We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calgary North Thriftlodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Ranked #94 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

This hotel although budget had everything we needed was clean and well equipped with a lovely outdoor pool. The beds were comfortable and we slept well, I would certainly stay here again.
The breakfast was very good with a good selection of cereal and fruit / yogurt a good start to the day. I have to mention the great service we received from the desk staff they were so helpful and welcoming and provided us with excellent information which enable us to take the train into Calgary and do some sight seeing which included going up the tower and seeing the great vista of Calgary spread beneath us. Sorry it took so long to review you but you were worth the visit many thanks.

Room Tip: Second floor Side room overlooking the outdoor pool , nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    39
    47
    38
    31
See reviews for
54
39
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

after a flight from the UK arrived at the Thriftlodge early but our two rooms were ready and after an easy check in with Eric on reception made our way to the upstairs rooms. No lift, but only only one flight of stairs. rooms were a little shabby around the edges but spotlessly clean and comfortable. fridge and microwave, tea coffee. also provided with a breakfast of cereals, fruit, fresh pastry/muffins, juice tea and coffee which was unexpected, served in the small front office, you can help yourself put it on a tray and take it back to your room which is equipped with small table and chairs, great! Location was ok, not a great deal locally but around the corner is the train which goes straight into Calgary for $2.75 perfect. There is a diner style restaurant next door and the food was pretty good. Ice machine and vending downstairs. strangely carpet on the hallway which looks a little mucky, but made access very quiet. all in all a good place to stay when passing through.
there is also a pool area which should have been closed whilst we were there, so didnt go in the pool but sat at the tables/chairs and sunbeds for a drink and nibbles in the afternoon as the sun was out!

Room Tip: our room faced out to the carpark/pool area and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
golden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

this hotel isnt that bad. the only four things i had an issue with was 1 there were bugs in our room a lot of them when i phoned down to talk to the front desk i was told to close the window and door... i had never opened the window and didnt leave the door open and they were already everywhere in the room when me and my two sisters arrived to the hotel 2 the smoke alarm was dieing and they told me to just take it off the wall and take the batteries out... thanks for your awesome help with that 3 there was hair all over the bath tub so they really need to get there house keepers on that because its gross.4 the air conditioners are above the doors ours was dripping on us evertime we wanted to go outside and we couldnt keep it on during the night because it was so loud we couldnt sleep and it was really hot when we stayed there. other then that stay was good it was easy to find and there are good restaraunts around the hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelso1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Booked one night and quickly booked another. Came in from out of town and loved the location. Went all over Calgary and never had any issues getting back to the hotel. GPS and number 1 (16) highways are right next to hotel. Awesome value for the buck, clean, quiet, friendly staff. The Denny's (24 hrs), McDonald's (24 hrs), DQ, etc are all within 4 mins walking distance. Its not a castle and your not paying for one! Felt safe and well serviced, room was cleaned and put back together after our first night stay while we were out and about enjoying Calgary's sites. Will stay again and refer to friends. Excellent value for the money!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tazarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed one night and made an early morning departure. Our biggest problem was finding the place, as our SatNav didn't want to take us to the address given by the motel. Rooms were clean and comfortable, bathroom was very small, decor a little tired. The breakfast was slightly above average for motels. The motel is located on a fairly busy road junction and depending which side you're located there's a metro train line across the road. Very convenient if you're heading off towards Banff. We'd stay again if we need another one night stopover.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackydu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallstead, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Good value for the prices of Calgary. Basic but clean and good shower water pressure. Good continental breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Syv_Peppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is a pretty good value for the money we spent. We wanted a bed to lay our heads and no extra things like a pool were needed. The bed was comfortable. We had to leave at 6:30 so we were a bit disappointed that the breakfast wasn't on until 7:00. We would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#44 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calgary North Thriftlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calgary North Thriftlodge

Property: Calgary North Thriftlodge
Address: 2304 16 Ave NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 0M5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Calgary North Thriftlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Calgary North Thriftlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calgary North Thriftlodge Hotel Calgary
Thrift Lodge Calgary
Thriftlodge Calgary
Calgary Thrift Lodge
Calgary Thriftlodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing