We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay anywhere else”
Review of Along River Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Along River Ridge
Ranked #6 of 54 Calgary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Would not stay anywhere else”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Have submitted two prior reviews for ARR, and stayed there 4 times. Most recent visit was as good as earlier. Of course, amenities in the two 2nd floor rooms are awesome, but it is the hosts, Diane and Merril, that make a stay at ARR a really special event.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    13
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
64
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We enjoyed the B&B, and the excellent breakfasts. The location itself is perfect for visits to downtown Calgary by the local trains, easy access and free parking! So much better than driving into Calgary to find a parking spot.
Our hosts were helpful with suggestions for sightseeing and transport.

Our room was excellent: fireplace, spa tub/jacuzzi and beautiful decor.

Highly recommend it, and it's beautiful view of the Bow River right outside the back door/patio. Also very close to an excellent walking/biking park for those early morning exercisers!

Room Tip: Go for the upstairs, new wing suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenerinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

- breakfast was okay, a selection of cereals, breads and fruits, the hot entrees were fine
- the bedroom was okay, not overly big, it felt like a room in the basement - which it was, it had a window that provided light and fresh air
- the ensuite bathroom was very small, and only had a shower curtain - no door - separating it from the bedroom, a situation which we found very uncomfortable
- located in northwest Calgary and had decent access throughout the city by car, not sure about public transit
- quite nice backyard with a deck right along the river's edge
- we did find the common/breakfast room a little busy - visually - with books, magazines, ornaments and furniture, etc., so much so that we found it difficult to relax

Room Tip: After rereading past reviews, and staying in a standard room, I would strongly suggest staying in on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigAlks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Along River Ridge, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
This is our lowest rate room -also excellent quality for a great price. At time of booking you realize that there is a separate price for different rooms. Most quests choose this room for the lowest price & the fact it is a walkout to our amazing backyard & river deck on the Bow River. Plus numerous amendities & facilities & services for our quests comfort . For a few dollars more ( $15-for the Royal Queen & $25-for the Royal King ) you have all the luxuries of a 5 star hotel. There is a pocket door already purchased for this room and will be installed as soon as it is not booked for a few days. .Also this area is furnished & decorated with 3 and even 4 generations items and many artifacts from our own travels world wide. We and most all of our quests love it ! We feel so fortunate to be able to provide such a quiet , peaceful, relaxing place for all our quests that come to Along River Ridge B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clearwater, fl
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We arrived late due to a plane delay. Our host greeted us, and we were shown to our lovely, very big, room. Excellent decor, very comfortable bed, fireplace, and large jacuzzi tub with lots of extra toiletries. The setting along the river is beautiful and extremely pleasant, calm, and quiet. We were served an excellent breakfast, more than enough food, and enjoyed a conversation with the other people who stayed the same night. The view from the dining area is wonderful, the hosts are very fortunate to have this view everyday. They were very helpful in recommending a restaurant, and a visit to a nearby town on our way to Calgary. I would love to stay here for several days and take advantage of the serenity, and wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsdlsd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

I had been on the road for two days and the hotels in the area were all booked. I called after 9pm and luckily got to stay at this beautiful gem of a bed and breakfast. My back was killing me from driving so a nice long soak in the hot tub was amazing. Such a relaxing atmosphere and great hospitality. We slept wonderfully with our window open breathing the cool fresh air from the river while listening to the gurgling waterfall of the small gold fish pond, along with the song birds in the garden outside of our room. We woke up refreshed and we're treated to an amazing breakfast. Wonderful people, beautiful place, great location.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank melmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leduc, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I saw this Bed and Breakfast on trip advisor. We both loved staying here and are planning a return visit.

I contacted the hosts via E-mail, and received a quick and courteous response. When we arrived we were initally skeptical of the "relaxing country home with views of the river" that was advertised as it is located in the heart of the city. We were proven wrong. The location of the bed and breakfast could not be more ideal. We were warmly greeted by one of our warm hosts, Merrill. He showed us to our immaculate room and took us on a tour of the bed and breakfast. What a beautiful gem in the best location of the city! We were asked what time we would like breakfast in the morning and enjoyed our evening. There is No shortage of books to read, movies to watch, or if that does not appeal to you there is a hot tub and pool table to enjoy. We both slept wonderfully in our room, when we woke up and came out of our room an amazing breakfast was waiting for us. There was breads, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, home made perserves and coffee and many choices of tea and then we were served a hot breakfast of eggs, farm fresh ham, roasted vegetables and hashbrowns. Merrill took a picture of us at breakfast and then printed it out and gave it to us right after breakfast. From all the helpful hints about the city, the food and hospitality that Merrill and Dianne provide, this place is the finest I have stayed in. Never again will I book a hotel in Calgary.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan_D_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Jaw, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Along the river was the best bed and breakfast I have stayed in. The breakfasts are to die for. Merril & Dianne are very excellent hosts and give a good conversation and are very knowledgeable about Calgary. We were totally relaxed staying there and it was just what we needed when awaiting a surgery! Very peaceful and a great view! Would stay again anytime!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amber n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#48 of 109 in Calgary
670 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
630 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Grey Eagle Resort
#12 of 109 in Calgary
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Along River Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Along River Ridge

Property: Along River Ridge
Address: 1919 52 St NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 1C3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Along River Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along River Ridge B&B is a restful all-seasons retreat, a romantic hideaway, and a quiet and quaint getaway. Come relax and discover a cosy, comfortable and memorable B&B adventure at our Canada Select 4 Star Bed and Breakfast. Rest and Renew in the tranquil backyard with a "garden of delights" . Savour the Sights, Sounds, and Scents of a unique blend of urban and rural. Enjoy a truly indulgent experience that rejuvenates spirits,soothes souls, and bonds friendships. We have 2 standard rooms(queen size bed & a Luxury Royal King room(king size bed) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Along River Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing