We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Palliser
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a historical feel to it befitting it's age and landmark status. It's not quite as grand as the other Fairmonts in Whistler, Edmonton, and Lake Louise as it's smaller. The location is fantastic, within a block of the Calgary tower and Stephen Avenue. It's a safe yet bustling area on the weekends.
The rooms are comfortable with only double beds for quad accommodation. This seems standard for most downtown hotels in major cities. Large screen led tvs and iPod docking alarm clocks are nice updates to the hotel. The elevators are old and slow, and there aren't enough of them. Were here on a busy Saturday night and there were three wedding receptions occurring at the same time which made the lobby very festive and noisy. However, it also compounded the problem of there being only 4 elevators.
The check in and out was quick and simple. Valet parking is a necessity due to very little available street space at the front. Valet is a pricey $38 on weekdays and $30 on Saturday and Sunday. Wifi is free if you are a President's Club member which is free to join. Otherwise there is a $12 fee per day but I can't imagine why you wouldn't just join their club just to get this benefit. The pool, hot tub and spa is nice with robes provided being a nice touch.
Overall we were pleased with this hotel and it met our expectations.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Yysguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It certainly was a busy time at our property with three wedding functions, and we apologize for any delay with our elevators - they are original to us, and they surely do their best to keep up to us in peak times.

We are happy to hear you loved our location and the robes for the spa and pool area.
We look forward to have you be our guests again soon.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,290)
There are newer reviews for The Fairmont Palliser
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,372 - 1,378 of 2,290 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Booked a weekend getaway and decided to stay here, big mistake. Had a room on the gold floor (7th), very loud as it was next to the elevator. Room has urine smell in the carpet, ac duct was full of dust bunnies from years of neglect and most disappointing was that the pillows were horrible. They smelled of extremely bad body odor, blood spots and other stains on them. Bed sheets had hair on them and didn't even smell fresh. Extremely disappoint for a fairmont. Never again we were better off at the Westin or Delta.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingNomad16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hello there,

We deeply regret to read this review regarding a recent stay with us as these specifics mentioned are by no way, our Fairmont standard. I have passed on this feedback to our operations and Fairmont Gold team to look further into your reservation and conversation upon your visit with us. I welcome you to contact me directly should there be anything else you could advise me of as we truly would like to make this right upon your next visit with us and ensure this does not happen again. Once again, we are shocked and would like to let you know that we take all our guest feedback seriously.

Thank you.


Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
jacqueline.tyler@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The architecture really fits with the Alberta prairie grain elevator scene. A very commanding building located in the town centre. It's named after Captain John Palliser who explored the area in the 1850s. Oak panelling, candelabras, marble floor & columns are throughout the public areas.
My room was very spacious & comfortable. I was surprised at how small & tired looking the bathroom was!
The Rimrock restaurant has an heraldic sign of a train & a sickle above the beautiful fireplace.
There is a mural along one wall here worth looking at as are the attractive lights & marble columns.

Reception staff were helpful & friendly with the aim to please.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Clio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hello Clio,

We appreciate your review and sharing nice details on our property with readers. Our Rimrock fireplace and mural certainly have their history with us and are special to look at.

As we are a historic property, each room is truly unique in shape and we're sorry our bathroom disappointed - we hope next time we can surprise you!

Thank you.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I was here this week for a conference. I chose to stay here based on other experiences with Fairmont properties. My check in was efficient and quick. I am a Presidents Club member. It did not make much of a difference to my experience here though. Other properties put on a bit of a show and perks for their club members.
My room 1111 was very small and kind of tired. It was okay because i was alone but it would be tight for a couple. It faced the inside of the building with a nice view of a wall and opposite rooms. The room had no sheer drapes so anytime I was in the room i had to close the blackout drapes for some privacy. I noticed other rooms had them but not mine. The toilet would run at the oddest times. Mostly noticed while i was in bed. I had to close the bathroom door to get some sleep. Also the room door was not tight in the jamb so it leaked light from the hallway into the room making it quite bright and hard to sleep.
The beds and pillows when i did sleep were excellent and comfortable. The room cleaners were efficient and thorough so thats a plus. I am not sure if i would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Bruce S.,

We sincerely appreciate your loyalty to our Fairmont brand and selecting us as your destination while in Calgary for your conference recently.

The feedback you've provided regarding room 1111 has been sent directly to our operations director to review - it was June when this guestroom floor was released as well as 9 and 10 from renovations - so we will look into the drapery and the other items you noted for sure as they are certainly not Fairmont standards.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your bed and pillows and that you had a comfortable sleep.

Again, we greatly appreciate your review and we hope we can welcome you back to be our guest again soon.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed her while attending a conference. Upgraded to the gold floor. Nice room but make sure you stay away from the train tracks as that can be a little noisy. Room clean and comfortable. Access to the Penthouse which was open for breakfast and throughout the day for coffee etc. great breakfast and nice spread of food between 5 and 7 pm. Service was great.
Location good close to all sorts of restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smookToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review - we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay on Fairmont Gold!

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
jacqueline.tyler@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

$16 was my previous high in NYC. $30 breakfast to top it off. Wait - $15 per day for wifi. Paying for wifi seems to be 20th century.

Other than the pricey impact, this is a fine old dame. Good location to boot.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello 'RW',

How was it? Your martini? At Fairmont, we craft our cocktails with the finest spirits, such as Rémy Cointreau and Bombay Sapphire, as well as fresh ingredients—including local honey, seasonal fruits, herbs and spices— many of which are harvested in our own organic gardens. Whatever your cocktail style, our bartenders are pleased to serve up a truly exquisite experience. We hope you truly enjoyed!

In respect to Wi-Fi, did you also know that if you pre-register into our complimentary loyalty program, Fairmont President's Club, one of the many benefits to us learning more about your passions and preferences is providing you with Wi-Fi for free? This is ideal to do prior to visiting another Fairmont property.

Please let us know if you have any questions at all or if we can help you enroll!

Thank you for your review and again, staying with us!

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
jacqueline.tyler@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for one night at the very end of an amazing trip as we were flying out of Calgary the next day.

Check-in was nice, valet was great, concierge was helpful, and the hotel is very charming. Our room was comfortable and clean, and we were able to sleep well.

We went to a concert and came back around 11:30. The bar had already done last call (and there were 9 tables of patrons seated- we were the 10th.) We waited almost 20 minutes for our drink and there were no late-night dining options other than room service. The staff in that area were not what you would expect of Fairmont employees.

I could stay at any of the other downtown chain hotels for the same price, and think we will in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melis60882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - we are pleased to hear you chose our hotel for the final leg of your vacation. We are however, sorry to hear about the lack of ambience and service you received in our Oak Room Lounge upon your return from the concert. We pay close attention to the hours of operation for our outlets - especially in the summer months when our occupancy is not as high. The level of service you received is by no means our Fairmont standard, and we hope to you have you be our guests again soon should you choose to select us. I welcome you to email me directly prior to your arrival and I will certainly do my best to make it a memorable stay for you.

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for letting us know.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
jacqueline.tyler@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 109 in Calgary
1,544 reviews
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Palliser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Palliser

Address: 133 9 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#8 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#9 Business Hotel in Calgary
#14 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £100 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Palliser 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, The Fairmont Palliser has been the city's premier address, the cornerstone of Calgary's hospitality industry and a landmark building that is rich in history and architecture. Set in the heart of the city, The Fairmont Palliser is a historical landmark offering distinctive accommodation in elegant surroundings. Recent renovations include five floors of guest rooms and the expansion of Fairmont Gold. A brand new Fairmont Gold Lounge, Concierge and Check-in area can be found on the Penthouse Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairmont Palliser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Palliser Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Palliser
Fairmont Calgary
Calgary Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing