We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What was expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area
Ranked #73 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What was expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Everything was fine as I expected. I am not sure I would call the breakfast deluxe, but it was a lot more than most continental, breakfasts. As I was visiting my son and grandkids, they dropped by and had a ball in the pool and waterslide.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitcairnisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for the fantastic response, we were so glad to see that you had a super stay.

Next time in town, you should take a spin down our waterslide, It is for all guests who dare to ride it !!! It is super fun and then you can take a relaxing dip in our hot tub.

Thank you again and we are happy you stayed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    127
    96
    48
    46
See reviews for
170
64
29
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Because of a Drs. appointment, I had to stay in that part of the City and it "appeared" as if this motel was the closest. It is an older motel, nothing has been updated. Location is great with shopping and restaurants close by. Hotel amenities include pool with water slide. Made me wish I'd have brought the grandkids. Room was clean and being on the second floor we found it was mostly quiet. Breakfast was okay.Overall, it was surprising.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for stopping by, We are so proud to announce that we will begin renovations in the late fall, early winter. We are in the process of finalizing our plans to update some of our rooms with new carpets, bathroom fixtures, and furniture as needed.

Thanks again and we look forward to you seeing what we have done at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Do not try to request a late checkout! I seldom request a late checkout and in this one visit really needed to check out late. The answer to my first request was that they are very busy and cannot allow late checkout. After a second request they granted us ....10 minutes!...what a joke!!!! I used the hotel 2 times in about a month due to their central location, but after the late checkout problem, wil NEVER use them again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Kenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for expressing your concerns and we will be following up with the staff.

All guests are welcome to a late check out and as the same as all hotels there may be a small fee applied depending on the length of the late checkout.

We are sorry if the staff did not fully explain the different options while you were there
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were very disappointed with this hotel. They had limited parking due to a "Shine and Show" Car Show but gave us no forwarning. My mother has a bad knee and we were asked to park farther away which meant she had to walk further. By the end of our stay her knee was swollen and very sore. If we had been told about this when we registered we would have found another motel. Our room was clean but the air conditioner kept kicking out so our room was hot. The hot breakfast was nice but you didn't really get a chance to enjoy it becasue the room is so small and crowded. Overall I would recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breepissedatthissite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your recent comments about our property, We were a little confused by the comments as we have numerous entrances around the property that are easily accessible to the property, so that one may drive right up to either the front, back or side entrance. Once a year we host a Charity Event, Show and Shine Car Show, and we are so proud that we are able to donate $1000s of dollars to the Children's Miracle Network. This is an annual event and is well advertised.

We are sorry that our security team and the notes in the room missed you, We will need to make sure that the advertising is tripled next year as we do not want to put our guests in a bad position
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Surrounded by shopping and restaurants you can easily walk to. The amenities are also fantastic. With pool, whirlpool, and waterslide for the kids. The staff couldn't be any friendlier, making our stay a pleasure.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the highway and with the window closed, didn't hear a thing. Room location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaDeanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your positive experience, we are happy that you had a great stay and we are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#77 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#40 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area

Property: Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area
Address: 60 Shawville Rd SE, Calgary, Alberta T2Y 3S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Motel - Shawnessy has an exceptional reputation of excellent service and comfortable, and clean rooms, which has earned us the prestigious "Pride of Super8" award. Conveniently located on Macleod Trail in Alberta's largest and most active city, Calgary Shawnessy Super 8 Motel has many things to offer both families and the business traveler. We are close to MacLeod Trail South and Spruce Meadows. For shoppers and those seeking entertainment in the South West section of Calgary, we're in the midst of everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy Hotel Calgary
Super 8 Calgary
Super Eight Calgary
Calgary Super 8
Calgary Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing