We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated It!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Calgary South
Ranked #91 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 18 June 2007

This hotel is a dive!! There were three of us in our party. One of our group arrived there first and they wouldn't let her check in because the room wasn't reserved in her name. When we got checked in , we discovered the room was not very clean. Only one lamp would work, the TV didn't work and there was hair in the bath tub. Calgary was booked up solid so we had no time to find another room anywhere. We were rushing to get ready for a graduation so we put up with it but never again will I stay there!! To top it off they wanted to charge us $170+ for one night but we complained about the cleanliness and they took $20 off the total. Big Deal!! We still ended up paying $50 each! Do not stay here! I think it's the worst hotel room I've ever seen

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank travelbug086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 265 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2005

In all my life I have never had such a horrible experience with a hotel as I did at the Travelodge. I've stayed here once before and had a wonderful time. I'm not sure if management has changed or what's going on but this place has really gone down hill. We have two dogs who were on this trip aswell and we were given probably the most rundown room in the builing. The door had to be slammed just to close it, the carpets were dingy, and the bathroom was far from clean. The check-in process was as slow as it could possibly be and I should have known with her seemingly lack of experience that we would run into trouble afterwards. The next day during the check-out process we had a run-in with the manager who was yelling and screaming and acting very unprofessional. Warning: DONT PAY CASH!!! You'll have to pay a deposit (which is expected), but don't expect them to give it back or if they do decide to give it back, not give it all back. The manager will end up phoning her employee, who will lie about how much money you gave her and the manager will say to you "who do you think i'm going to believe? You? Or an employee who I trust and has worked for me for 8 years." Needless to say she chose the side of her employee and we only received part of our deposit back (eventhough the room looked exactly the same as it had when we arrived.) After this experience I will never stay at a Travelodge again.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tp1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2005

Staying at a hotel for the first time my friend and I picked this hotel for the
location to stay at.

I had problems trying to get a room because of the information that was asked of me and provided before I had arrived there wasn't adequete enough even though my friend who had spoken to one of the staff a couple days beforehand reassured her that I would be able to get a room.

Trying to get a room even though credit card information and signatures from a family member giving me permission under their name still saw it to be a no go, the lady working the front desk was unable to do anything about it or else would have gotten in trouble by the manager.

Friend ended up paying for my hotel room because I had no other options at the time and got into my room at around 9pm at night but having to be checked out by noon the next day so not exactly the full bang for my buck.

I'd maybe stay here again but will also keep my options open for other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paperflowers_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank veerle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Realizar la reserva con tiempo suficiente y fijarse en que sea el Travelodge correcto
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelodge Sout... C, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vladimir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Econo Lodge South
#86 of 110 in Calgary
161 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#79 of 110 in Calgary
181 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#83 of 110 in Calgary
36 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#85 of 110 in Calgary
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Calgary South

Address: 7012 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0L3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £39 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Calgary South 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Calgary South Hotel Calgary
Travel Lodge Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing