We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice room, cold pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice room, cold pool!”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We were at this hotel for a business meeting and the room and food for that was good. Our hotel room we upgraded to the family suite and it was great because it had a separate room that had bunkbeds for the kids! They loved that part! I would have preferred the king bed closer to the door instead of the bunk bed though!
There was a slight water trickling sound that could be heard all the time, but otherwise very quiet (even with the hotel booked with hockey teams). Our door looks like someone had it locked with the pull over bar and someone tried to get in. The door frame was damaged and hardly holding on. I left a note for housekeeping to fix this, as well as the squeaky bathroom door. Other than those things, the room was clean and very modern.
Lastly, we mostly like to stay at hotels with 'heated' pools for the kids to swim. Well, we went to get in and it was freezing! I went to ask at the main desk about getting it turned up in there, and she promptly paged maintenance to come have a look. A few minutes later, the maintenance man showed up, stuck a thermometer in the pool and said, yup it's 80. Well to me, 80 is barely a heated pool...especially when there is an exterior door within the pool area to the -15C outside! The hot tub was warm, definitely not hot. The kids did like that the pool changed colors.
Overall good stay, and nice to have Moxie's and Denny's connected to the hotel. Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aquae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    80
    32
    17
    8
See reviews for
61
33
4
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Emerson Park
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Arrived at Calgary Airport on the first leg of our Archers trip through Canada. The airport itself had a stunning sculpture in the foyer of horses. We were met by our representative and taken by coach to the Sandman Hotel. Very comfortable rooms, a little old fashioned but we were only staying one night. The meal we had at the hotel that night was beautifully cooked and very reasonable.
The following morning we all boarded the coach en route to Banff. Our guide Linda Brown, took us on an impromtu trip of downtown Calgary taking in the Olympic medal site, Municipal Hall and being a Sunday Morning, it was very quiet so we were able to disembark and take lots of pictures. We then went on to the Calagary Stampede Park which was amazing, again we had plenty of time to take pictures. From there we went on to the Olympic Park and stopped for coffee. Seeing the Ski Jump that Eddie the Eagle won his acclaimed fame from was an added bonus. Once back on the coach, we headed for Banff and I will do a review of that hotel next. Our first sight of the rockies was breathtaking - wasn't sure my camera would stand up to all of the pictures I anticipated taking - Banff was an amazing place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JudeEmersonPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

It's a new property located in the south east area of Calgary at Deerfoot Meadows complex where IKEA and Walmart Super Store areat walking distance from the hotel . The hotel has sufficient parking space. The rooms are spacious and clean. The Denny's 24 Hour Restaurant and Moxie's Classic Grill serve great food and drinks. The wifi was also good and very usable. The hotel offers a very peaceful and relaxing experince, though my reason to choose it was the good price it offered.

Room Tip: rooms to the east side may provide better view from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ARTIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Warning: the rates posted on the web are not what they will try to charge you in the hotel. There argument? The rates on the web are not posted by the individual hotel so they don't have to honor them.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton alberta canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I have stayed here many times this past year and it's always a good experience. Clean comfortable rooms and two great restaurants - all you need.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familyfun10_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Only the one night in this hotel, but it was in a great spot, close to the freeway, close to shops, and a very modern feel.
We were in a room at the end of the hotel, and the free wifi, was a bit iffy, but that is the only thing i can fault.
Great rooms, only 1 year old.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san rafael
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I don't know how we ended up at Sandman South...must have been the rates on Hotels.com. Regardless, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room was on the small side, but it was clean and modern. We really enjoyed the attached restaurant, Moxies, which served up great food and drinks.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jandi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#43 of 109 in Calgary
522 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#30 of 109 in Calgary
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#90 of 109 in Calgary
240 reviews
Hotel Blackfoot
#25 of 109 in Calgary
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South

Property: Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Address: 8001 11 St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandman Hotel Calgary South is not only a short distance from downtown Calgary, but also located in the heart of beautiful Deerfoot Meadows. Steps away from shopping, dining, and entertainment, Sandman Hotel Calgary South makes your travels easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Calgary South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing