We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home for a week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairmont Palliser
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
79 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“My home for a week”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

I stayed here last month for a week. The room is typical for a hotel set up and size is reasonable. The hotel still maintains some of their old stuff like the mail chute seen at the lift lobby since they have been around for quite some time and i can see that they are very much proud of that and their historical background. The hotel is centrally located downtown and just a walking distance from the CBD and offices building.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zmyusof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,098
    628
    236
    100
    57
See reviews for
334
819
113
615
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We were at the hotel for four nights, and really enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the staff were friendly, helpful, and accommodating.

The only complaint I have is that it's not accessible. I was travelling with my young daughter and needed the staff's help getting up and down the stairs at the hotel's entrance when coming and going. Don't know what people in wheelchairs would do.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ov123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This was a great hotel in a very central position with excellent, friendly staff. We had a good size room beautifully clean. The concierge was fantastic as we had a problem with our voucher for our taxi from the airport. In fact the Fairmont Palliser and the Jasper Park Lodge staff should be sent to the Banff Springs Hotel to teach them how staff should behave !!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Classic hotel with good ambiance. It is not my favorite in the Fairmont Hotels but have the great service they are known for.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoryGLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalliser, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review The Fairmont Palliser on TripAdvisor. Should you have any additional feedback regarding your stay, please contact palliserhotel@fairmont.com. We look forward to the opportunity of becoming one of your favourite Fairmont Hotels!

Best Regards,

Frédéric Paré
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

My husband booked a romantic night at the Palliser to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had a very large room, which was a great surprise. I think it was a Deluxe Room. The package he booked included valet parking and breakfast buffett at the Rimrock restaurant in the hotel.
Very enjoyable stay. Check-in was smooth and easy, the room was beautiful. It was a corner room on the 11th floor and it did overlook the tracks but we were not disturbed by any train noise. It is an old CP Rail hotel, so of course tracks near by are sort expected anyway, no? The breakfast buffett was fantastic. I've heard some of the rooms are small and showing their age, but we did not experience this first hand. The hotel is just steps away from Stephen Avenues bars and restaurants.
I loved the entire experience of this old hotel. I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeandJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalliser, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
BeeandJay,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such great feedback. We have recently undergone a significant renovation project which has truly enhanced our property. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and had such a special anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Frédéric Paré
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We were in town for our daughter's wedding and booked 2 rooms plus an one bedroom suite. The suite was ideal for giving us room for other family members to meet in. The rooms were all beautifully decorated. I was very pleased that the hotel respected my request to have the rooms by each other as I have found that frequently hotels are unable to comply with that type of request.

I had forgotten to pack my curling iron but this wasn't a problem as housekeeping was able to provide me with one. My husband was on a motorcycle was the concierge desk arranged for it to be parked safely in the valet parking. This was greatly appreciated.

I also had a chance to chat with the hotel's GM as we were leaving. Very impressed that he was at the front door checking to make sure that guests had had a good stay.

Room Tip: Pay in advance for best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalliser, General Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
ajtraveller007,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at The Fairmont Palliser. I hope your daughter had a wonderful wedding! It gives us great pleasure in being a “home away from home” for our guests and take pride in making their stay as memorable as possible. I sincerely thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Dan McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The Fairmont Palliser Is a great old CP Hotel. The halls are spacious beyond anything we see in hotels today which provides with a wonderful old-style charm. The rooms are small but not "European" small. Our room had some problems with the AC -- even after requesting management to check it.

The main difficulty I have with the Palliser is it's location to the currently working rail line. Three rail lines are immediately outside the hotel and themshunting of the train cars is very audible at all times of the day. When you check in, be sure to ask for a room away from the tracks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a view of the tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#7 of 109 in Calgary
839 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#15 of 109 in Calgary
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#31 of 109 in Calgary
1,034 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Palliser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Palliser

Property: The Fairmont Palliser
Address: 133 9 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#9 Business Hotel in Calgary
#14 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Palliser 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, The Fairmont Palliser has been the city's premier address, the cornerstone of Calgary's hospitality industry and a landmark building that is rich in history and architecture. Set in the heart of the city, The Fairmont Palliser is a historical landmark offering distinctive accommodation in elegant surroundings. Recent renovations include five floors of guest rooms and the expansion of Fairmont Gold. A brand new Fairmont Gold Lounge, Concierge and Check-in area can be found on the Penthouse Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Palliser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Palliser Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Palliser
Fairmont Calgary
Calgary Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing