I think), but they were delicious. I always give extra points to places that make special drinks for people who don't drink.

The one bad part of our experience here was the room service. We ordered a few different items. None of them were great, but I had ordered a turkey burger and it was entirely inedible. It was blackened on the outside, hard as a rock and grainy to chew when I did try to take a bite. I did report this and they offered us a free dessert and took it off our bill. Perfect response from them, but I have to note the food sucked.

If you are in Calgary on a quick trip. This is a nice place to unwind. The whole city is undergoing tons of construction which can be distracting, but its not the hotels fault and they do their best to keep it quiet.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynPringTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We have stayed at the Fairmont Palliser several times before and had found it to be “tired”.

The recent renovation has retained the charm of this historic hotel, yet modernized it to what you would expect of a 4 star property: new carpet, textured wallpaper, thick mattresses, fan in bathroom, good water pressure and a 47” flat screen. The colour scheme is soothing (cream, aqua and chocolate). The furniture is a modern twist on classic styles. Fairmont has done an excellent job on the renovated floors!

We were attending a corporate function in the main Crystal Ballroom, so we didn’t spend much time in the room. Much to our dismay.

The staff (as always) is helpful, friendly and welcoming. We had reserved a “classic” king room, but I believe we were upgraded to a “deluxe” king which faced the courtyard.

I look forward to our next annual overnighter at the Palliser.

Tip: go with the $30/day valet parking. It enables you to have front door service and unlimited in/out privileges. The attached public parkade will charge you for every entry (and it’s covered but not heated).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarbucksTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#8 of 109 in Calgary
854 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 109 in Calgary
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Palliser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Palliser

Property: The Fairmont Palliser
Address: 133 9 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#9 Business Hotel in Calgary
#14 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Palliser 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, The Fairmont Palliser has been the city's premier address, the cornerstone of Calgary's hospitality industry and a landmark building that is rich in history and architecture. Set in the heart of the city, The Fairmont Palliser is a historical landmark offering distinctive accommodation in elegant surroundings. Recent renovations include five floors of guest rooms and the expansion of Fairmont Gold. A brand new Fairmont Gold Lounge, Concierge and Check-in area can be found on the Penthouse Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairmont Palliser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Palliser Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Palliser
Fairmont Calgary
Calgary Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing