We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The British Chippy

The British Chippy
Ranked #362 of 3,490 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Southwest Calgary
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Interesting!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

Interesting place the fish and chips are great, the pies are pretty good to dont think there homemade but that's fine still pretty good. The fish and chips where crispy and they salt nothing leave it to u with is nice a huge selection of pop from around the world witch is neat... This place went from me and my wife sitting in here to almost full in 30 min another good sign this place should be given a try..

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gvd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Freshtastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Everyone knows that fresh fish shouldn't smell fishy, but that's exactly what many 'seafood' restaurants smell like. The British Chippy is NOT a seafood restaurant it is a proper British Chip Shop. The decor is basic, but the food and service are excellent.

1) Fish: 10 out of 10. My Haddock was fresh, flaky, and a good sized portion.
2) Chips: 10 out of 10. They were cut British-style, which is to say, fat and double-fried. They use local organic potatoes.
3) Mushy Peas: 10 out of 10. No colour, no preservatives, little salt, and perfectly textured.
4) Batter: 8 out of 10. It was thin and crispy, but I prefer my batter to be thick and crispy, just a personal taste.

Will definitely return to the British Chippy, with any luck, they'll build a few more around Calgary.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrittyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A true british chippy :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

First fish and chip place that offers a chip butty !! ( fries on a buttered bread bun ) a true English meal ....portions where big and the meat pies had the best pastry.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cocowarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Brits know it's the only REAL fish n' chip shop in Calgary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

This chippy is a hidden gem for those of us seeking an authenic British chippy experience. The quality of the food is top notch, served perfectly as both eat in or take out. Always packed full of expats enjoying the atmosphere of a real chippy.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Withingmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish and Chips - very busy on a Saturday night.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Five of us went to the British Chippy on a cold Saturday night around 6 pm. The place was packed! We waited to get a table which took longer than the server expected so she took our order while waiting. We received our meal shortly after we got our table. The haddock and the cod were both great. The chips were excellent! ($12.50 for cod and chips and $13.50 for haddock and chips). Sides of mushy peas and coleslaw were also good. You can get British beer and pop. Highly recommend the restaurant but it is small so be prepared to wait a bit or order take out before you go.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank timetraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The British Chippy also viewed

 

Been to The British Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing