We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for those just in from the airport...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tending Gardens Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 60 Calgary B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We arrived bleary-eyed from the airport, driving through some fairly unmemorable suburbs, and it was the perfect B&B for our weary heads and bodies! We stayed in a room with, as you can see from some of the photos, the rustic four-poster made with authentic branches/leaves, with fridge, fan, en suite, library and seating area. I imagine the little stove heater is lovely in winter, but it wasn't necessary in August. The little porch area just outside the room is excellent in the evening; the garden kept by Teena is beautiful and does a lot to distract from the more plain suburbia surrounding the house. The location is great for the airport or the highways. The breakfast was perhaps the best we had during our three weeks in Canada- pineapple with chocolate sauce and pistachios, followed by egg souffle with toast and homemade jam - though I get the feeling Teena has more wonderful creations up her sleeve... Teena also knows the importance of a proper cup of tea for those Brits who may have found Canada's approach to the beverage as, shall we say, 'inconsistent'. Definitely a business worth supporting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRP_Penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

What an escape from the hubbub of city life! This little nook has been lovingly crafted by artistic Teena and Al. When we entered we realized we had found the right stopover near the airport . We had a suite which contained a bed decorated with twigs and small branches. There was even a nesting box in the branches! We had a bathtub with many choices of lotions, soaps and an intimate feel to the room. Lying there was heaven after being out and about.
In a separate room was the toilet and wash hand basin, old style too.
We had the means to make ourselves drinks, even a sandwich toaster! Everywhere there were objects of age and beauty. I saw an old sewing machine, two old sledges on the wall.
Food and conversation were highlights. Each morning Teena produced 2 courses of food. We had soufflés and a yoghurt nut mix on the second day. Then followed a hot course of savoury crepes filled with chopped beetroot and broccoli.
We enjoyed talking and discussed our lives. Wonderful company and kindred spirits.
Al provided us with onward maps fr travel and chatted too with us.
The garden around the house was beautiful, restful with running water and many flowering plants and some trees shaded us from the heat.
We were fortunate to land here and would recommend this wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely with a view of the garden. Quiet at nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarva14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The welcome was very warm at Tending Gardens and we were looked after as well as this led us to expect. The bed in our room was a work of art, quite unlike any we had previously seen; the ambience of the garden (clearly as tended as the name of the B+B suggests) as we sat on the porch, was delightfully relaxing after a long, hot day; Teena's breakfast was the equal of everything else. Altogether we would recommend Tending Gardens highly.

Room Tip: The Garden Room is nearly a tourist attraction in itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdrianP225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Tending Gardens B&B immensely! The decor is fun and interesting with all kinds of nooks and crannies filled with clever details. The bed itself is a work of art. Teena, the hostess, told me that it was hand built just for the room. It fits the overall theme of the B&B perfectly. The backyard is ridiculous. A pond, a hot tub, and an outdoor fireplace, all set in a beautiful garden- there are flowers everywhere!! The location itself is a bit odd being in the middle of the city, but once you are there it is a complete nonfactor. The B&B is situated close to the airport and there is easy access to the highway on the way out to the Rocky Mountains.

The breakfasts were unparalleled. The pancakes are made from scratch. I have never had one as good before or since. The bacon was thick cut directly from the farmer's market and the chicken sausage on day 2 was every bit as delicious. The fruit and yogurt parfait that accompanied the main course was also amazing. The coffee was delicious, hot and fresh every morning which is important for an afficiando like myself.

Teena and Al are the best part of the entire stay. They are warm, inviting, and easy to talk to. Also, Al was super helpful with suggestions about things to see and do. Teena's grandson was also there one of the days we happened to be there and was every bit as amazing. He sat down and ate with us at our request and provided us with smiles and entertainment- what a character!!

Overall, this was one of the very best travel experiences we have ever had. Good food, great people. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucky_slevin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The owners were very sweet, friendly and helpful. Teena put a lot of care into making a delicious gourmet home made breakfast. The room was clean and pretty, and the private back yard had a beautiful garden and small pond with waterfall. To help other travelers know what to expect, while driving there I was uncomfortable with the homes and neighborhood on the street just prior to the block that this B & B sits on. To me, the neighborhood appeared run down and a bit rough. The B & B is in a residential neighborhood surrounded by houses. The block it sits on appeared OK. The B & B has large trees and privacy fences, so when you're on the property, it's like a little oasis. I enjoyed my stay, it was quiet and I had a good night's sleep and wonderful breakfast. The breakfast is served at a small table in the owner's attached home and we were seated with another couple. It's a small B & B, so the night before breakfast, Teena coordinated with us & the other couple staying there on what time we wanted breakfast. Since I was used to staying in larger B & B's, I was used to having a window of time in which to eat, and sometimes, separate tables. I think as long as you're aware of these things, you can have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuniperSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is a very unusual bed and breakfast in a comfy bedroom which is almost like being in a museum as so many intresting items dotted around the room. The bed is surrounded by willow branches.

Teena and Al were so friendly and we felt like part of the family as we all had breakfast together on our final day. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and not the normal egg and bacon - was a great surprise.

There was a lovely outdoor patio area but unfortunately we had torrential rain whilst there so could not make use of this. Teena suggested places to go due to the inclement weather. A very pleasant stay on our first two nights in Canada.

Tending gardens is fairly close to the airport so a good place to stay after a long flight. Our sat nav took us directly there but without this it might have been difficult to find.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindyLou105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We highly recommend Tending Gardens B & B when you visit to Calgary! Teena & Al are warm, lovely people who made us feel right at home. The cottage is cozy, bright, & comfortable and leads out to a lawn, garden, & an amazing outdoor fireplace where you are welcome to sit and relax after a day of sightseeing. The breakfast was outstanding and talking to Teena & Al felt like chatting with old friends. We look forward to a return visit next time we're in town!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jschless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Mission
Calgary Westways Guest House
Hillurst
River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Along River Ridge
Along River Ridge
#5 of 60 in Calgary
116 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Cozy Nest Bed and Breakfast
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tending Gardens Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tending Gardens Bed and Breakfast

Address: 144 Castledale Way NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 2A2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range: £73 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tending Gardens Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing