We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Lady”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairmont Palliser
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Grand Old Lady”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed again at the Fairmont Palliser on Dec.14, 2013 for one night while we were in town for a Company party.
Having previously signed up for the Presidents Club, the check-in was quick and seamless.
The car valet service was busy when we checked in but they handled our arrival efficiently.
The room was comfortable however, my only complaint is that the walls are a bit thin if you have noisy neighbours.
Our Corporate rate is quite reasonable so we use them a lot.
We had no issues with the cleanliness or housekeeping and it was in keeping with the Fairmont Hotel standards we are used to.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shogun025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
"Grand old lady!" we're blushing! We're happy to hear you found your room, our valet and cleanliness all to your liking!

See you next time.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    641
    241
    102
    58
See reviews for
343
847
113
623
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Checked in the front desk person had something stuck up his blank. ( probably minimum wag.) Did not feel welcomed at the hotel. They will charge you a 8 dollars for a water bottle that you can get at a local store for 2 or three dollars. Beside that at least the bed was nice. Will Never COME BACK TO THIS HOTEL AGAIN!

Room Tip: Bed and Breakfast package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sahara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello Sahara,

We regret to hear this about your recent stay with us. We'd especially like to know more about it as it's certainly not up to our Fairmont standards. I welcome you to email me directly should you allow us the chance to invite you back.

Thank you.

My email is: Jacqueline.Tyler@fairmont.com

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, the location was great and the housekeeping staff (we stayed on the second floor (rm.246) from the 25th to the 28th was nice and lovely. The room was spacious and we loved our beds!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you! You liking our beds means everything to us, it's all about a great sleep!

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manger
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We have previously stayed in various Fairmont Hotels such as the Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge,the Fairmont Chateau Whistler & the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth. While these stays were not exceptional we had no problems. I travel frequently for business and travel abroad about 3-4 times per year for vacation.

In July 2013, I took my Mother & partner on a tour of B.C. & Alberta - with one of our stops being in Calgary. We booked into the Palliser for 3 nights over the Calgary Stampede. I am going to briefly list the issues I had in July:

multiple room & baggage mix-ups
poor housekeeping (old food trays left in the corridors for up to 24 hours)
getting locked out of our rooms on multiple occasions for no apparent reason

We emailed the hotel manager (Dan McGowan) after the stay to alert him to the issues we had. After a few back & forth emails he offered us a complimentary 1 night stay on the Gold Floor of the Palliser. We booked the our complimentary 1 night stay in early October using the voucher that the hotel posted to us. We emailed a picture of the voucher to confirm our booking for Xmas Eve - we planned to stay overnight and enjoy the Xmas buffet while on our way to the mountains for our Xmas break. I might add that we had some difficulty booking the dinner, we eventually came right after multiple email requests to the Chef.

We arrived at the Palliser on the evening of the 24th December after a 4.5 hour drive. We checked in and were asked if we had the gift certificate with us - we replied that we had already made all the arrangements via email and then forwarded the email conversation to the front desk staff (as requested). Within a few minutes of unpacking our bags, we received a call from the front desk that they were unable to honour this reservation (as booked) since we did not have the physical copy and that we would be billed for our night's stay until we could provide it. I would add that the certificate does not state that it needs to be physically presented to be redeemed, nor did the booking staff who we had multiple correspondences with advise us that we would need to bring in a piece of paper to ratify our already confirmed booking via email. I find it quite unbelievable that this hotel relies on paper coupons in late 2013.

At this point I decided I would take my patronage elsewhere - we packed up our bags immediately. I informed the front desk in person that I would be checking out immediately, they did not seem very concerned. I will add that the valet gentlemen were very concerned as to why were checking out 20 minutes after we arrived.

So this is how the Palliser treats its guests when it is trying make up for a prior pathetic stay - dishonour a voucher and make us so uncomfortable on Xmas eve that we immediately checked out. Once again this hotel has given us a five star slap in our faces.

The only happy part of this story is that the nearby Westin Calgary happily accommodated us in style, comfort and hospitality on Xmas eve.

Shame on you Fairmont Palliser.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hello again Anthony,

We know our team has since responded to your experience, but we wanted to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us and let you know that we took your feedback in regards to our certificates.

We appreciate the time you took to explain your concerns as we highly value your feedback.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My friend and I decided to do a one night retreat at the Palliser. The check in was great and very accommodating. The room was spacious with two double beds. We did the stay and shop promotion(which is a great deal!) so the room was $165 and included a $75 gift card to Chinook Center which we used the next day. We both had a relaxation massage the next day which we both thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel was very happy to give us extended checkout until 1:30 which was great so we could still get ready after our massage. Overall we had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello Sarah!

It's so nice of you to share such great feedback on your recent stay with us. We're so happy to read you saw the value in the wonderful seasonal shopping package offering! Nothing better than a luxe hotel getaway and shopping at one of Calgary's finest malls!

We look forward to have you back...shopping bags in hand!

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacombe, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We decided we wanted to 'splurge' for a night in Calgary but when I went to their website I was pleasantly surprised to find the rates were reasonable, especially for the 23rd of December. We had a king size room that was spotless, large and comfortable. The valet, front desk staff and other employees were cheerful and made you feel very welcome. Definitely would come back!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
So happy to hear this! Thank you!

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We live in Calgary and stayed here overnight after attending a party. The hotel has a nice old world feel to it, very similar to the banff springs and chateau lake Louise but on a smaller scale. The rooms can be a bit small, ours had a large bedroom/lounge area but the bathroom was tiny, I could barely turn around if the door was open and the tub was very worn looking. The amenities were not as good as other fairmont hotels, although they do use the la labo line.
We didn't have much interaction with staff given such a short stay but those we did deal with were very friendly and helpful, but outstanding service seems to be one of the fairmont brands main draws.
The room service breakfast was great, right on time and delicious.
All in all, a nice place to stay if you aren't looking for anything modern but they really need to renovate the rooms and quite a few of the common areas.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rona_kami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Hello Rona!

We're so happy to hear what you loved about your stay with us - isn't Room Service so special!
We look forward to have you be our guests again soon as we also just wait on approval of our new mock-up guestroom to complete the renovations of three floors!

Happy holidays!

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#8 of 109 in Calgary
852 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#15 of 109 in Calgary
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#31 of 109 in Calgary
1,058 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Palliser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Palliser

Property: The Fairmont Palliser
Address: 133 9 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#9 Business Hotel in Calgary
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#14 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Palliser 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, The Fairmont Palliser has been the city's premier address, the cornerstone of Calgary's hospitality industry and a landmark building that is rich in history and architecture. Set in the heart of the city, The Fairmont Palliser is a historical landmark offering distinctive accommodation in elegant surroundings. Recent renovations include five floors of guest rooms and the expansion of Fairmont Gold. A brand new Fairmont Gold Lounge, Concierge and Check-in area can be found on the Penthouse Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairmont Palliser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Palliser Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Palliser
Fairmont Calgary
Calgary Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing