We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay at the Wingate Calgary South”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    144
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
161
71
14
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Wingate was only for one night. Upon arriving at our room I was disappointed we weren't staying longer as I think we were upgraded to a studio/apartment set up with a huge lounge room in one area, a king bed in the bedroom and a spa bath in the spacious bathroom. After being in a smaller hotel in another city for 4 nights, it was wonderful to have some room. The crib I requested when booking wasn't provided initially but this was attended to and rectified promptly by the lovely lady on reception when we checked in. Breakfast options were good. Housekeeping staff were extremely friendly and they all greeted us on our way to breakfast. Unfortunately we didn't have the chance to use the water slide and pool - we checked in after 8pm and didn't leave our room until right on check out at 11am because of ongoing car rental issues. I did ask whether we could still use the pool facilities after check out and was told our keys no longer work after check out, so no. I understand the keys would be deactivated but thought you could arrange a day/visitor's pass for guests who want to enjoy your facilities after they vacate their room? A disappointing end to a good stay and we sadly left immediately for our next destination instead. Also wouldn't recommend the general location if only staying one night on a holiday - it seemed a fair distance away from everything else.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you Lou J for taking the time to review our hotel- I am sorry that you were not able to use all of our facilities and give us more feedback. I was glad to see that you were upgraded into one of our suites and I hope that you took some time for a long soak in your jacuzzi. I look forward to your return to our area and another trip to the hotel where you can try all that we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

i recently stayed at the Wingate as I was having eye surgery in a nearby clinic. Prior to checking in I stopped at the front desk to see if i could check in early following my surgery, around 12:45-1:00pm and the friendly lady at the desk was very accommodating. I found this very helpful, We found the property to be very clean and our room was perfect. Any interaction with the staff was great and all were friendly. Everything in the room worked and the beds were comfortable. Although no one was using the pool, the pool area was clean, as well as the water. The fitness room likewise was clean. I will be back for further surgery and will again stay at this Hotel.

Room Tip: Hotel is located at the far south end of calgary. If this place was more central to downtown we woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you Robert P for your kinds words. It is comments such as yours that help us to confirm the dedication from our team to delivering exceptional service and product to each of our guests. I am glad that we will be able to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked the "taste of the west" experience and although a little pricey it was well worth the expense. The room was huge with a separate bedroom and king bed. It was very clean and a very inviting atmosphere. A little worried about noise but proved not to be a concern. If all the other rooms were as clean and spacious as ours, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others. I commend the staff on keeping this hotel clean and tidy. The only thing that was a disappointment was the water pressure and size of the tub/shower combination. Check in took a little longer than necessary as front desk clerk could not reach housekeeping to verify our room was ready, so she went to check herself. (very nice) It is a little difficult to find at first, as only a small sign indicates where to turn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you Keith D for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. My apologies for the delay in check in as this truly is not our standard. I am glad to see additional comments about your experience as we take all guest concerns and try to find solutions for the best guest experiences possible. All of our rooms are larger than most hotels and we receive great feedback in this area on a regular basis We are fortunate to have a great housekeeping team helping us to keep them in tip top shape. I look forward to being your hotel of choice in the Calgary area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinbach
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Nice clean property, friendly service, very good breakfast included.
Had a problem with our room keys not working when we returned later in the evening after our initial checkin. Ended up the batteries on the lock went dead. It was fixed as quickly as it could be but it did take almost an hour from start to finish. It would have been nice to have a small compensation for that especially given we didn't realize when we got our room quote that there was a higher room price for a week day versus a weekend. Had we realized that when the booking was done we may have amended our # of nights.
Noisy neighbours woke us up at 2:30 am but after a short while they were quietened down by I assume the front desk. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you Globetrotter034 for your comments. We have been able to use these comments for more training on our new lock system to ensure faster repair times in the future. My apologies that you were inconvenienced during your stay. Our team strives to make each guest stay as trouble free as possible and I welcome you to stay with us again for just that experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#45 of 109 in Calgary
533 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#29 of 109 in Calgary
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Blackfoot
#21 of 109 in Calgary
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South
Address: 400 Midpark Way SE, Calgary, Alberta T2X 3S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Calgary
#15 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#18 Family Hotel in Calgary
#18 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business is what we do best at the Wingate by Wyndham Calgary. Use our 24-hour business center to fax, photocopy and use the net - all free of charge. You can also surf the net in your guest room with our free high speed internet access. Relax & relieve stress after a long day by working out in our fitness centre, swim in the pool, and finish off by relaxing in the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Calgary Hotel Calgary
Wingate Calgary Hotel
Calgary Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing