We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Wingate in Calgary is an exceptional hotel. All the...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    137
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
154
68
14
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great choice for a stopover on our way to ski at Fernie, BC. Half hour drive from the airport.we arrived at midnight and were greeted by a very friendly night manager, Kurt. He upgraded us to a lovely suite. Breakfast was included and was ample , egg wraps, waffles, fruit -delicious! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominique7339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you Dominique7339 for your kind words. I am glad to see that you found our hotel friendly and comfortable for your short visit. It is great to get feedback from guests that are experiencing our hotel for the first time as this helps to give us a new perspective from each visitor. I look forward to being of service to you again and hope that you found some great skiing in Fernie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stay at this hotel 4-5 Days a week and have been coming back to the same hotel for the last 5 Years, the Staff are excellent! the rooms are Big and Clean, the whole expeirence has been good. They could add some different breakfast selections to thier Menu and Update some of the Fitness Equipment. That's my only suggestion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Cory V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you Cory V for taking the time to pass along your feedback on our hotel. It is great to get such candid comments from regular guests. I would invite you to stop by the desk on your next visit with any ideas you may have to improve our breakfast experience. Thank you for choosing our hotel as your "home away from home" . I hope to be of service to you in the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

From the time the very pleasant and helpful front desk staff greeted us, to arranging to quickly get a room as we arrived early, to opening the door of our room, we knew we made the right choice. Clean and very well appointed room. Best bed we have ever slept in. Did I mention the very clean room? Good location. Took only 15 min to get to Chinook Mall. Fitness room and pool with water slide. What's missing? Oh, wonderful complimentary breakfast! This place has it all. We are coming back and will be telling others.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you AlextheScot for taking the time to post your comments about our hotel. It is comments such as yours that help us to confirm the dedication from our team to delivering a great guest experience. I look forward to delivering the same service for each of your subsequent visits. Thank you for making our property your hotel of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is a nice hotel as far as the amenities, location, size of room, cleaniness of room, service of staff, free parking, free wi-fi and the complimentary breakfast -- all of those things were great, yet a few things made the stay uncomfortable for us. The bed in the room that we stayed in was very uncomfortable, I do have back problems so the softness of the bed was a problem for me -- for most people, they would probably love it. The second problem was the temperature in the room, it was almost as if the air conditioning was on constantly, we adjusted the thermostat up as far as it would could, yet it would get only marginally warmer - although the thermostat read 28 C. I like a cold room when I sleep, yet this was too cold and there were no spare blankets in the room. I realize that it's partially my fault for not contacting the staff to either fix the problem or move us to another room, yet because of the emotional nature of our trip to calgary and not thinking clearly, unfortunately the thought didn't even enter my head till after we left. Noise from the room above was a bit of a problem, yet probably wouldn't have been so noticable if I was sleeping comfortably.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msjobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you msjobee for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you had many positives during your stay and would like to reassure you that any negatives would have been happily addressed immediately when brought to our attention. I hope that you will be able to experience our hotel another time when you have time to relax and enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#29 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#40 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Hotel Blackfoot
#23 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South
Address: 400 Midpark Way SE, Calgary, Alberta T2X 3S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Calgary
#15 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#18 Business Hotel in Calgary
#18 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business is what we do best at the Wingate by Wyndham Calgary. Use our 24-hour business center to fax, photocopy and use the net - all free of charge. You can also surf the net in your guest room with our free high speed internet access. Relax & relieve stress after a long day by working out in our fitness centre, swim in the pool, and finish off by relaxing in the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Calgary Hotel Calgary
Wingate Calgary Hotel
Calgary Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing