We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Oddly Sited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Ranked #60 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Oddly Sited”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We picked this hotel to be close to some family occasions happening around Heritage Park. This hotel is terrific inside. We had a "family suite" which included a bunk bed that our kids (2 and 5) loved. The kitchenette was handy to store milk and snacks and the separate sleeping quarters with a king size bed provided quiet sleep.

The hotel is nicely finished and has good amenities. Our only amazment is that is views IKEA and is oddly sited on a strange-shaped parcel of land. The flip side is that breakfast at IKEA is all of $1 (I am not kidding) for eggs, potatoes and pancakes vs. more than $10 for the same at the attached Denny's. The area is not picturesque but it is handy for getting around the south end of Calgary. We would totally stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the hill behind the hotel. It'll be quieter than the front facing rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thegoodegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    85
    32
    18
    8
See reviews for
77
36
5
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

we stayed at this property for a wedding as the bride and groom had arranged shuttle buses for their wedding guests.
we ended up finding a better price than even the group reservation via the sandman website summer promotion. got a much bigger room for about $30 less than the group rate.
our room category was a Corp. King suite, with a nice sized kitchenette, and living area that was great for having a few family members over for a couple cocktails after the rehearsal dinner. we were traveling with our two young children, and this room does not have a pull out couch, but we ended up putting one kid on the couch and pushing the two armchairs (which were really square and made a perfect toddler bed!) together.
was perfect for our family, even had a closing door to the bedroom area for privacy.
the mood of the decor was really chic, and modern, BUT the lighting was pretty dim. I found applying makeup and getting ready for the wedding actually required moving lamps to mirrors.
location is good, close to shopping, including ikea ($1 breakfast---woot!)
and parking was still very close to entrances even arriving friday night with the bar/club right out front.
pool is small but clean, kids loved it, cant complain!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luseland, Saskatchewan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My family and I stayed there for 1 night before heading to Canmore. We just had the basic room .

Good: The area this hotel is in is huge! (It has lots of stores!). Comfortable beds. Well made bathrooms. Beautiful lobby.

Bad: Parking is really squished together.

Overall: I would definitely recommend this hotel to a family or the single person.

Room Tip: The rooms on the west side have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

At first glance it seems 3 star plus - but the desk staffer was a bit passive-aggressive in that my compnay had booked the room with a credit card but, she thought, did not fax in the authorization. I was not getting my room without giving my CC to guarantee the first night... it turned out the fax had been sent - and resent due to this staffer. But she was one of about 3 I encountered over the week I stayed that were neutral to negative. The wireless signal was totally useless - luckily I pack a hard wire ethernet cable. The "business" centre costs for usage and it used up my entire 20 minutes just downloading a single PDF! I complained about it to the desk but that was shrugged off. The housekeeping was up and down depending on the day - the washroom was poorly built and laid out - could not even flush the toilet without putting the lid down as the counter overlaps the toilet install.

Room Tip: Get one away from the ice machine and elevator as noises in the hallways come right into the room. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband & I stayed here this past weekend for two nights with our 9 month old son, in one of their king one bedroom suites. Check in was easy. Room was very nice - we had a living room area, kitchenette/bathroom area, and then the bedroom connected to that. Modern rooms, comfortable bed, two TVs. My only complaint about the rooms is that the energy efficient bulbs they use are quite dim. Could have had a brighter room if we had opened the curtains in the bedroom, but since we were in a room on the first floor, we looked right over the parking lot and I didn't like the idea of all the drunk people from the Shark Club being able to look in our room as they stumbled to their cars. The pool/whirlpool was nothing fancy but it was clean and we had a lot of fun with our son in it. Loved the Denny's....not usually a fan of Denny's food but the breakfast was SO fresh and we were very surprised. We ordered in from Moxies both nights. The only thing we didn't like about the hotel was the issue with the drunk people from the Shark Club...especially on our second night there....there was a huge fight right outside our bedroom window and I sat there covering my sons ears so he didn't get woken up while my husband called the front desk. But it was dealt with right away. Overall, hotel is in a fantastic location - Walmart, Ikea, Superstore, etc all right there, it's very clean, good dining options, and friendly staff. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kris621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and was upgraded to a loft room. The room was clean and nicely decorated It took a few hours to cool off the upper sleeping area as the air had been turned off and the unit is on the lower level.
The free Internet had a decent signal and was fairly strong on both levels. For $189 they should throw in a bottled water and they were a little cheap on the shampoo and conditioner which was never replenished and I had to squeeze the last drops out on the third morning. (just cheap)
The hotel is connected to a Denny's and a moxies with many fast food choices within a short walk.
Lobby was clean, but all 3 mornings the free coffee was empty. Again, it's the little things that lack.
Overall not bad, but lacks a few touches for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxxmaxx44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The staff really make this hotel great. The rooms are average but new. The bed very comfy.
The location is excellent, very easy to get to. Close to shopping, good restaurants. Easy access to the city via glenmor and deerfoot.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellybeanninjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#45 of 109 in Calgary
540 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#30 of 109 in Calgary
944 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Blackfoot
#20 of 109 in Calgary
523 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#76 of 109 in Calgary
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South

Property: Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Address: 8001 - 11th St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandman Hotel Calgary South is not only a short distance from downtown Calgary, but also located in the heart of beautiful Deerfoot Meadows. Steps away from shopping, dining, and entertainment, Sandman Hotel Calgary South makes your travels easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Calgary South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing