We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do Not Drive Here and Stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Ranked #94 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do Not Drive Here and Stay here”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stopped for a 3 night stay, but left after one. Arrived on a hot Calgary day. Room was stifling hot. To engage the air-conditioner over the entrance had to stand on an unsteady chair and then throw a switch near the door frame. The racket from this AC(?) was overwhelming and unacceptable, causing us to it down. We opened the door full during the late afternoon/early evening to help some cooling. At night the best we could do was open the one small window and live with the traffic noise nearby.The bathroom was clean, but the floors created & carpets very soiled. The 'continental free" breakfast consisted of muffins or tarts-no toast. We ate early in the morning as the motel guide stated that breakfast was available 7-9AM......and WHILE SUPPLIES LASTED !
The rate is low for Calgary but really not worth it. Moved to another establishment and 'gladly' paid the extra $35 per night.

Room Tip: Do not drive here and stay here......
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    44
    49
    38
    32
See reviews for
56
40
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel is an average budget hotel. It is an older hotel, but it was clean. The room was large. It had a coffee maker in the room and a micro/fridge. It did have a small a/c unit and baseboard heat. The tv was an old analog tv with about 40 stations. The bed is soft.

Breakfast was average. They had coffee, tea, cold cereal, fruit, and pastries.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georden7 W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallaceburg
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I found my bed too soft but it did not bother my husband. The air conditioner was very loud. The staff was very nice. Your building was hard to get into from the road.For us to stay again we found the traffic very loud

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Maryann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Valley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

the a/c was noisy, carpet was old and in need of replacement,bedsheets
were soiled (cigarette burns, stains)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Facility is in a very poor condition. Only best thing is location rest of all is not bad. It should be called a Motel not a Hotel. Although looks like a choices hotels chain but not at par with other Choice group associations. Carpet are stained and very poor condition of hotel room. No elevator for upper floor. Noisy people at night time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shokar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I booked my room with Roomstays (which is a whole bad ordeal its self and never will be dealt with again) but I called the hotel after I did my reservation, and asked if my husband would need his own credit card upon arrival for security funds. they employee I spoke with did not even answer saying "thriftlodge" or anything and he told me that his room was paid for and he did NOT need a credit card when he gets there. well my husband arrived at 230am and called me (430am) and complained because the employee at the time said that his room was not paid for. my husband showed him his confirmation email and the employe still argued. finally after a while the employe realised where he mistake was made and that it was paid by roomstay. he then wanted a credit card number for the security funds, which was said previously that he did not need one. well I gave my husband my mothers number over the phone and the employe accepted it, (which he was not supposed to),, but im happy he did because my husband would have slept on the streets. and he had almost no more money left because "roomstay" said he was within 5 miles from the airport, but he was 19kms away so his taxi was 60$$...

I was not impressed with roomstay and this hotel. they both agreed to no security funds and they both screwed up. I have that their customer service can be fixed

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Hotel Alma
Hotel Alma
#73 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calgary North Thriftlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calgary North Thriftlodge

Property: Calgary North Thriftlodge
Address: 2304 16 Ave NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 0M5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Calgary North Thriftlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calgary North Thriftlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calgary North Thriftlodge Hotel Calgary
Thrift Lodge Calgary
Thriftlodge Calgary
Calgary Thrift Lodge
Calgary Thriftlodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing