We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfort food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Babylon Qithara

Babylon Qithara
Ranked #1,861 of 3,512 Restaurants in Calgary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Calgary
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“comfort food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We were looking for a quick bite one day after shopping in the area and a co-worker had told me about this place. It fit the bill as is located in a strip mall near the movie theatre (easy parking) and included foods that appealed to the meat eater (him) and the veggie eater (me). We have been back many times as the food hits the spot The food is good - it tastes fresh and the service is always great . They have let us substitute items of similar value (odd to me that this can be a big deal in some places) as I like more falafel and he likes more grape leaves. Portions are large and we take our twenty something sons, when in town for a break from their studies , and need some good food and plenty of it for a reasonable price (the chicken)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magnoliad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent chicken shawarma”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I don't know if it was because I just came out of the gym or what but there was a very pleasant smell in the mall. After looking for the source, I find this place and I asked what was he cooking. He said the chicken and I immediately replied that I have to have it. It was very, very good.

Another time, a saturday in the early afternoon, I took my wife to try it out but it wasn't as sock-blowing as before. The lettuce looked old and it just wasn't as good as the other day. I want to think it was because the first time I had it everything was fresh since it was early in the morning. Will give it another shot some day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FelipeSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, shame the cleaner was on holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

The first impression on arriving at Babylon Qithara in the NE was very disappointing. I almost turned and left.
The décor is poor and unwelcoming and looked very 'grubby'.
Despite this, I sat and mistakenly tried to move my seat which was sticky with something unpleasant that necessitated me washing my hands immediately.
We were promptly given sticky menus and I chose not to put my forearms on the table.
I chose the special, arranged in 'point-point' style and decided on two dishes with rice. All of the meals presented looked fresh and appealing.
The food came in good time and was delicious. The portion was decent and the rice was properly cooked. The potato and chick pea dishes tasted excellent and I cleared my plate.
The food was so good I will consider going again but just running around with a cloth and hot soapy water would do wonders for this establishment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We had a wonderful family supper at Babylon. We all ordered the kebabs platters and my husband, who is a vegetarian, had falaffel. It was all excellent! The service was great and the food was plentiful and fresh. I would definitely go back to Babylon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst service I've ever experienced!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I had a bite of the food and it tasted awful so I asked if I could order something else and they said that I have to pay for both. And the were very rude about it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blob12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babylon Qithara also viewed

 

Been to Babylon Qithara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing