We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,583)
Filter reviews
1,583 results
Traveller rating
1,098
403
57
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,098
403
57
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsomelette stationclose to the airportomelette barmade to order omeletscalgary airportgreat hotelcross iron millsbest westernsfree breakfastking suitehash brownsdeerfoot trailhot breakfastwaffle makerfront desk staffexcellent breakfastfresh fruit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,323 - 1,328 of 1,583 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We picked to stay in this hotel because of it's proximity to the airport - with the current closure of Barlow for the new runway construction this is one of only two hotels close to the airport on this side, the others all require driving across to Deerfoot or Metis to drive to the south side of the airport. Looking at the prices the hotel looks to be charging a premium for this.

Whilst the hotel is open there is still construction going on - when we were there there were "wet glue" signs all over the lobby. The room was nice and well equipped, the iPod dock being particularly useful just off a transatlantic flight, and the breakfast isn't bad - although it would have been good to actually be able to get real eggs rather than just omelette mix.

If you're wanting a scenic view you won't get it here - it's too far to see the city (and the airport is in the way anyway) and is in an underdeveloped industrial area, you get a panoramic view of a meat shipping company or the Toyota dealership. Also the only other restaurant close at hand is attached to the other hotel out this way. They also charge $10 a night extra for a cot - again other hotels don't charge extra for this.

In summary if you want a convenient place to crash out after a long flight this place is comfortable and a good choice, but there are better value hotels offering an airport shuttle service a bit further away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RTPeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and review of our property. I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expectations for value and appologize for the lobby construction that you experienced during your visit. While our hotel is relatively new we are continually striving to maintain a quality product for our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Calgary was our last stop on a weeklong trip that took us through Radium, Lake Louise, Banff, Columbia Icefield, Drumheller, and Vulcan.

Initially, I had hoped to stay closer to the centre of town, to take advantage of the attractions, restaurants, and bars. But, we finally settled on this hotel because it was far more affordable than similar quality hotels downtown. It’s proximity to the airport was also a factor. And while we didn’t consider it when booking, a C-Train stop was a short drive away, which was a convenient way to get downtown, once, without battling bumper to bumper traffic.

This Best Western Calgary doesn’t really need a 200 word description. The hotel is brand new and looks exactly like any newly built Best Western – the same lobby, the same furniture, the same room layouts and features.

The facilities are well maintained and the staff is polite and knowledgeable. Of note, their free breakfast includes an omelette bar.

The location doesn’t offer much else. There’s no restaurants, shopping, or attractions nearby. Its best suited for those traveling by car (with the exception of hotel run airport shuttles, buses are virtually non-existent in this area) and using Calgary as a convenient stopping point without plans explore anything the city has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

I'm so pleased that you included the Best Western Premier Freeport Inn and Suites as part of your adventure around Alberta. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our made to order omelette station and that we met your expectation for the quality of our rooms. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope we see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Have stayed here with family 3-4 times since finding it. Initially we loved it, with comfortable rooms, a great, varied hot breakfast, reasonable pricing and friendly service. Last time we stayed, however the front desk staff was condescending and rude. I hope it's a one off, but next time we'll certainly at least look at alternatives before automatically booking here, as we used to do.
Location is a bit far from any decent restaurants, but off peak traffic areas it's fairly quick to McKnight or 32nd.

Stayed: August 2012
1  Thank Trav3lgur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and review following your visit to our property. I never like to hear that we didn't meet or exceed the expectations of our guests, but I do appreciate hearing specifics that I can follow up on and ensure we make positive changes. I encourage a welcoming atmosphere with our staff and I will reinforce the importance of treating everyone with warm hospitality. I hope you will keep us on the top of your list for places to stay in Calgary and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Six of us stayed here. One couple used the pool. We have no hesitation in recommending it. Very nice decor, good amenities, big and very comfortable beds, great hot breakfast, close to shopping at a huge mall and fairly close to the airport. At first it looks as if it's in the middle of nowhere but anyone staying there would have a car and would quickly find out it's within easy access of major sites ... especially Heritage Park which is a must to visit - great for children and very reasonably priced for a whole day's family entertainment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

I'm pleased to hear that you discovered our best kept secret...our central location to many attractions in Calgary. It's true that we are not in the centre of Calgary but we don't have the traffic troubles of other locations which makes it quick and convenient to access a number of local attractions. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This hotel is near the airport and very, very quiet. The room was beautiful and well stocked. We arrived very late and were met by a very gracious young woman who went out of her way to help. We used the shuttle service twice and both drivers were very cheerful, courteous and helpful. While using the lobby computer, a member of staff checked to ensure that we had everything we needed. The lounge and dining staff were friendly, engaging and eager to please. The complimentary breakfast was exceptional--omelets made to order among other things. While you would need a car to get into town, this is a great airport location and my first choice for my next flight to Calgary.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank ddred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this terrific review of the Best Western Premier Freeport Inn and Suites. I enjoyed hearing your comments about our facility and how eager and engaging our staff were during your stay. I hope are able to return to Calgary and will stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews