We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South
Ranked #33 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This is a pretty good hotel, can't really fault it, definitely better than average. Only thing that didn't work properly was the clock/radio in the room. Beds were okay but nothing special. But it's clean, the breakfast was good and the staff were pretty good too. Location is the only thing that some people probably wouldn't like, it's in a residential area and located next to the South Calgary Health Centre and across from Shawnessy shopping centre. The fire station and police station are next door. So everything is to hand but it's not really a tourist hotspot.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMKnoll, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2010

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. You are correct in saying we are not a tourist hotspot! Many of our guests like our close proximity to the offices in the area. We are also close to Spruce Meadows, home to world class show jumping and are in close proximity to the Calgary Stampede grounds and Scotiabank Saddledome.

Our maintenance staff has been notified of the clock radio not working and have made sure they are all in working order.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

My daughter and I tagged along with husband while he was on business for the oil show. I must say that my 9 yr old LOVED the hotel. They have a 3 story waterslide that is extremely fast and fun. There is a good workout room with a nice big HDTV with cable. I enjoyed working out as I have found that not all hotels put big tv's with cable in their exercise rooms. The rooms were spacious and clean and the staff was extremely friendly and curtious. On Wednesdays during the school year ONLY they serve a complimentary dinner. The week we were there they had hamburgers etc. They were also giving away door prizes. I thought it was a little odd and I asked what it was for but the manager stated that they do it every Wednesday excluding the summer months (the 1st week in June is when we were there and it was going to be their last event until the end of summer). Their continental breakfast is very good as well. Overall if we return to Calgary with him on business I dont think he will get out of staying here again. As far as reservations are concerned the hotel stated that they were fully booked when we called but we went through one of the discount reservation sites and booked it through them and they had a room for us when we arrived, odd again, but oh well. I recommend this hotel especially if you have young ones!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMKnoll, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2010

Thank you for your very kind words about our hotel. We strive to provide not only a good place for business travelers but a fun place for the families that travel with them!

We are glad you were able to be here for something we call Wingate Wednesday. This is when we invite all guests down to have a drink and a snack and meet our managers and the other guests in the hotel. This is our way to meet our guests and to say thank you.

We look forward to seeing you again during the petroleum show next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights with my toddler while visiting family. The room was attractive and very clean (sheets, carpet, bathroom). The people at the front desk were helpful and friendly. My daughter loved their pool and waterslide. The free breakfast was tasty and fresh. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennylark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMKnoll, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2010

Thank you for providing such a lovely review. We are pleased to continually hear good reviews from the families that stay with us. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Just a quick trip to Calgary from Sask for a Firefighting interview. Staff at the from desk were always smiling and quickly anwered all our questions. The lady in charge of the breakfast went above and beyond what she is paid to do. She cared!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank angSaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

I booked my room on the hotel website and recieved and printed off my confirmation, but when my family and I arrived at the hotel there was no record of my reservation at the front desk. The staff was very helpful, but admitted that if you book online you should always contact the hotel directly an hour or so later to confirm that they recieved the reservation. Apparently there has been regular problems with the system. Luckily they were able to locate us a room but the kids had to share a hide-a-bed, which would not have been a big deal except the bed was torn out at the end and the matress hung through the frame to the floor. Since there was no other room, we put up with it, and did not recieve a discount. The waterslide is fun but the pool is very small and the jets did not work in the hot tub. Breakfast was very good, and the room was overall clean, warm, and quiet. This hotel is out of the way and is a $60 taxi ride from the airport, and they did not offer any shuttle service to cover this.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Just-a-good-sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

I was impressed by the staff at this hotel. There was always a smiling face at the desk to help and the staff went to great lengths to accommodate us. I was there with 7 other people and we all had a great experience with this hotel. I wouldn't call it a luxurious hotel - the decor is quite dated and there is nothing romantic about the hotel but if you are staying for business or just visiting friends from Calgary (which we were) then it's a convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovehotels84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

Overall a solid hotel, rooms are a little older but extremely big and spacious. Service is great and there is tons of restaurant around the area. Restaurnat adjcent on the parking lot is not recommended. Free breakfast in the morning is a pretty good spread, free printing in the business center, free internet access = great for business traveler.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Clamp535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Hotel Blackfoot
#20 of 110 in Calgary
548 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#45 of 110 in Calgary
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Wingate by Wyndham Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South

Address: 400 Midpark Way SE, Calgary, Alberta T2X 3S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Calgary
#15 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#15 Family Hotel in Calgary
#18 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £81 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business is what we do best at the Wingate by Wyndham Calgary. Use our 24-hour business center to fax, photocopy and use the net - all free of charge. You can also surf the net in your guest room with our free high speed internet access. Relax & relieve stress after a long day by working out in our fitness centre, swim in the pool, and finish off by relaxing in the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Calgary Hotel Calgary
Wingate Calgary Hotel
Calgary Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing