We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location; service and amenities not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Calgary Airport
Ranked #50 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed overnight on our way to Vancouver island. The hotel was just across the road from the airport, but the journey took 15 minutes due to road work. The room was nice, but they did not have the crib we requested when booking. Initially, they had no interest in trying to solve the problem; after some angry conversation they offered to upgrade us ( which wouldn't have done much good as we still needed a crib!). All ended well as our son was so tired from the journey that he crashed on the cushions we placed on the floor. If this was a different scenario, however, we would have been in trouble!
Lesson: do not assume that a request is going to be granted at this hotel !!
Otherwise, the room was nice and clean...

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank britcanuckusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Our plane was over five hours late arriving and we were unable to get the shuttle to the hotel (for reasons known only to the management, they shut the service down from 1:45 to 3:45 a.m.) and so spent $30 taking a taxi (not as close to the airport as I had hoped) so I was in a bad mood when I got there; however, the room was spotless and the bed comfortable (exactly as described) and a perfectly fine hot breakfast was included. Two towels in the bathroom only the next morning so it was a bit dicey getting my hair washed and I could have called down if I had noticed but it seemed a little light. I also thought the rate a little pricey but it was during Stampede so perhaps the rates are more affordable at other times. I also thought that the shuttle timing back to the airport was a little light - every hour only.
Here is the best part, though: my husband left his half of our vacation cash in the room (by accident) and didn't notice it until the next day in another city. I called back thinking there was no chance that the money (if he had indeed left it there) would still be there - it was cash and no identifiers. What a surprise to discover that the housekeeper had found it and turned it in! My thanks to the housekeeper and to the hotel. It would have been a very frugal vacation...their honesty was so appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Few in and out of Calgary on vacation. Called ahead and the front desk wisely had us contact them once we got through customs to ensure we got on the shuttle. The shuttle was quick and check-in was fast and efficient. We really liked Jeremiah at the front desk - not sure if that guy ever stops smiling! A great "welcome" to and "good bye" to the wonderful Canadian Rockies.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hotel_5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Residence inn and Marriott courtyard separated by a meeting center.
Very clean and well kept rooms. Hotel is new and training overall needs to
Be a priority. Communications at front desk could be better. Shuttle service
To airport needs to be more convent for guests not employees.

Stayed: July 2012
1  Thank rxplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Very new and modern decor! The breakfast that was included with our stay was excellent! They offer a free shuttle service to the airport which had excellent service.
Highly recommend this place if you need to be close to the airport in Calgary!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrScooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed at the Calgary Residence Inn for a second time- this time with family. We had a 2 bedroom suite which was perfect for us. Rooms are large and functional, only negative is I wish they had two beds in the second room not just the a king in one bedroom and a queen in the other. Breakfast is included and again excellent- only negative about this property is the location kind of far from everything. Other guests have mentioned the distance from the airport. From what I understand the RI would have been the closest hotel to the airport had the city of Calgary not decided to close the road for runway expansions..... which now makes getting to this hotel an ordeal. Anyway don't blame the hotel! Great new gym and swimming pool.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Since we were arriving into Calgary around 12:45 AM we thought we might have to take a cab to the hotel, but by contacting the hotel a day in advance we were given instructions on how to arrange for the shuttle upon arrival and the shuttle pick-up worked out perfectly. Everyone we dealt with was super-friendly and the room was fantastic. We loved the breakfast variety and the breakfast area was spacious and kept very clean. While we've generally had great experiences with Residence Inns, this hotel was one of the nicer ones. The one thing we weren't crazy about was the loudness of the HVAC system.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Courtyard by Marriott Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Homewood Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Northeast Calgary
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Calgary-Airport, AB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn by Hilton Calgary Airport North
Northeast Calgary
Wyndham Garden Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Calgary Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Calgary Airport

Address: 2530 48 Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 4V8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £78 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Calgary Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Calgary Airport features spacious guest rooms with fully equipped kitchens, free Internet, free hot breakfast, and comfortable bedding. Our Calgary airport hotel's amenities include a fitness center, indoor heated pool, and complimentary airport shuttle. Extended stays in Calgary have never been easier than at Residence Inn by Marriott Calgary Airport. We are a top choice for hotels near Calgary airport because we put you next to it all: TELUS Spark, CrossIron Mills, and more. Our Calgary airport hotel's services even includes personalized shopping! We will pick up your groceries for you. Just tell us what you need! On select nights at Residence Inn by Marriott Calgary Airport, guests can mingle and socialize at The Residence Inn Mix. Our hotel is pet friendly and we provide all guests with a rewarding experience in Calgary, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Calgary Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing