We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Final stop at the end of the Rocky Mountaineer..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairmont Palliser
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Final stop at the end of the Rocky Mountaineer..”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My 12-year old daughter and I were lucky enough to take a trip on the Rocky Monutaineer in July of this year. Our trip went from Vancouver to Calgary. As Calgary had suffered from severe flooding just prior to our arrival, we were extremely fortunate to be given a free upgrade to a Junior Suite at the Fairmont Palliser for the last night of our train journey! Wow! What a hotel-absolutely beautiful historic building, opulent furnishings and right next to the train station-so very handy when arriving straight from a hard day on the RM! Our luggage was deliverd to our room, and desk staff were polite and helpful at check-in. We checked in at midnight due to delays on the train, and ordered a hot chocolate from room service as soon as we were shown our room. We quickly settled in to our new surroundings and our hot chocolate arrived. Unfortunately, we had not finished our drinks when a staff member from room serivce rang to ask for the tray, cups and teapot back as their shift was soon ending and they wanted all the crockery back. I did not pay that much for 2 hot chocolates to have to finish them so quickly, and I have never had that experience in any other hotel in which we have stayed. Anywy, apart from the hot chocolate experience, the hotel was magical-it was a shame we only got to stay there for one night...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceAlice194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed your travels on the Rocky Mountaineer and your stay with us. We also apologize for the hot chocolate going ‘cold’ on you! We’d be happy to ensure your hot cocoa is on us next time you stay with us. Could you please email me, jacqueline.tyler@fairmont.com so I could note your contact and stay information? Thank you!

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,160
    654
    247
    105
    58
See reviews for
360
871
114
632
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I was in Calgary for a family wedding and so it felt fitting to stay in a place with a grand and historic feel to it. The room was generally nice, a bit small and dark, but the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom updated. There were some extra requests related to the event that the staff very professionally and efficiently accommodated - exceeding expectations a number of times. Making use of the valet parking really helped keep things simple when going to/from the hotel, which was appreciated during an action-packed weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looking4Adventure2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hello! Thank you for sharing your experience with on recent stay especially that we 'exceeded expectations' and that you enjoyed the comfort of valet service.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Hugely disappointing. The pluses are the beautiful, historic building and the good bedding. However, this hotel could do with a renovation and fast. We were originally booked onto the 9th floor, which hasn't seen a renovation since 1970 (approximately). I tried to settle in but finally balked when it came to hanging my clothes up on a closet rod that was completely rusted out. We were then moved to the 5th floor, which the receptionist said had been renovated 5 years ago but in a tone that indicated another renovation was called for. Her tone said it all. From the carpet stains, to the light switch near the door that didn't actually turn anything on, to the very stained bath tub that barely held my weight (and I'm not heavy), the over-riding impression was tired, tired, tired. As well, sound-proofing is indicated since some of the rooms overlook the train tracks which pass a couple of times during the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor that has been renovated and away from the train tracks. There is also a service tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harkstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We’re so happy to hear that you found our building beautiful and enjoyed the guestroom bedding. We’re a 99-year-old property which has uniqueness in every room and corner. We apologize for the inconstancies which we’re working hard to overcome with another round of renovations in the queue for the remainder of our guestroom floors- we have a mock-up built and are just awaiting approval. If you’re able to email me, I’d be happy to note your preferred room/floor for the next time you stay with us with hopes we can secure the most perfect possibility for your stay.

Thank you for letting us know about your experience.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody, BC, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Very big suite and the room was exceptional, but the bathroom has fallen into a bit of disrepair. Staff are amazingly helpful and polite. The finish on this hotel is spectacular. The hotel location is perfect.

Now the downside - Calgary parking is exceptionally expensive. Everything is extra in the hotel. In a day of free wifi, this hotel asks 22 a night for full access. Parking is 40.

I guess if one has to ask the price, one can not afford it. I got a great deal on the room so it took the bite out of the parking bill. The hotel also allowed the poodle at no additional charge.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel will be the quietest at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We love dogs! Happy to hear your poodle was able to enjoy the stay with you. We too agree about the high cost of parking in downtown Calgary, but are pleased to hear you saw value all around on your stay. Thank you for your feedback.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

quite disappointing experience, or I guess we had higher expectations from a Fairmont. We went there for just an evening drink. The room was soo tired, definitely needs an update. service was quite average, it took them ages to come and take order and then even longer to bring our drinks. we were even thinking of leaving at some point. Just a small tip, don't serve nibbles from a previous serving, or day as you can the difference. Unacceptable for Fairmont

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kidermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We regret to hear about your experience in our Oak Room lounge. I have noted your feedback and sent directly to our lounge/restaurant manager. I would appreciate hearing more about your stay and should you have the chance to return. Please email me, jacqueline.tyler@fairmont.com if you’re able. Thank you for your feedback; you’re right, this is unlike service we pride ourselves on.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Thus hotel is simply stunning, the decor is fantastic and keeps the original history from when this was a railway hotel. It is still next to the railway. The rooms are a little small but adequate. Location is very close to Stephens Street which has a lot of the shops and also
Close to the stampede ground.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We're blushing! Thank you for your feedback!

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

It was our understanding that being a fairmont hotel we should expect quality service. Unfortunately we have to be disappointed. The hotel itself actually really nice, like the lobby with a touch of old architecture, the amenities in the room was quiet nice also the room. Our big disappointment was came at the breakfast. The servers seems not really happy (which they not that busy back than), we have booked the room included buffet breakfast that they should know but we have to tell them (not really a big deal) BUT still a server came to us & asked which menu we'll take coz they have 2 different menus. We told them again that our room was included buffet breakfast & he kept saying that it doesn't matter coz he need the bill & said that they not gonna charging us for us (which is a bit confusing) and finally we got our food with nothing to choose from just really like you're in a 1-start hotel, we have to asked twice to get the coffee, just really not professional. Than, when we checked-out, they charge us for the double breakfast until we have to explained again, just so un convenience & really tiring for us especially we have to catch our flight to Europe. Anyhow, just too shame that we have to experienced it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neesa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for the kind comments on our hotel’s architecture and for the detailed review on your dinning experience with us. We apologize for the confusion of the menu order process and I have passed this feedback onto our restaurant manager. I’d love to contact you directly if you’re able to email me at, jacqueline.tyler@fairmont.com to hear if your plans allow you for another visit with us.

Thank you.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 109 in Calgary
1,507 reviews
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#32 of 109 in Calgary
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Palliser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Palliser

Property: The Fairmont Palliser
Address: 133 9 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#7 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#9 Business Hotel in Calgary
#14 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Palliser 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, The Fairmont Palliser has been the city's premier address, the cornerstone of Calgary's hospitality industry and a landmark building that is rich in history and architecture. Set in the heart of the city, The Fairmont Palliser is a historical landmark offering distinctive accommodation in elegant surroundings. Recent renovations include five floors of guest rooms and the expansion of Fairmont Gold. A brand new Fairmont Gold Lounge, Concierge and Check-in area can be found on the Penthouse Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fairmont Palliser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Palliser Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Palliser
Fairmont Calgary
Calgary Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing