We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall a nice hotel, would recommend and would stay again...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area
Ranked #72 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    136
    103
    51
    47
See reviews for
186
66
30
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

During this stay at the Super 8 Shawnessey, my family decided to go swimming. We enjoyed the water slide in the pool . After our swim we decided to use the hot tub. The smell of chlorine in the hot tub was overwhelming. After five minutes we exited the hot tub. At this point we noticed our youngest daughters swimsuit had changed color from navy blue to a faded brown. Upon checkout the hotel staff informed me that someone was supposed to tell guests not to use the hot tub upon check in. There were no signs posted at the hot tub and we were not informed of this upon check in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort St. John, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I booked my room for my son's wedding months in advance at this hotel and when I car to check in they said I had booked at a different super 8 that was across the city. the wedding venue was 5 minutes away from this hotel why would i do that? they did give a room and although the too was clean it hd clearly been a smoking room in the past and reeked of smoke. the pool was really small and not meant for adults to use which was one of the reasons I booked here was for the pool. the "hot" breakfast was really bad the eggs were fake and tasted horrible. the staff were friendly for the most part but i will never stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Loved our stay at this excellent hotel, the rooms were very clean, the breakfast was also very good, most of the staff very accommodating, thank you to the breakfast girl on sunday, she was very nice not rushing us out of the breakfast room, even though we stayed a few minutes past the time, which I am afraid cant be said for the lady on monday, but this hotel I would recommend, great for anyone familys or couples, or just your basic traveler, five stars to the manager and your staff !!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hughdillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for the perfect score, the team was happy to see you had a good stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My daughter and I went on April 4,2014 down to the continental breakfast which the eggs,sausage ,plates,and small spoons for yogurt were all empty when asking the young lady if there was more eggs and saus coming out ,she literally through the bag in her hand down and said the F word loud enough that I and my daughter heard her,as well when asking for plates...I literally thought she was going to hit someone,as well that being said another lady beside me asked for something...and it was like she had asked for something impossible..she was very unhappy,aggressive,adn made it very uncomfortable....the time in which we were there was approx. 9:40 AM...I will not be returning to this super *,dance comp or not..we will stay elsewhere where we have stayed before and always welcomed....sorry for to interrupt that youbg ladies day..:(

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank kat4babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is unfortunate that during your stay that we were never made aware of any of the concerns expressed here at the property. At Super 8 Shawnessy , we pride ourselves on great customer service WE are truly sorry that this is the experience that you had during the stay which is definitely not our normal.


hank you again and please feel free to contact the property directly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#78 of 109 in Calgary
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#85 of 109 in Calgary
35 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#46 of 109 in Calgary
522 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area

Property: Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area
Address: 60 Shawville Rd SE, Calgary, Alberta T2Y 3S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Motel - Shawnessy has an exceptional reputation of excellent service and comfortable, and clean rooms, which has earned us the prestigious "Pride of Super8" award. Conveniently located on Macleod Trail in Alberta's largest and most active city, Calgary Shawnessy Super 8 Motel has many things to offer both families and the business traveler. We are close to MacLeod Trail South and Spruce Meadows. For shoppers and those seeking entertainment in the South West section of Calgary, we're in the midst of everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy Hotel Calgary
Super 8 Calgary
Super Eight Calgary
Calgary Super 8
Calgary Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing