We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premium prices during the GPS, premium disappointment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area
Ranked #74 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 June 2014

It's clean and basic, but completely impractical for rest during breaks from the annual Global Petroleum Show. Wireless Internet is ineffective during peak use, unless you want to follow up on emails and online research at 3am. Staff are pleasant. Too bad the standards are sloppy.
Exception: TV is not hooked up to a hotel system. It's just like your TV at home, which is a plus in my book.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time out to express your feelings about your recent stay. Unfortunately we do not have control on the number of users on the wireless internet. The team prides themselves on giving great customer service and making every effort to ensure all guests have a memorable stay. Thank you for pointing out our great TV system. Thank you again for expressing your concerns and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

First room I checked-in to was not cleaned - it looked still occupied and was ABSOLUTELY FILTHY. Used burger wraps, unmade beds, garbage everywhere. I went back to the lobby and was assigned a new room, which was clean but smelled like an ash tray (despite the "no smoking signs!) This made for hard going for a two week stay. Coffee machine in room was broken. However the room was tidy and the staff were friendly. The location is superb.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to voice your concerns, we only wish that we had been given more detail during your 2 week stay. As the guest services manager, I had not had an opportunity to hear from you directly. I have taken the liberty to research your concerns regarding your stay. It is my understanding that within the first minutes of your stay, you did discover that the room was not to your liking. At Super 8, we pride ourselves on making sure that if we have made mistakes that we correct them as quickly as possible which is what occurred during this incident. Though we did fall down on the first room, we are so happy that you were able to get moved to a second room of your choice and that you stayed for 2 weeks, allowing us that chance to redeem ourselves!!! We are so glad you decided to stay. Thank you again for expressing your concerns and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Lily M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica S, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the Super 8 as it was recommended by our son nearby. it was the nicest super 8 we have ever stayed at and we felt like very important guests. Each member of the front end staff made sure our stay was comfortable. Our questions on restaurants and their suggestions were wonderful. We were very pleased with the king sized room and morning breakfast. I would stay here again when visiting our family in Calgary. I would have given a 5 except at certain times the WiFi was weak.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivian-John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Management and staff are truly grateful for you very positive feedback. Comments such as that you provided for your stay at Super 8 Shawnessy inspire our staff to continue to provide above average service. We look forward to your next Calgary visit which will allow us the privilege of serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Pulled into the hotel exhausted at 10pm with two small kids in tow to find a 'Back in 5 Minutes' sign. I've never stayed at a hotel where the front desk staff left the counter for a smoke break? Likely not a staff problem but a management issue to have a backup person available while one person is on break? Once in the room, my son brings me a lighter that he finds on the floor???? Then, we had to checkout at 6am and were disappointed that the 'complimentary breakfast' opened at 6:30am - is it not possible to even leave out a bowl of apples/bananas for those running out early in the morning?

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briggsfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is unfortunate that during your stay that we were never made aware of any of the concerns expressed here at the property. At Super 8 Shawnessy, we pride ourselves on great customer service WE are truly sorry that this is the experience that you had during the stay which is definitely not our normal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This motel had friendly/helpful staff at the front desk. Indoor pool with slide @ towels provided so that you don't have to worry if you forget yours. Was close to about 4 shopping malls @ lots of restaurants. No bible in room. We also stayed in the Super 8 in Revelstoke on our way to Calgary @ there was no bible in that room either but, on our way back from Calgary we stayed in the same Super 8 in Revelstoke, but a different room @ there was a bible. Also, the rooms are warm @ dry. The room in Calgary was warmer than the 1 in Revelstoke and the room we had in Revelstoke on our way back from Calgary seemed to be drier. Otherwise, the room we had in Calgary for a week was comfortable and adaquate enough for our needs. The room in Calgary, had a handicapped washroom and a microwave in the room. The rooms have wi-fi and so you need this on your computer to be able to go on or else you have to make free use of the computer in the breakfast room. So if you have wi-fi on a lap-top then, you might want to bring that with you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C1071ONAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Management and staff are truly grateful for your very positive feedback. Comments such as that you provided for your stay at Super 8 Shawnessy, inspire our staff to continue to provide excellent service. We look forward to your next Calgary visit which will allow us the privilege of serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After a long week....I stayed at the hotel for a weekend, I like the environment and the design and structure of the room. Good bed and soothing bed sheet and blanket. I had a good rest. And plus the breakfast Thank you!

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillips B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking time out to express your feelings about your recent stay. On behalf of the staff, we are SUPER excited that you had such a great stay. The team prides themselves on giving great customer service and making every effort to ensure all guests have a memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#79 of 110 in Calgary
181 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#91 of 110 in Calgary
265 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#85 of 110 in Calgary
850 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#48 of 110 in Calgary
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area

Address: 60 Shawville Rd SE, Calgary, Alberta T2Y 3S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £58 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Motel - Shawnessy has an exceptional reputation of excellent service and comfortable, and clean rooms, which has earned us the prestigious "Pride of Super8" award. Conveniently located on Macleod Trail in Alberta's largest and most active city, Calgary Shawnessy Super 8 Motel has many things to offer both families and the business traveler. We are close to MacLeod Trail South and Spruce Meadows. For shoppers and those seeking entertainment in the South West section of Calgary, we're in the midst of everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy Hotel Calgary
Super 8 Calgary
Super Eight Calgary
Calgary Super 8
Calgary Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing