We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn - Calgary South
Ranked #86 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The room was very clean and a very good breakfast was furnished in the morning. We were able to do our laundry but the laundry facility was in another part of the building so it took many trips back and forth from where our room was located. The staff was very helpful on answering questions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JOAN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing our hotel,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed here on the 31st of August for a concert in Calgary. Front end staff was very friendly. The hotel was fully sold out and with less staff to attend to the never ending peoples request, guest issue was attended to with full professionalism. The Manager (Baba) kept up with his never ending smile all through. Our Only complaint was that we got checked into a room that has not been cleaned yet even though “Baba” rectified the problem instantly. Overall, we were very happy with the staffs, service , and good room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Singing M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thankyou for reviewing our hotel, your compliments have been passed on to all staff, with Baba getting most of the praise.

We look forward to hosting you again in Calgary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Staff were not attentive at all. When entering the bathroom in our room, I noticed a horrible smell. I discovered it was coming from the shower curtain. This is the kind of smell that an old dishrag will get when it's been sitting for too long. I hate this smell. I asked the front desk staff if the shower curtain could be replaced.

She wrote a note and told me she would tell the housekeeping staff. The shower curtain was never replaced. I can't believe staff who clean the bathroom can leave it when it smells so bad. Thankfully, the smell kind of went away when we used the shower.

I asked for extra towels our first night so there were a total of four in the bathroom. Cards in the bathroom state that if the towels are hung up, they will be left. If they're on the floor or in the bathtub, they'll be replaced. We hung up all of our towels and they all disappeared and were replaced with new ones. Unfortunately the extra towels were not replaced. When I asked for extra ones, this request was also written down by the front desk staff member and was never followed through.

I gave up asking front desk staff for anything at this point. Very frustrating.

Pillows are not comfortable. Bed was good. Breakfast was fine. Rooms were quiet.

One other complaint is that we only had one chair in our room. Another room booked for my mother who traveled with us had two chairs and a table. It's disappointing that our room didn't have this. But again, I gave up asking the front desk staff for anything.

Rooms were clean except for the smelly shower curtain. Staff were not attentive at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HistoryKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest

I am sorry that your stay with us had issues with the front desk staff, rest assured these complaints have been dealt with, at no point do we expect our front desk agents to ignore guest issues.

The house keeping manager has also been advised of your complaint. I trust your next stay with us will be free of these issues.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights while taking my family to the concert at the B.M.O grounds. Great location to access malls and the city downtown area. Everything was clean and the beds were comfortable. Service was very good, except for the noisy neighbors that where talking loud all night which was total unacceptable. Something however should be done about the size of the room walls, it seems tiny that one can hear voices and conversations from people from other room. Nevertheless, we had a great time and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Friendly service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12345mira12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of our property, we do appologize for the noise from your adjacent room, however, it seems the rest of your stay with us was at par.

We look forward to hosting you again in Calgary

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We paid $149 for a room last night, money not well spent. The fellow in the lobby at check in was disinterested and rude. I phoned later from our room to say that the internet was not working, he was not interested. Noisy location, cars, trains, etc. Sad little breakfast. Room was OK, but overall not a friendly welcoming hotel. Guys drinking, smoking, and trying to beg money just outside the hotel. We did not feel safe.

Room Tip: Stay away: noisy, expensive and poor service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 834chefmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Guest

I do appologize for the poor experience you had during your stay with us, rest assured the issues will be dealt with.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Four of us stayed in 2012 the first night we were placed in a room over the bar very loud. After the bar closed people were knocking on our door looking for the party room it was a sleepless night. We complained and the next night we were moved to the tower area much better. I spoke with the manager in regards to a free night or a refund on two phone calls the manager told me he would check into it the other two phone calls the manager told me that he would send me a free night coupon. That was 5 months ago and to this day I have no coupon no phone call nothing. Both mornings the continental breakfast that is offered had no juice ,no clean knives,no fruit, etc. The manager lies and it is not a nice experience.

Room Tip: In the tower is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Guest

All gift vouchers promised by our manager are mailed out the same day to the guests address as shown on the reservation. Please contact our AGM, Rio Marcon at 403 243 5531 if you have not received the promised gift certificate.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The staff were very attentive, and the rooms were basic but clean. We ate at the retaurant, and we were a very pleased with the food presentation, and the service. We were here at part of a large group, and we all had a good time.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thankyou very much for reviewing our property. We look forward to hosting you on all trips to Calgary.

I will pass on your comments to all staff. thank you once again

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#78 of 110 in Calgary
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#91 of 110 in Calgary
260 reviews
Econo Lodge South
#88 of 110 in Calgary
157 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn - Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn - Calgary South

Address: 3828 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £53 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn - Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Days Inn Calgary South. Our hotel offers 134 Guestrooms and Suites, Meeting Facilities, Heated Indoor Salt Water Pool/Hot Tub and Fitness Centre. We offer Complimentary Continental Breakfast including Belgium Waffles, Free High Speed Internet Access, Free Parking, and Free Local Calls. A Valid Credit Card is required at Check In. All of our rooms have Iron and Ironing Board, Cable TV, Hairdryer and Clock Radio. Refrigerators are available in upgraded rooms upon request. Microwaves are available in upgraded rooms upon request. Pets allowed in some rooms for nominal fee. We offer a shuttle service for nominal fee. The Transit system is within 1 Block of the hotel. The Atlantic Trap And Grill Pub is located on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Days Inn - Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Calgary South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing