We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine hotel in this category”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for five nights because I attended an event at the hotel. The front desk staff were courteous and efficient. Our room, with a king, was spacious and clean. The bathroom was also clean and the shower had a curved curtain rod for more space. The complimentary breakfast food had an average selection of decent quality. The breakfast area was not small, but it could get crowded. The hotel is within walking distance of a mall, but the walk involves crossing busy highways; using a car is simpler.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtrodgers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you mtrodgers99 for your kind words. I am glad to see that our property met all of your needs during your stay. We are proud of both our team and our product and work very hard to ensure we are updating and improving regularily. I look forward to being of service to you on your next visit to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel is in a fairly poor location if you want to do anything in the downtown area. Macleod Trail is a huge pain in the butt and the drive is easily an hour round trip. The hotel itself is weird to get to, having to take a road through a community. That being said, being on a main route is nice as it makes navigation easier.

My check-in experience was decidedly below average. The front desk attendant, Ronaldo, was not very pleasant and did not make us feel welcome; in fact, quite the opposite. If we hadn't been there for a wedding, we would have left. Thankfully, that was the last we'd see of Ronaldo for the weekend.

The hotel is very clean and the room was no exception. My only gripe was with the paper cups, it's just kind of cheap. The room had nice high ceilings and a huge comfy bed with infinite pillows. The thermostat wouldn't let you go below 18 or above 24 which was annoying and although the a/c was working, the room never stayed comfortably cool (despite the lack of sunshine). The hallway heaters were pumping full throttle all the time which meant that it was significantly warmer near the door than by the bed so the system was always running.

The continental breakfast was nice, though heavy on the carbs. All toast, cereal, and waffles. Some fruit and make your own breakfast sandwiches. Honestly, it was much better than anticipated. The cheese scone/biscuit things were awesome.

The regular rate was pretty good but we got a group discount, making the hotel very attractive rate-wise. Though value is more than just the lowest price and on that count, this hotel wasn't in the big leagues.

I thought it was a perfectly serviceable hotel and definitely better than most chain brands. If Ronaldo at the front desk hadn't been so unpleasant, my overall impression might have been better. I can't say I'd ever stay here again (I like luxury hotels) though I would recommend it to anyone needing a place on the south end as it is pretty nice and the price is right, just avoid Ronaldo...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TotallyMyRealName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you TotallyMyRealName for taking the time to write such an extensive review on our property. We can take a lot back to the team for discussion. I am sorry that you found your check in to be less than satisfactory, however, I am pleased to hear that the balance of your stay was good. Although we are not a luxury hotel, it is our goal to provide service and product that goes above and beyond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed there for the whole month during my assignment in Calgary due to work and it is a great option to stay in Calgary. The staff is very friendly, the hotel is in great conditions and stayed 2 different rooms (1 King and 1 with 2 queens) and is really good. The beds, pillows and duvet are very comfortable, the air conditioner system is not noisy, the room has a Flat Screen TV with a good selection of channels, the wifi is very fast and the washroom was is great conditions every day. Is on the south of the city so it is a little far from downtown but there is a Train station close to the hotel. I definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: High floor rooms are better, my room on the main floor had a projector light from the outside that s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaimeborjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you jaimeborjas for your kind words. It is important to us to ensure each guest has a memorable experience and has all of the comforts of home. Thank you for your feed back on our lighting- we are in the final stages of our install and feedback like this ensures that we address all of our guest concerns. I look forward to being of service to you on your next assignment in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Cleanest hotel EVER. Room was beautiful, pool area was great. Breakfast was very good. Our only issue was that the beds were very, very soft. I am ill, and woke up very sore each morning. Front desk staff offered another room, but the beds are all the same. If I could have found a decent sleep, would have been perfect review.

Room Tip: The suites are worth every penny - very nicely laid out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you very much Shannon W for taking the time to post your comments. I appreciate the feedback on our beds. We have recently replaced them all so comments like this are welcomed. I am glad that you enjoyed the other aspects of our property such as our breakfast and pool area. We are very proud of our housekeeping team and I have passed along your positive feedback to them. I look forward to being able to be of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great place, very clean and service at the front desk was exceptional! Decided to check in for the night being all the out of town guest were staying there. Breakfast buffet was way more than I expected. Great pool and slide for the kids. Definately recommend for families.

Room Tip: Top floor less noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oneshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you Oneshort for your great comments. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the family was able to experience our pool and waterslide area. We like to cater to all types of travellers and comments such as yours let us know that we are working in the right direction. I hope to host your next reunion and look forward to becoming your familiy's hotel of choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#44 of 109 in Calgary
546 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Wingate by Wyndham Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Deerfoot Inn and Casino
#36 of 109 in Calgary
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South

Address: 400 Midpark Way SE, Calgary, Alberta T2X 3S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Calgary
#15 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#18 Family Hotel in Calgary
#18 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £87 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business is what we do best at the Wingate by Wyndham Calgary. Use our 24-hour business center to fax, photocopy and use the net - all free of charge. You can also surf the net in your guest room with our free high speed internet access. Relax & relieve stress after a long day by working out in our fitness centre, swim in the pool, and finish off by relaxing in the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Calgary Hotel Calgary
Wingate Calgary Hotel
Calgary Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing