We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to get a room during stampede! Library close by!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area
Ranked #74 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I want to get away from tv so I was ok with not having a tv that worked. I found the staff to be
very professional and polite both in the front desk and in the restaurant.

I was told I would not have a fridge but I was ok with that too. Sometimes you just need to
have a nice quiet place to sleep with a kind smile and safe, clean roof over your head.

Oh yeah, the pool was clean and fun too! There os

Room Tip: If you don't need a tv why complain? I like to read and refresh myself. The staff was very pleas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Super comments, and we were so happy that you were our guest!!!

You are so correct, it is tough to get a room during stampede. Especially one that is as reasonably priced as our location.

Our staff were so excited to see your review as it reaffirms that they did a great job during your stay.

Thank you again for stopping by and we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

The majority of the employees speak poor or no English, no fitness center as advertised, a major disappointment to someone who works out daily and was one of the major reasons I chose the hotel. TV did not work. Front desk simply said I would have to wait till next day. Won't stay here again, not worth the $$

Room Tip: Pick room away from Macleod Trail, very noisy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Flyboy213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

I would to give a BIG thank you. I was unaware that Trip Advisor had on their site that we had a fitness room, we have never had a fitness room and we are still very unclear of why it was published as so here. We have had Trip advisor remove the error. Thank you for pointing out that error.

We, are however, across the street from the local YMCA gym with more equipment then I could ever hope to offer. We also are adjacent to the city's largest park with miles of areas to run, just super for the true athlete.

On site, we offer a beautiful indoor pool, hot tub and slide . Free breakfast, free wifi, free local calls,

Thank you for staying and we are looking forward to seeing you real soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Ilana F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica S, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Toni-ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica S, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Hotel is bed & breakfast type. It serves basic needs to stay. Walmart is nearby. Some good eateries are also available nearby. However, there is no indian restaurant within walking distance. Calgary metro station is just 10 minutes by walk. So, you can connect well with other parts of Calgary very well. Breakfast is average. Hotel has washing machine & dryer facility, which is quite useful. So, overall, it is good 'value for money' hotel.

Room Tip: You may choose room on back side to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prasanna1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. At Super 8 Shawnessy, we pride ourselves on great customer service and making every effort to ensure all guests have a memorable stay. We are in walking distance to many restaurants and stores. Thank you again for expressing your concerns and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our stay for one night June 28. Check in fast and friendly. Rooms appear clean and towel art in the washroom. Location is in southern Calgary and close to many stores and restaurants. Rooms are dated and smell either bad or overwhelming in air freshener. Hallways just smell bad. Our bathroom sink was chipped badly and should have been replaced long ago. The heat register cover was lying on the floor. The free breakfast was of poor quality, but at least was free. We didn't have a choice in selecting this hotel as this is peak season in Calgary for hotels. Paying 189.00 plus tax is way too much for our one night stay here.

Room Tip: Don,t stay here unless you get a rate under $100.00 a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica S, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is unfortunate that during your stay that we were never made aware of the concerns expressed here. At Super 8 Shawnessy, we pride ourselves on great customer service WE are truly sorry that this is the experience that you had during the stay which is definitely not our normal. We have a great location as you have pointed out, lots of restaurants, and stores. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica S, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#79 of 110 in Calgary
181 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#48 of 110 in Calgary
720 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#91 of 110 in Calgary
265 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#85 of 110 in Calgary
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area

Address: 60 Shawville Rd SE, Calgary, Alberta T2Y 3S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £59 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Motel - Shawnessy has an exceptional reputation of excellent service and comfortable, and clean rooms, which has earned us the prestigious "Pride of Super8" award. Conveniently located on Macleod Trail in Alberta's largest and most active city, Calgary Shawnessy Super 8 Motel has many things to offer both families and the business traveler. We are close to MacLeod Trail South and Spruce Meadows. For shoppers and those seeking entertainment in the South West section of Calgary, we're in the midst of everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy Hotel Calgary
Super 8 Calgary
Super Eight Calgary
Calgary Super 8
Calgary Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing