We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What the Funk?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail
Ranked #97 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“What the Funk?”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Is it worth saving a buck to stay at a place which looks like what I imagine a methadone clinic looks like? The continental breakfast had a real group of beauties in there. I've never grabbed a muffin and ran out quicker in my life. Though it is a step up from the last place I stayed at, in which the toilet was not bolted to the ground, this place needs much work. I had no complaints during the period in which I slept beyond having to use the TV manually as the batteries were dead and likely swapped by the last person whom stayed here. I woke up this morning to the sound of someone dry heaving and blowing their nose for 10 minutes. The walls are so thin, I thought the guy was in my washroom. Needless to say, I won't be coming back.

Room Tip: Not recommended at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    41
    86
    99
    169
See reviews for
125
78
38
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Pretty dirty and some rooms are mouldy. Was given Internet wifi password at check-in. Went to room and tried to log in. Signal was so bad I had to go to reception and even there it didn't work. When I asked, they said yes it doesn't work and we have tried but can't fix it (begging the question why give me a password at all?). No apology, didnt care at all. They only have it so they can advertise free wifi when people are booking and want wifi but it does not work so avoid this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maurice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Dartmouth, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I am not one to criticize reasonably priced lodging but this is one night I would like to forget. Finding a hotel in Calgary on short notice can be challenging thus on this particular evening I was compelled to book at this establishment. I was intimidated upon check in due to the suspect individuals hanging around the entrance. I was relieved to get to my room until I opened the door. Why? First of all there were two beds with stained sheets, numerous lights did not work, the air conditioner was also not functioning, there was a terrible smell in the room, I could go on and on! This is one night I do not want to remember!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very dirty except in the reception area (of course). It is desperately in need of a major renovation and, unless they deal with the undesirables that seem to hang out in the parking lot and outside the Comedy Club, even that may not be enough. My wife and I felt uncomfortable going in and out at night, especially when we found blood on the stairs to the parking area.
The air conditioning made lots of noise but we still don't know if it worked at all or the nights were cold!
The staff seemed pleasant enough but the hotel is beyond hope. How Travelodge could condone such a place tells me lots about their value system. We will not stay here again and very much question Travelodge as a principled company based on this evidence.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidlask2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The worst ever. I am not picky. I can sleep anywhere. But this is my worst experience. I arrived in the parking lot and was greeted by sketchy characters. I booked online and paid in advance and I mentioned that I was coming in late. I tried to book in at 10pm, but was told that the hotel was overbooked. I told them that had already paid but this did not seem to matter. I became a little belligerent as I has just spent 4 hours in a car....the last 45 minutes stuck on the Deerfoot. So they gave a round in the basement of the smoking floor. What? It was too late to find another room. So I had to stay, there was some jerk smoking and walking down the hallway of the basement only wearing his pants. So I stay in the room. I was coffing and sneezing from the smoke exposure all the next da. This I have learnt. Always check the Reviews. Never stay at a Travelodge. The worst ever

Room Tip: I wish I checked the reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I met four other people at Calgary for a couple of days at Spruce Meadows. On Thursday afternoon I checked into my room and immediately noticed that the toilet was running non-stop, there was no fridge or hair conditioner. Shampoo and lotion were supplied. I asked cleaning staff whether conditioner was supplied and "no" was the answer. I inquired at the front desk about getting a fridge. "No problem" was the response. I never did get one. After a full Friday at Spruce Meadows, I returned to my room to find that all the housekeeping staff had done was picked up my towels, plastic glasses, and a cardboard coffee cup which I'd used on Thursday evening/Friday morning. Oh yes, the garbage disappeared. Nothing was replaced and the bathroom wasn't attended to evidenced by the coffee splatters in the sink from when I emptied the coffee pot on Friday morning. The bath mat had been tossed into the bathtub. Soap & shampoo hadn't been replaced. I went to the front desk at 11 p.m. to get towels, glasses, a package of coffee etc. The front desk staff were quite friendly and helpful and promised to alert housekeeping about my complaints, but I know that I will NEVER book a room at this hotel again. What a disappointment. On the bright side, Spruce Meadows was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the far end of the hall. There will be less noise from doors slamming (and they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a complete dive, something you would find on a skid row. This place is beyond a refurbishment; it needs to be completely gutted or demolished. I have travelled all over the world and stayed in many developing countries--the fact this Travelodge exists in Canada creates a complete disconnect for me.

The night we arrived we were welcomed by two brawling female guests at the entrance who eventually ended up covered in blood and throwing beer bottles. While still unloading our bags the police arrived not to assist these two undesirable women, but to approach another hotel guest who had been causing problems. While we were finishing up unloading our car after check-in, one of the staff got to work sweeping up all the broken glass outside the front door. None of the night staff seemed alarmed by the activities swirling around the lobby and front desk--another typical Sunday night? This was all in the first 10 minutes of our stay.

Once we arrived in our room, we immediately knew we were sleeping in our clothes and not using the bathroom to do anything but brush our teeth. I had chosen this hotel as they were pet-friendly; I feared for what my two cats might pick up in the room the night we stayed. The carpet was disgusting, and you would never consider having bare feet. The bathroom was run down, and there had been no attempt to wipe down the mildew on the walls. There were extension cords supplying the room electronics, and many sockets I tried did not power up my electronics.

I think the most horrifying thing about the whole place was the elevators--it was obvious they had not been wiped down in some time, and the liquids on the elevator floor had us guessing what they might be--urine? Spit? Beer? Other? Considering the state of many the guests we passed in the lobby and hallways, the elevator's fluid samples could have been anything.

We didn't even consider eating the included breakfast or use the swimming pool. The lack of cleanliness in the room and public areas made us question any of the other amenities they might offer. We had booked for 4 nights--we couldn't check out fast enough after the one night we stayed. And we only stayed that first night as it was 10:30pm when we first arrived and too late to find something else.

As we were leaving, we provided rescue services to one of the housekeeping staff who had pinned her arm under a dresser and was physically trapped--she was using her one good arm to dial her cellphone and calling for help to anyone that passed in the hallway. Thankfully we were able to assist her, but the bizarreness of the situation was not lost on us...

The Front Desk staff and Day Manager were polite and efficient, and given their losing battle of customer relations and quality standards they face daily, I have to give them props for staying civil to their guests. I know I would be looking for a gas can and a match.


Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Scubagirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#91 of 109 in Calgary
244 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#85 of 109 in Calgary
35 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#76 of 109 in Calgary
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge South
#87 of 109 in Calgary
154 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#45 of 109 in Calgary
541 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail

Property: Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail
Address: 9206 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 0P5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Haysboro , Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail 2*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now offering Free continental Breakfast! Travelodge Macleod Trail also offers indoor pool, whirl-pool, cardio room, business services and Free wireless internet. Guest rooms with one queen or two double beds. Free, on-site parking. Centrally located in South Calgary. Convenient to much of Calgary's shopping, entertainment and services. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Calgary
Calgary Travel Lodge
Calgary Travelodge
Travel Lodge Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing