We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail
Ranked #97 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband, brother and I stayed here for a few days in the summer. When we checked in we noticed our room was fairly old, and there was a distinct smell of urine in the washroom, but the beds seemed clean and we were tired so we went to bed fairly quickly. However the second night our air conditioner broke and we had to be moved to another room as no one was available to fix it just then. That night we ended up finding bed bugs in our room. Needless to stay we will NEVER stay here again. And we would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Runnergirl182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

room is too hot in the mornings when the sun hits the window really bad... the air-conditioning doesn't work and it's a lil dirty, there are cheaper hotels with much better facilities in Calgary like the super 8... the internet connection is really bad too!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matbonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalgaryManagement, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Hello Traveler,

We truly and sincerely apologize for the problems you had with the air-conditioning not working properly in your rom. In this case, we clearly dropped the ball. We take great pride in the accommodation and services we provide and work hard to ensure everything in the room is good working order. Reading that we did not provide an outstanding experience for you is very upsetting to us. I am sorry that you had issues with the internet connection in the hotel. We have been experiencing some teething problems since we had some more software installed but these issues are now being resolved.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. It is valuable to us and we appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience in order to help us improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed here for one night and it was horrible. The rooms were dirty and the bedding was stained.
Sound travelled from the hallways and rooms around, so you could hear everything going on around you...

The hotel smells musty and old and the beds are uncomfortable.
Overall a very uncomfortable experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ON3WEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalgaryManagement, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Greetings Traveler,

I am deeply disappointed that I am writing this to you today, knowing we failed to offer the product and service you should expect.

First, let us express our deepest apologies. We know the experience must have been very unpleasant for you. Second, the problem you mentioned regarding the stained bedding has been brought to the attention of the executive housekeeper who is investigating this. Please accept out belated apologies for the noise you experience during your stay. We would have been pleased to have relocated you to another area of the hotel.

We do hope we will be given the opportunity to serve you once again and to show you we can do better. We also hope your confidence in the Travelodge Macleod Trail will be restored.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We recently stayed here for one night. We paid $122.08 (tax included) for a room with 1 queen size bed. The whole hotel is dated and pretty gross. We were on the 3rd floor and had to sleep with the fan on as the doors do slam shut and voices carry from the hallway. I can only compare it to a movie where you see some skeezy cracked out hotel. It was pretty gross and I'd rather sleep in my car than spend money to sleep there again.

The service was good though.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TMH T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalgaryManagement, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all it could have been.

Through each comment we receive both positive and negative, we are able to seek knowledge and growth to better serve our business and leisure travelers. I sincerely apologize for the noise issue encountered during your stay. You comfort and safety is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. This issue is not unique to our property alone. Many hotels encounter the same challenges with soundproofing, especially during the later evening hours.Our upcoming renovation and refreshing of the hotel will address all of your concerns and we hope you will return to experience our new look.

We once again sincerely apologize for the problems you experience at our hotel. We continue to work hard to ensure that all our guests enjoys their experience at the Travelodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The online special is a TRAP!! They will send you to the 3rd floor. room 308; the unsecured (no lock) window that can be climbed into via the roof of the bar below the window. the closet was unusable because the mirror doors falling into the closet. I asked for another room. No help from staff... I got room 418; this room was disgusting!! The filth, ( I have photos) the grime not cleaned in years!! The bathroom was pure filth, mould painted over, a thick grime behind the door. Long black hair in our bed, blonde hair in the shower. I don't scare easy... this room gave me nightmares. I wish I knew the depth of this problem... I'm looking at reviews and I'm wondering how they might still be open or that some authority has allowed me to rent a room in hotel. In Calgary Alta Canada.... I'm glad my health was not affected.

Room Tip: Do not sleep (if you can sleep) on the north side of the 3rd floor. the roof to the bar is just unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalgaryManagement, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Hello Traveler

Firstly, let me sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences you faced during your stay with us. It was truly disheartening for me to learn that although you brought forth your complaints to the Front Desk that they still fell short of your expectations.

While we are extremely disappointed that despite the good location, our property was not a good match for you. We have gone in and diligently re-inspected both rooms that you occupied and have now made the necessary changes to bring them back up to standards, so I’m hopeful that your concerns will surely be a thing of the past.

I would like to thank you for your feedback, as it is feedback such as yours that prevent this from becoming a reoccurring issue.

Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I have NEVER been in such a DISGUSTING & FILTHY hotel in my life, and I travel a lot!
The sheets and bed spread were stained.
The sheets are covered with long dark hair.
The towels in the bathroom are stained.
The air conditioner has dark something running down the walls.
The lights in the room were not plugged in, so I needed to pull the tables away so that I could plug in the lights, the garbage and dirt behind the tables was disgusting, not cleaned in years.
There is dark stuff running down ALL the walls in the room.
I phoned front desk for a wake up call, nobody picking up the phone.
I went down to the front desk, the girl is somewhere in the back, the phone is ringing and she is not picking it up.
I did not get a wake up call.
A few doors down from mine have what looks like a drink splashed on the doors, has been there for a while.
I was on the 5th floor, in the morning the elevator was not working. (Dangerous????)

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank araneacanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I made the reservation through priceline as we often use the Travelodge on Macleod Trail for business and I heard lots of great things about it from my co-workers. Unfortunately they were talking about the Travelodge down the street closer to Chinook Mall near Glenmore Trail, which is a great spot. This hotel however is a dump, I have never stayed in such a dirty filthy run down place ever. Worst of all I couldn't get out of it as I booked it through priceline.

The Check in took a half hour or more, always a line at the front desk.

I used to be in the Hotel Business and I get the owners business model. Buy a hotel for cheap run it into the ground and make as much money as can because the market will keep my occupancy up, never spend a nickel and after its about to fall apart sell it to the highest better and run with the money.

Do yourself a favour and find another place to stay, unless you wanna sleep in a hazmat suit and shower with your shoes on.

Room Tip: Keep looking, even its a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fultod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#79 of 110 in Calgary
181 reviews
Econo Lodge South
#86 of 110 in Calgary
161 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#31 of 110 in Calgary
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#91 of 110 in Calgary
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail

Address: 9206 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 0P5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Haysboro , Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £43 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail 2*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now offering Free continental Breakfast! Travelodge Macleod Trail also offers indoor pool, whirl-pool, cardio room, business services and Free wireless internet. Guest rooms with one queen or two double beds. Free, on-site parking. Centrally located in South Calgary. Convenient to much of Calgary's shopping, entertainment and services. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Calgary
Calgary Travel Lodge
Calgary Travelodge
Travel Lodge Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing