We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world style with new world luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairmont Palliser
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old world style with new world luxury”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Fairmont Palliser hotel is in The heart of vibrant Calgary downtown. Exceptionally clean and quiet. Staff were remarkably helpful. Close to everything; restaurants, night life, transportation and Telus conference center



  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Kath-ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you!

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,166
    658
    248
    105
    58
See reviews for
363
877
115
632
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Spent 2 nights @ Fairmont Palliser, separated by a week. Old, historic hotel which has been well maintained. Well worth it to walk 2 blocks to Stephen Ave---a 5 block pedestrian avenue with restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank sobusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hi there!

We are happy to hear you loved our location in the heart of downtown Calgary!


Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Palliser will spoil all other hotels for you. The rooms are lovely, well-appointed and super clean. The mattress and pillows ensure a great sleep. The staff are so attentive and friendly! I stayed in a Fairmont Gold room and had access to the Gold Members lounge - the breakfast was terrific and the attendants ensured I had gluten-free toast (even went so far as to go to their gluten free toaster in another room). The food in the lounge and the restaurant was amazing as well. It's just a jewel of a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train tracks. That was the only downfall of our location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review, Ruth!

We'll pass on your kind words to our Fairmont Gold team!

We hope to have you be our guest again soon.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

One of the best experiences I’ve ever had at a hotel.

We chose to stay at this particular hotel, as it was my daughters 9th birthday, and we wanted to do something extra special, as she was been sent on a plane by herself for the first time the next day.

Now, I have stayed at this hotel in the past, but they must have recently done some renovations on the rooms, as I don’t remember them being that nice.

Upon check-in, my wife and daughter were overjoyed to see such a beautiful, elegant lobby. The décor is classy, and an atmosphere that exudes opulence. When we reached our room, we were greeted by a cake that I had made prior arrangements to have delivered with a contact I have that works for the Fairmont. The cake itself was an amazing touch, as well as a note that accompanied it, that wished our daughter a happy birthday – the cake was out of this world.

The room was spacious, swanky and smart. Everything from the linens, to the soaps are first class. The bathroom was well laid out, and the shower was a mecca of relaxation. Cleanliness was top shelf, and the bed was extraordinarily comfortable.

The Palliser has a great pool area hidden in the basement of the hotel. Marble and mosaic tiles make up the oasis. The only thing that I would change (and this is knit-picking), is how hot the hot tub is – scalding.

Overall, I would highly recommend this property, as it is a magnificent hotel, with a ton of history, and is now one of my favorite places to stay.

Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We are so happy to hear that you daughter and the family enjoyed your stay as so!
Sending best wishes for a continued happy year!

Thank you for choosing us as your home away from home to celebrate the birthday!

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

As the airline had misplaced our bags we got to the hotel after midnight ,the lobby was empty and it had an old and weathered look and we had some apprehension as to how the room would be . We got a room on the 8th. floor which was neat and spacious. It looked as if it had been renovated and refurbished. The sleep quality was excellent and we got a good view to watch the parade because it was stampede time in Calgary. The breakfast spread was lavish .
We would go back and stay at the Palliser again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naresh54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello there,

We're so happy to hear that your room on our eighth floor delighted you and that you had a good view to watch the Calgary Stampede parade go by our hotel's front street!

We look forward to welcome you back!

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed here for a family wedding? The service was excellent. Close to shopping at TD place, Stevens Ave pubs and restaurants, Calgary Tower and much more. Limo to and from airport is $50 or a shuttle is $15 pp.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NovaScotiaSeaport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
A pleasure to have you while you celebrate a family member's wedding!

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

- Excellent hotel
- 11th floor is newly renovated and amazing.
- Check-in staff were helpful and genuinely interested in my concerns.
- Centrally located.
- Dinner menu is limited if you have dietary constraints.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Avinash M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hello,

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us on one of our newly renovated floors of 9, 10 and 11! And we also wanted to share that Chef takes great pride in being able to customize dishes and requests for our guests so please share with us next time your preferences and we'd love to accmodate, we're sorry to have missed doing so this time.

Thank you.


Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 109 in Calgary
1,509 reviews
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#32 of 109 in Calgary
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Palliser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Palliser

Property: The Fairmont Palliser
Address: 133 9 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#7 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#9 Business Hotel in Calgary
#14 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Palliser 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, The Fairmont Palliser has been the city's premier address, the cornerstone of Calgary's hospitality industry and a landmark building that is rich in history and architecture. Set in the heart of the city, The Fairmont Palliser is a historical landmark offering distinctive accommodation in elegant surroundings. Recent renovations include five floors of guest rooms and the expansion of Fairmont Gold. A brand new Fairmont Gold Lounge, Concierge and Check-in area can be found on the Penthouse Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fairmont Palliser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Palliser Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Palliser
Fairmont Calgary
Calgary Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing