We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn - Calgary South
Ranked #86 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My family stayed at this hotel in early August and booked through hotwire. We were given a room with two beds which we found clean. My younger son enjoyed the view of the C-train from our window so it kept him amused while we were resting back at our hotel. We found the bathroom tiny which made bathing the kids difficult. Some of the other reviews commented about having no hot water but we found it came after running the water for 5 minutes.

Continental breakfast was provided in the downstairs breakfast room run by one staff. If you look at the number of people eating there in the morning you'll notice that isn't enough staff to keep the place clean. The poor lady was too busy keeping the food stocked and didn't have time to clean the tables. One thing that did annoy me was the state of the bathrooms in the breakfast/lobby area. There is a bathroom in the breakfast room area but the lights did not work, toilets were clogged, no toilet paper, so we weren't sure if they were even functional. There is a bathroom right in front of the front desk but the ladies bathroom was 'Out of Order' for the three days that we stayed there. I have young kids so not having a bathroom nearby was annoying and I wound up using the men's bathroom each day downstairs!

On one of my outings to Telus Sparks, I wound up going to the old Calgary Space museum by mistake. Drove back to the hotel to meet up with the rest of my family and inquired with the front desk if they could tell me where Telus Sparks was located. She had no clue and pointed me towards the stack of flyers on the wall! And to rub it in, the next day I noticed they had a brochure of the attraction right at the front desk. Seriously, the front desk people work in the tourism business so shouldn't they know where the attractions are? Both my husband and I felt like the staff was disengaged, except for one asian front desk person and the poor ladies that ran the breakfast room. Also, I think it's very unprofessional to be checking your personal phone when someone is checking in.

My husband found the need to use their internet for a business meeting. The internet connection was not fast enough for a Skype call and it also cut out a few times during his meeting. Needless to say he was not happy with their WiFi connection.

Overall, I don't think my family would stay at this hotel based on our experience and would consider other options around the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2Trav3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Guest

Your comments are invalueable to us and the management and staff have been appraised of your review, it will help us to improve all aspects of our property.
All the short commings noted by you will be/have been addressed and will be improved for your next stay with us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn - Calgary South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed 5 nights for a national swimming competition at Talisman Centre. The hotel is only 15 minutes walking distance to the pool and it can absolutely save lots money on car rental. There is also a train station nearby, about 3 minutes walking, and it is only one stop to the pool.
The room is quite roomy and clean, but the airconditioner is very noisy and hard to adjust the right temperature at night. There is no microwave in the room which is different from what their website disclosed. It's very inconvenient that I had to bring my own food down to the lobby and bring it back up to my room. On the third day, our toilet was flooding. It was quickly fixed after we called the front desk.
The breakfast was served well, except the area that was partly closed for renevation during that time. Overall, the stay was pleasant.

Room Tip: ask if you need a microwave in your room
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxineChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Guest

Thankyou for your review, it was a pleasure for us to host all the guests visiting the Talisman centre for the swim meet.

The few short commings mentioned will be taken care of and we trust your next stay with us will be even more pleasent.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Don't go there for the view! The hotel is nice-Especially the entrance & pool area. The reception was very courteous and the breakfast was a bit hectic but good to start the day. The room was clean, beds comfortable, & the TV worked well. (Offside: when will these hotels upgrade their TV's to flat, HD, wall mounted versions to save space?)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking a back alley bar with a band.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatW227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Guest
Thankyou very much for taking the time to review our property, we are happy to hear that your stay with us was comfortable.
We have up-graded to flat screen TV's in most of our guest rooms, the few that still remain will be up-graded this season.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Visit this hotel for 3 nights during the Stampede, Service was terrible, rude at the checked in, they asked me to pay everything in advance (375$/night). Hotel is very old and not updated. Pool not clean, old carpets, strange smell. A family close to my room was talking all night and is it like if they were sitting in my room. Cold breakfast is the same as other brand with waffle, cereals, bread... probably the nest part of the trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L-P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

stayed at this hotel in june 2012, the room we got was filthy, windows dirty inside,dont think a deep clean had been done for ages found dirty clothing from somebody else down beside fridge in room,bedding was old and bobbly in real need of an update.Find some where else

Oh and breakfast was nothing to write home about

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank val m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Guest

I am sorry to note that you were a bit dissatisfied with our hotel property in general, I will pass your concerns to our housekeeping department and do rest assured that all steps to address these short commings.

We will do our best to remedy all in the near future.

Regards
Osman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed at the Days Inn Calgary South during Stampede week this year. When we checked in, we were helped by an extremely nice gentlemen named Baba. He was really helpful and kind, Kudos to you Baba!

One thing to know, do not go to the restaurant that is attached to the hotel. They are not owned by the hotel, so its no shame to them, however it was terrible! No air conditioning (or fans!!) so it was sweltering and terrible service. The servers are irritable and grumpy. It was their "wing night" and they even got the wings wrong, c'mon guys!

Room Tip: Ask for an newly renovated room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel property. Yes, Baba is a great asset to our property and a very nice person, I will pass on your comments to him.

We are also in the final stages of completing our in-house restaurant, planned opening is early September 2012, this should resolve your second concern as well.

Thank you once again

Osman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I recently checked in to this hotel to attend a business function in the area. It wasn't my first choice, but due to Stampede Price Gouging at other hotels, it had to do.

Upon arriving at the hotel, the clerk was more interested in getting his name tag straight than assisting me. After the process was done, I dropped my items off in my room and left for a few hours. When I arrived back, I placed my suitcase at the end of the bed and to my utter disgust found a used, open bottle of lubricant.

I called the front desk, and the same clerk came to my room. He said he had a hard time believing that "I just found" the bottle, because I had been checked for 7 hours. He said he would talk to the HouseKeeping supervisor, and left it at that.

What a joke. I will not be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Basque17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Guest

I do appologize for the negetive experience you had at your recent stay at our hotel, do understand it was a very busy 2 weeks of Stampede for all hotel properties in Calgary and once in a while things do slip through the cracks.

I have mentioned your concern to both the Front Office Manager and the Housekeeping Manager, who have assured me that this matter will be addressed to the concerned staff mambers.

Bad service is not something we are proud of, we will strive to better ourselves

regards
osman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#79 of 109 in Calgary
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#90 of 109 in Calgary
250 reviews
Econo Lodge South
#88 of 109 in Calgary
156 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn - Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn - Calgary South

Address: 3828 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £52 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn - Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Days Inn Calgary South. Our hotel offers 134 Guestrooms and Suites, Meeting Facilities, Heated Indoor Salt Water Pool/Hot Tub and Fitness Centre. We offer Complimentary Continental Breakfast including Belgium Waffles, Free High Speed Internet Access, Free Parking, and Free Local Calls. A Valid Credit Card is required at Check In. All of our rooms have Iron and Ironing Board, Cable TV, Hairdryer and Clock Radio. Refrigerators are available in upgraded rooms upon request. Microwaves are available in upgraded rooms upon request. Pets allowed in some rooms for nominal fee. We offer a shuttle service for nominal fee. The Transit system is within 1 Block of the hotel. The Atlantic Trap And Grill Pub is located on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn - Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Calgary South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing