We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my stay at Super 8” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area
Ranked #75 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    120
    95
    48
    44
See reviews for
161
60
27
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We spent the last 3 nights of our Canada trip in this hotel and found it clean and convenient. The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful, always cheerful too which really makes a difference. Our room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. We found it easy to walk to the C-Train from the hotel and it was a pleasant 30 minute ride for just $3 to downtown Calgary - a lovely city to explore. There are plenty of eating options close to the hotel and a liquor store just a short walk away with a great choice of beers!
Breakfast was plentiful and the staff taking care of the breakfast room kept the items topped up and the place clean and tidy. A pleasant stay and good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 141CathB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your comments, and we are excited to see you had a super stay

We strive to ensure that we deliver on customer service and the best product that we can. The team in every area from front desk, to housekeeping to maintenance, want to give a personal touch to the stay.

Thank you again and you are so welcome back, we are awaiting your next trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

It's what you expect from a Super 8. Clean and very basic. No frills. Only reason why we booked here was it was close to business meetings at Spruce Meadows. Beds were comfortable (surprised) but pillows aren't the best. Stayed in a "king suite" which really has a bit more room and a chair. Not really what you'd call a real king suite.

A lot of amenities around in the Shawnessy area so that's a plus.

Again very basic.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ShaunEdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your response and we are happy that you found our location to be clean

We are happy to announce that we are planning to start a few renovations in the new year and we are confident that you will see an improvement on our product

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in October 2013 and was greeted with a great smile upon checkin. Was curious of dining options in the area and the staff were able to provide a good close recommendation. Room was very spacious and clean. Ask for a king size room if you like lots of space!! Checking out in the morning was seamless and I had the receipt emailed to me instantaneously. Lots of shopping and dining nice and close to the hotel will make this my choice going forward.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank aarksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for the SUPER review, Our team was happy to see that you had a great stay and we are looking forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in many Super 8 locations across Canada and have learned that you usually get what you pay for with any hotel chain.
This Super 8 was not an exception! It is a great location and the staff friendly & very helpful. Our room was clean & bright and everything worked well. Breakfast had good selections, the beds were clean & fine and I particularly liked the pillow that I used.
Overall it was a good stay and we felt that it met Super 8 standards quite well.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thecottagebandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our Super 8 .

We are proud to be part of such a progressive and great chain such as Super 8. Each location strives to offer super breakfast items and great customer service

We look forward to serving you again and we cant wait til you stop by again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

I stayed at this location for two nights, overall I was very pleased.

The room was clean and comfortable. The only downfalls were that some of my towels had stains, and that there was no access to drinking water...it is not a huge deal, but I think there should be clean drinking water available at every hotel/motel.

I enjoyed the continental breakfast. They had eggs, sausages, cereal, bagels, white/whole wheat bread, muffins, coffee, hot chocolate and juice...something for everyone.

I didn't use the pool, but from what I could see it looks great for children.

The location was great, close to bus stops and walking distance to the Bridlewood Ctrain station (behind Target).

I would come back as this was certainly a bang for my buck..I would just bring my own towels and bottled water :)

Room Tip: Second floor is probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travelerelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We were glad to see your positive remarks but were a little concernced about the downfalls.

At the property, we pride ourselves on ensuring that all items in the room are free of stains with checking and double checking, At anytime, there is staff at the property 24 hours per day to ensure that any thing that is missed is corrected immediately upon notification of any problem.
This includes if a guest finds staining on towels, we would be more than happy to replace with a better item.

The drinking water in Calgary is safe to drink straight from any water tap in the building, In the event, guests prefer bottled water, the property shares parking space with Walmart and a major grocercy chain. It is approximately a 30 second walk to get access to bottled water.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Everything was fine as I expected. I am not sure I would call the breakfast deluxe, but it was a lot more than most continental, breakfasts. As I was visiting my son and grandkids, they dropped by and had a ball in the pool and waterslide.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitcairnisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for the fantastic response, we were so glad to see that you had a super stay.

Next time in town, you should take a spin down our waterslide, It is for all guests who dare to ride it !!! It is super fun and then you can take a relaxing dip in our hot tub.

Thank you again and we are happy you stayed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#78 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#83 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Residence Inn Calgary South
Residence Inn Calgary South
#60 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area

Property: Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area
Address: 60 Shawville Rd SE, Calgary, Alberta T2Y 3S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Motel - Shawnessy has an exceptional reputation of excellent service and comfortable, and clean rooms, which has earned us the prestigious "Pride of Super8" award. Conveniently located on Macleod Trail in Alberta's largest and most active city, Calgary Shawnessy Super 8 Motel has many things to offer both families and the business traveler. We are close to MacLeod Trail South and Spruce Meadows. For shoppers and those seeking entertainment in the South West section of Calgary, we're in the midst of everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy Hotel Calgary
Super 8 Calgary
Super Eight Calgary
Calgary Super 8
Calgary Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing