We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$89
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$89
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$77
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/12/21
Expedia.comUS$89
Hotels.comUS$89
FindHotelUS$89
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,910)
Filter reviews
1,910 results
Traveller rating
1,310
470
78
32
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,310
470
78
32
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews best westerns free breakfast king suite shuttle service industrial area great stay front desk staff excellent hotel definitely stay here again rental car hotel restaurant comfortable beds hot tub fireplace dealership microwave lounge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 1,910 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2019 via mobile


It’s just like any other airport hotel
Price ($180)was reasonable when we stayed but not cheap either
It’s a short drive from the airport but about 30 mins away by car from the city
Call the hotel when u arrive at Calgary airport and they can arrange a shuttle bus to pick u up
And they can arrange for the shuttle to the airport too
We had this most friendly and helpful driver both ways. Real nice fella

Rooms are decent - enough space to fit 3 persons and 5 pieces of luggages
Clean and well maintained

However they don’t provide breakfast for our package
That will cost me additional about $9 per person
To me , that’s a negative, considering there is nothing much nearby and not convenient if u don’t have a car. And for this rate, they can’t throw the breakfast in.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Casper65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2019

Hello Casper,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and providing feedback regarding the breakfast concerns.

We are now offering 2 different rates, one with a breakfast offered inclusive and one separate. The rate with the breakfast inclusion is similar to last years rates, while the rate which does not include breakfast is a lesser room rate than same time last year. We wanted to be able to provide choice for our clients, as some expressed their discomfort paying for a breakfast they may not take part in. Should you want to have the same breakfast included, please book the bed and breakfast package rate, which will include it in the stay as per previous experiences.

I hope that this clarification allows you to return, so we can offer a superior guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2019

Physically, this is a nice property. The food in the restaurant is actually very good - an unexpected thing for a mid line hotel. The beds are nice. The staff is friendly. But...the little annoyances really get in the way. We stayed here on two separate Friday nights flying into and out of Calgary with a week in the Rockies in between.

The clock is a mystery to make work. Apparently the maids can't set the time because it was wrong on the two different days we stayed. I called the desk to get help. "We'll be up to fix it." 45 minutes later when we were tucked into bed, the desk calls..."Do you still want us to fix the clock?" What do you think? No! The next time we stayed, I asked the desk clerk how to set the hour and minutes. You do it with turn wheels that aren't labeled and look like decorations. They don't work anyway. I tried. Unplugging works best. Bring your own clock.

Our restaurant staff server did not understand that "Fish and Chips" as a meal include the chips and you are still entitled to an additional salad with the meal, or more chips for that matter. No convincing her. She was going to charge extra for the salad we ordered, but must have thought better of it. Should a guest really have to debate the menu with a server -- and worse, be right?

We were treated on the first night to a round of soccer ball bouncing above us that went on until the wee hours. We discovered at checkout that they get young soccer teams staying there on the weekends. We could have called the front desk, but neither of us wanted to wake the other who we thought was sleeping. Moral, avoid the weekends.

Stay on the fourth floor and you can hear the planes taking off. Not too bad and certainly beats soccer ball bouncing.

The refrigerator on our second stay emitted a very high pitched sound. No jiggling the unit would stop it. The solution -- like the clock -- unplug it.

It's not easy to get the room temp where you want it. C'est la vie.

I used the business center to print our boarding passes for our departure -- that is, I tried to. They have two computers and one printer. I picked computer #2, logged into United, got the passes set up and went to print them --- surprise! The printer software is not installed on computer #2. Got the desk clerk to try to help. Solution -- use computer #1 and repeat the process at United on it. Computer #1 does print on the printer. Good grief!

The front desk messed up our second visit checkout. We had complementary breakfast coupons because of issues on the first stay. The restaurant server took them and clipped them to the receipt. The desk clerk couldn't get the charge card to work to cover our dinners. When he did, he added two breakfasts to the bill and had to undo that error.

In short, the place is well kept and friendly, but poorly run. There are many places to choose from and this one is in a fairly remote location by the airport. I'd strongly suggest looking for an alternative.

Room tip: Top floor you hear planes. Lower floor and you can get noise above you. Good luck.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MrTopDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Office Ma... B, Front Office Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2019

Death by 1000 pin pricks! Our sincere apologies for the abundance of issues you experienced during your stays at our property, Mr Dawg :). Thanks for at least taking the time to fully document them as there's no better way for us to be made aware of our guest's experiences and go about improving them. Many of the more "technology" related issues are on the road to repair as we speak. Our older clock radios which were cutting edge and cool and able to dock with an Iphone 3 (the future is now!) when they were first purchased in 2011 at the hotel's opening are now being phased out for much more user (and staff) friendly versions, our business centre is being updated with wireless printing for guest ease of use and i;ve got the maintenance team doing tune ups and check on all our in room fridges and HVAC units to ensure they're operating smooth and quiet for our future guests.

Sorry to hear about your dining experience and I totally agree that a meal literally labeled as "FIsh and Chips" should not consider the chips to be the free side dish included with the entree.

As to tour and sports groups, we are a VERY popular location for such events due to the pool / waterslide combo we have on site but we encourage all our guests to never be bashful or feel guilty about informing the desk of overly exuberant neighbours. We have all of our teams sign conduct forms that explicitly state our quiet time being enforced from 10pm until 7am and aren't shy about providing reminders and warnings to coaches and team leaders as needed. We of course always want to make sure that ALL of our guests have a relaxing and quiet time during their stays regardless of what their primary purpose for visiting is.

Again thanks for the detailed response and we hope to see you again the next time you're through town to show off some of the improvements we'll be making as a direct result of your comments.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2019

This is definitely my favourite place to stay in Calgary. The staff are amazingly helpful and friendly. When I mentioned, at check-in, that we were visiting for our anniversary we were automatically upgraded to the king suite with a fireplace. What a lovely treat. The breakfast continues to be amazing even though they now charge for it. Wondering if "frequent" guest could get a bit of a discount though. They did mention, when I checked, that they might be adding new menu items to the breakfast for the $8.99/person but I didn't notice anything new. Also think it might be worth considering a price per room for the breakfast - when I come back with my 4 daughters $8.99 per person may be a little steep for us, considering there are a couple of Tim Hortons close by for brekkie. Just a thought.

Room tip: Views out the back and not as pleasant - views out the front are the parking lot.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dramaguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2019

Hello dramaguys,

Thank you for a detailed, generous review of your experience at our hotel. Your kind comments regarding our staffs attitude and attention to detail are much appreciated. Happy belated Anniversary, I hope that everything went perfectly for you both; thank you for mentioning your satisfaction with the King Suite.

We are now offering 2 different rates, one with a breakfast offered inclusive and one separate. The rate with the breakfast inclusion is similar to last years rates, while the rate which does not include breakfast is a lesser room rate than same time last year, with breakfast optional at $8.99 per person. We wanted to be able to provide choice for our clients, as some expressed their discomfort paying for a breakfast they may not take part in. Should you want to have the same breakfast included, please book the bed and breakfast package.

We look forward to welcoming you back with your wife, or wife and daughters in the future. Take care and safe travels until we are able to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2019

The staff are warm and friendly and recognize your return. The hotel is modern and clean and breakfast offers more options than you would expect. Close to the airport. More important the beds are comfortable and I sleep 75 nights a year on the road. I am a repeat customer staying their monthly for the past 4 years.......and the same employees....that says something...doesn't it .?

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2019

Hello Scott J,

Thank you for such a generous review and perfect score to compliment it. We are grateful that you have chosen our hotel on the road and continue to visit us when you need a reliable property in the Calgary Area. We are always excited to see returning guests/familiar faces with our longstanding staff. Thank you for your time, safe travels until we are able to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2019

Nothing excellent as they claim .Average hotel starting to show signs of dating
Squeaky lifts
Very dark rooms
Not so clean carpets
Will not be coming for a repeat visit as there are much better options near airport
Check in took awfully long

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank sp s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western Premier Freeport Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2019

Hello sp s,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are constantly assessing and updating the hotel as necessary for guest comfort and safety. Should there be a concern in house, please let us know and we would be happy to follow up immediately. We are sorry to hear that you will not return to our property. We would have loved the opportunity to make it right. Take care and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews