We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great except for freezing pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great except for freezing pool”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We chose this hotel because it is almost literally next to the airport. We stayed the end of December. It has a great breakfast which includes fresh fruit, waffles, fresh pastries, and eggs made to your taste. The rooms are very nice, clean, and modern. The only issue is with the swimming pool/hotub. The pool is freeeeeeezing, they really must fix that as it was a big draw for us. Our children were so excited to use the water slide, but after a few times, they were frozen. And the hotub was frothy, not sure how to fix that, but it's a touch unappealing. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay, staff was lovely, and the shuttle is great. Thanks a lot to the staff, just fix the pool, and you will rock!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Rockies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChilaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Thank you for your time in completing a review and posting your comments about your visit to the Best Western Premier Freeport Inn and Suites. Over the holiday season we did experience an issue with our pool heating system which resulted in the pool being exceptionally cold for a couple of days. I am very sorry that it impacted your visit! It is fixed now and we are back to having the pool above 85 degrees for swimmers comfort. I suspect that since the pool was so cold that the hot tub was being over used and this may be the reason for the frothy issue...I have not notice or heard of this happening since but we will continue to be diligent in having our facility clean for our guests. Have a great day and I hope you are able to come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    355
    49
    15
    9
See reviews for
506
473
63
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed over the New Years Weekend on our way to the mountains. The pool and waterslide were perfect for our boys (13 and 11). The free breakfast was great! Waffles, omelette station, bacon and sausages. Wow! What a feast and all complimentary! Very quiet as well. We didn't hear the traffic from the Deerfoot even though you could sort of see it from the room. It is close to the airport but the planes were muffled and truthfully I only ever heard 3 muffled planes going overhead and that sounded like a truck passing by at best. Because of the proximity to the airport and Deerfoot, it is easy to get to from the highway and easy to leave as well. No traffic to go through. Very clean and new. Staff was very friendly! My oldest son bonked his nose at the bottom of the pool and while we were assessing the humiliating bump a staff member passing by came in and asked if everything was alright and if they could help us. Nice to see they actually care about what is going on at hotel. Would definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank migamouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Happy New Years and thank you for taking the time to post your review and comments. Sorry to hear about your son's bonk on the nose but I am pleased to hear how our staff reacted and asked if they could assist in any way. I too believe that one of the benefits of our location is the limited amount of traffic to get to Deerfoot or the Airport from the hotel. We hope that you will be back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Selected the Best Western Premier Freeport Inn because of its proximity to Calgary Airport (5 mins on the free hotel shuttle service) I was not disappointed. Have stayed at various Best Westerns but their Premier brand is as "good as it gets".
Large clean fresh room, good lighting & quality linens. Very quiet despite being pretty close to the airport. Excellent hot/cold buffet breakfast (eggs made to order!) Friendly personnel and, all in all, a VERY pleasant hotel to stay at. Keep in mind that the hotel is located in the centre of a commercial area so not handy to stores/restaurants/etc. if you don't have a car. The restaurant/bar serves dinner but lacks ambiance as it's a little 'sterile'.
Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I stayed at this hotel on my way 'out of town' & on my return. Both rooms were excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KootenayGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
What a nice review about how large and quite our rooms are. It's wonderful to hear that our staff were friendly and you enjoyed our "excellent" buffet breakfast. The next time you come to stay be sure to visit Cross Iron Mills shopping centre with over 200 outlets, including Bass Pro Shop, and is less than a 10 minute drive north of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Valley, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We booked late November for two nights New Years Eve and January 1. We checked in on New Years Eve (4:30) as we had a birthday day/New Years eve party and thought that getting a taxi might be a problem but the young lady at the front desk arranged it for us (thanks again). The hotel overall were very clean (as it was slushy wet the front lobby was being continually washed) While we waited for the cab we had drinks and appetizers in the lounge (good) and the staff were very courteous and very friendly. The room was large and very nicely laid out. The breakfast had everything from fresh fruit to on the spot order omelets. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends. If you want to go downtown or the Zoo I would recommend the park and ride C-Train (McKnight/Westwinds)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWB1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Happy New Year and thank you for your review and comments about our hotel. It's great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit with us and will be reccommending our hotel to friends and family. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babb, Montana, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and check-in was seamless. The room was well appointed and clean. The free breakfast had ample choices as well as a hot, cooked to order omelette bar with friendly staff cooking your personal order right in front of you. Check-out was smooth and the staff friendly. Great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank DOUG F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and comments. We really appreciate your feedback about how much you enjoyed our friendly staff, extensive breakfast and well appointed rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level 6 Contributor
530 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This was my second stay at the BW Premier Freeport Inn & Suites. Though my stay was short as I was doing an overnight connection over Calgary, I was once again reminded of how terrific this hotel is. Nice and close to YYC; timely arrival of shuttle after dialing for pick up at Island 10 in the shuttle area of YYC. Clean, modern look. Warm comfortable lobby and breakfast area. Rooms are very comfortable. Staff have that warm Calgary friendliness that makes you feel a member of the family rather than just another guest.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perseverance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
It is so nice to hear your comments and I especially love to hear that our staff made you feel like one of the family with our "warm Calgary friendliness." Thank you for taking the time to post your review and comments. I hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Homewood Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
657 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Address: 86 Freeport Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 5J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#1 Family Hotel in Calgary
#2 Green Hotel in Calgary
#7 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn And Suites
Best Western Premier Freeport Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing