We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Arts(Calgary)(Great Value!)
US$351
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$334
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$516
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$181
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Elan(Calgary)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel(Calgary)(Great Value!)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown(Calgary)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
111
86
35
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
86
35
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshark clubdeerfoot meadowssuper storefront deskbunk bedsdenny's restaurantfamily suitechinook centreheritage parka great stayliving roomwould stay here againbathroom doormodern decorfull kitchenmini fridgerooms were very clean
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Excellent service from the front desk staff. Rooms that feature bunk beds and family style suites. Great that there are two family friendly quality restaurants that are accessible without leaving the hotel....Dennys and Moxies. And the Shark Club Sports Bar is In the parking lot. Great box store shopping across the street. Costco...Walmart.....BestBuy ...Super Store with a great Joe Fresh department and tons more....Just off Deerfoot Trail and Glenmore Trail and only ten minutes from Chinook Centre AND Southcentre Mall. The rooms are nicely decorated with a variety of room types......

Room Tip: Ask for special child friendly rooms....
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amytasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean. We had the corporate suite, and hated the furniture in the sitting area. You couldn't comfortably sit there and watch an hour of tv. The chair had a stain on the arm which looked fairy new and neglected. That being said, the a/c worked great, and the housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful. It has two restaurants, Denny's and Moxies. The Shark Club is also right next door. The location is great when you need something you may have forgotten. The walmart is a 1 minute walk, away, as are many other restaurants. I would stay here again, and would recommend this to a friend/colleague.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuckyLucyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just spent a night there to visit friends in Calgary south. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Nice beds and room. The hotel looked like new (or recently upgraded). We noticed Walmart, Denny's, and IKEA nearby, but didn't explore restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welirang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very modern and up to date with very friendly helpful staff. Housekeeping was great. In a great location right behind Ikea. Lots of shops and restaurants around and near the major shopping mall. It is a very far drive from airport so if you want to be close to that then this hotel isn't for you. Only problem we had was when you entered the room there was a bit of a weird smell.. Almost musky. Not sure where it was from but other than that everything was perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lp702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and I taught a 3 day workshop in the hotel. The service was great from Jeannine, Tanja, and Guillermo at the conference room. The rooms were nice. The food was excellent.

PROBLEM: the Internet was terrible. When it was running it ran well. But several times a day it would just stop working for an hour. It was happening to all of us in the workshop. It was very frustrating and might cause me to jot stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bokee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_calsouth, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. We have gone to great lengths to upgrade out internet services to keep up with todays travelers and their specific internet needs. We have worked very hard with our internet providers and our IT support team to minimize guest internet issues. Over the past few months our internet issues have become no existent, however some users cause the internet to slow or time out, because they are downloading or overloading the system, which has been known to cause issues. Thanks once again for your time, we certainly look forward to seeing you again in the very near future. GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews