We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Place!”
Review of Along River Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Along River Ridge
Ranked #6 of 56 Calgary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We were here one night (our 25th). The house was beautiful. One can see how much love Diane and Merrill have for this home. The location is stunning and the incredible things that they have done here are amazing. I wish we had been here in the summer. We have stayed at several B&B's over the years and one gets used to visiting with the owners and take that for granted. Diane and Merrill were very friendly when we chatted over breakfast and we completely respected those moments when they withdrew to attend other matters. Thanks for sharing a bit of your lives with us. Your home has so many interesting things! I love to look around me and just by what is in the house learn a bit about our hosts.

Room Tip: Loved the king suite! I peeked in the queen and would rent that too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harley_Squirrelnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

When we arrived we rather felt as though Diane was not that pleased to see us. She didn't introduce herself, just showed us the room very quickly and left. We later found Merril who was very friendly and gave us lots of information on Calgary, which we enjoyed very much indeed, particularly cycling around. The Royal King Room was huge, and had a super king extremely comfortable bed, with good linens. Every amenity you could need was there, multiple choices of tea, shampoos, so many towels you could be mistaken for thinking a football team was going to use the room. There was a big walk in dressing room with a fridge. The room was clean but very dusty indeed. Breakfast was plentiful and we asked for continental on the second day. My plate (a tomato) had a chip in it and I thought it was just a decorative plate, but when I asked for a plate I was presented with the same one. The glasses could do with a good clean. Diane again hardly spoke during breakfast making us feel a bit awkward. Perhaps it was just us. Merril was very nice and friendly and helpful. It was quiet at night and we slept well. So a bit of a mixed review but on the whole good. You need a car to get around, but there is an amazing walk by the Bow River just down the road. If there was a mark between average and very good I would give it good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coolkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olderthandirt42, Owner at Along River Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

May I say, I don’t know why this statement was made about my good wife letting the guests in & rushing off, since after the guests arrived Dianne told me they had asked where they could rent bicycles and about the bike paths. She was looking for maps & brochures for these people.
The dusty problem. I have a problem with as we always keep the rooms sparkling clean
I don’t know about the chiped plate(must not have noticed it) had the guest pointed out the chip it would have been replaced and put out of commission.We take great pride in presentation.
The glasses, I question the glasses since we have a Meile dishwasher- one of the best on the market and all the dishes, glasses are put through this machine which will take about 2 hrs to run through- with a sanitation wash.
Since, we do not have a set time when everyone eats at once, but rather allow guests to choose their breakfast time, when our first guests are served, we are starting breakfast for the next guest and busy giving everyone that special touch and attention to detail and we do not have the time to chat. When time allows, Dianne enjoys a pleasant visit with all our lovely quests.We take great pleasure welcoming visitors from near & far to our home @ Along River Ridge B&B. and desire that they have a wonderful stay.
I’m not sure about the location remark, our location is well marked on the map, address and all. We are 2 blks from a main bus route, 5 blks of #1 hwy, walking distance to eating places(first class resturants & fast food & take-out), 3 min from the 2nd largest mall in the city, 1 blks from swimming pool & large park, 1blk from the most senic bike paths in the city, walking distance to strip malls (safeway+ any sm.shop you’d desire) & with the Bow River in our backyard- -rafting, canoeing, kayaking & fishing We are mins. from the C-Train & often give quests a ride to the train.. If our guests wanted to be in the middle of the city, why did they check in here?? (We are 10 min to downtown)
The value issue- guests continually tell us what great value they are receiving for their stay at our B&B. Our rooms are at a lower price compared to other places in the city.
Our service is second to none, so once again I am in confused as to the problem here
We run an excellent 1st. class 4 STAR bed and breakfast, give guests many pampering & personal touches, offer great services & facilities & amenities and yet these guests seem that they cannot appreciate what they are given. We still love what we do !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Lovely stay in a fantastic room. We stayed in the Queen Room which had a plush set-up and was very welcome. The bathroom alone was enough to make us smile!

We had a hire car so getting into Calgary and to the Olympic Park weren't a problem.

Generous breakfast set us up for a day wandering around Calgary.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H_UK37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Close to everything. Diane and Meril gives you a choice of 10 shampoos, EVERY variety of tea thats been made. A scrumptious homeade hot breakfast for a queen. For the price you get the cleanest nicest rooms (we only saw their 2 new suites) with fireplaces, BIG flat screen TV's, steam showers, 2 person tubs, and walk in closets, robes, and a hundred more extras, most
bed and breakfasts don't offer. It was all so new, clean and perfect. I gaurantee you will not regret staying here. Ask them anything about Canada or Calgary, they are very warm and friendly people, you hate leaving. Ask for one of the new suites, and you will have made
the best reservations in Calgary, at the least amount to pay. We stayed 4 nights, it was wonderful, the bed was great, air conditioning and a ceiling fan, I think I counted 3 chandeliers in our suite. The only hard part was figuring out what the 12 switches on the walls all went to..
but we had it figured out by the time we left. Thanks for a great time!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eviedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This B&B is definitely outside the core of Calgary so you need a car or use transit. I have alway stayed in the basement rooms which are located off a large lounge area with lots of space and seating and magazines. If the weather is fine, a walk to the back decks over the river is a quick fix for traveller blues - so beautiful. The breakfast is excellent. A quiet peaceful place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lori181788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Have submitted two prior reviews for ARR, and stayed there 4 times. Most recent visit was as good as earlier. Of course, amenities in the two 2nd floor rooms are awesome, but it is the hosts, Diane and Merril, that make a stay at ARR a really special event.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We enjoyed the B&B, and the excellent breakfasts. The location itself is perfect for visits to downtown Calgary by the local trains, easy access and free parking! So much better than driving into Calgary to find a parking spot.
Our hosts were helpful with suggestions for sightseeing and transport.

Our room was excellent: fireplace, spa tub/jacuzzi and beautiful decor.

Highly recommend it, and it's beautiful view of the Bow River right outside the back door/patio. Also very close to an excellent walking/biking park for those early morning exercisers!

Room Tip: Go for the upstairs, new wing suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GardenerinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#48 of 109 in Calgary
698 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Along River Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Along River Ridge

Address: 1919 52 St NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 1C3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range: £82 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Along River Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along River Ridge B&B is a restful all-seasons retreat, a romantic hideaway, and a quiet and quaint getaway. Come relax and discover a cosy, comfortable and memorable B&B adventure at our Canada Select 4 Star Bed and Breakfast. Rest and Renew in the tranquil backyard with a "garden of delights" . Savour the Sights, Sounds, and Scents of a unique blend of urban and rural. Enjoy a truly indulgent experience that rejuvenates spirits,soothes souls, and bonds friendships. We have 2 standard rooms(queen size bed & a Luxury Royal King room(king size bed) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Along River Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing