We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst customer service ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn - Calgary South
Ranked #86 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worst customer service ever!”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We are traveling by motorcycle in Canada. We called ahead to this hotel. The person on the phone was very abrupt. We made the reservation. The day we were to arrive in Calgary; Canada was experiencing thunderstorms and severe weather We called the hotel to cancel our reservation and was basically told that they don't care if we were traveling in severe weather or not a reservation is a reservation. They claimed to have told us there was no cancellation but they barely spoke English and were abrupt and rude. I would rethink your travel plans especially if you are on a motorcycle!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lightningsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guest

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing the Days Inn Calgary South as your home away from home.

The reservation you made was a super discounted rate which is non-cancellable and non-refundable. This type of booking is usually made when the guest is sure nothing will change the travel plan.

When you called to cancel due to unforeseen circumstances; the line staff at our property cannot make such a call due to the nature of the reservation. However, the information was passed on to the Front Office Manager, who cancelled the reservation, without penalty and your card was never changed.

We suggest next time before putting up such reviews you talk to the person in-charge to verify the facts.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    202
    189
    144
    124
See reviews for
244
167
48
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My husband, daughter, and I were driving through Calgary on our way to Alaska, and needed to find a place to stay. Check in was really easy, and the front lobby was really beautiful, so I thought we lucked out. We unloaded our car, and I looked around the parking lot. There were suspicious people hanging around, and I was a little nervous. We loaded up into the one elevator, and it creaked up to the third floor. As the door opened, it felt like a scene from a horror movie. The hall was very narrow, it creaked, and was uneven, like it had been patched with old boards. The entire hall smelled like smoke, and there were people running and yelling up and down the hall, slamming doors. We tried to get some sleep in our filthy room, but there was a big gap between the door and frame, so light shined in, and we could hear yelling and doors slamming until about 5 am. I was unable to sleep, and check-out couldn't come fast enough.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kookla9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest


I do apologize that the Days Inn Calgary South did not live up to your very high expectations, I do find your review helpful, however, in so much as we will strive harder to correct these short comings. Please do note that we are a non-smoking property and there is a $250.00 fine for any guest found smoking inside the property. This policy is strictly enforced, some guests do however, not conform to the rules, we do our best to monitor and fine guests that break the rules, some do slip away.
Our parking lot is monitored by CCTV and as such “suspicious” people are requested to move on.
Regarding your complaint that there was noise and slamming of doors, had you let the front desk know then it would have been taken care of.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Canada de Calatrava, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Clean Room & Very Affordable Great Corner Room with Tons of Light. There's a Building Next Door, but Having Windows Every Where you Look Makes this room perfect. The bathroom had a rain shower and window, just make sure you close the curtain....lol. Some noise from the elevator, but you don't really notice it too much.

Room Tip: Clean Room & Very Affordable Great Corner Room with Tons of Light. The bathroom had a rain s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Guest

Your review of our hotel is much appreciated. Thank you for your comments it makes us all very proud.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel is on a nasty street. Very filthy and devoid of anything usefull. Do not stay here with small children. The pros: Front staff is nice. Tim Hortons next door.
The cons: hotel is old and needs more updating. Underground parking area is disgusting and unsafe. Wifi is horrible and keeps dropping off. No hot water in morning. Windows are disgusting. Walls are thin as paper. Beds and linens are low quality, even for a Days Inn property.
This is a good option only if you absolutely have to stay in the area or just for a quick night rest off the road, otherwise go up the street to the Holiday Inn Express.
The management here needs to consider a very intense renovation of the hotel. Like rebuild it.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BigPl8Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest

Your opinion is valued, however, there is little we can do about MacLeod Trail. We have done a lot in the past year to bring the property up and renovated all the guest rooms with new carpeting and paint. Also the guest room will be having new furnishings near the end of the year.

The hot water issue has been taken care of and in the last month no issues have been recorded. Do contact me at 403 243 1959 x 7163 and I will arrange a property tour for you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed for 4 nights. Was not sure what to expect as I normally do not stay in this part of the city.

Front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful every day. Always offered help. Complementary breakfast is always nice, They had free water bottles and coffee on a table in the evening.
Room was upgraded, not super fancy but bed was super comfortable, room was very spacious. Make sure you leave the hot water running for a bit because it takes a a minute or two to get to a nice temperature. I found this out the hard way by jumping in the shower right away.. BRRR. :)

Close proximity to Chinook Centre which is great for someone who loves to shop.

Room Tip: Just ask. Staff was always ready to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KPulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Guest

Your comments are much appreciated, we also have the hot water problem now under control as well.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Front desk clerks are very friendly and conduct good customer's service... They are always smiling and willing to help no matter what their client mood... I always feel at home when I stay here.. Place is always clean...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ccoco84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest

Your comments are much appreciated, thank you and we look forward to your stay with us in future

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Every time I'm in Calgary I always stayed in this hotel due to the location is great, very close to downtown and shopping area. The staffs are friendly and accommodating. Clean rooms and affordable.

Room Tip: Chose the 4th floor area which is renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 250jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out to review our hotel, we pride ourselves in our customer service and your comments makes all our efforts worthwhile.

To add a little to your review, all our rooms have now been renovated the last few being finished last month.

Guests will now find a fresh new look to our entire hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#76 of 109 in Calgary
177 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#91 of 109 in Calgary
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge South
#87 of 109 in Calgary
154 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn - Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn - Calgary South

Property: Days Inn - Calgary South
Address: 3828 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn - Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Days Inn Calgary South. Our hotel offers 134 Guestrooms and Suites, Meeting Facilities, Heated Indoor Salt Water Pool/Hot Tub and Fitness Centre. We offer Complimentary Continental Breakfast including Belgium Waffles, Free High Speed Internet Access, Free Parking, and Free Local Calls. A Valid Credit Card is required at Check In. All of our rooms have Iron and Ironing Board, Cable TV, Hairdryer and Clock Radio. Refrigerators are available in upgraded rooms upon request. Microwaves are available in upgraded rooms upon request. Pets allowed in some rooms for nominal fee. We offer a shuttle service for nominal fee. The Transit system is within 1 Block of the hotel. The Atlantic Trap And Grill Pub is located on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn - Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Calgary South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing