We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, new, lots of ammenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Calgary Airport
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Altamont, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“clean, new, lots of ammenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, separated by a week...the night of our arrival in Calgary and on the eve of our departure. Our departure was during the Stampede, so our room rate was triple what it was for the first night. However, the first night was a bargain. The hotel is side by side with a Residence Inn, and a large fitness center and beautiful, bigger-than-usual pool connects the 2 hotels. We have stayed in many Courtyards, and this one is nicer than any others. The bathroom has a lovely shower with heavy duty glass door. There is a dedicated computer/printer for those printing boarding passes, and about 4 other computers for guest use. The free shuttle to/from the airport is great..a little more time consuming than usual right now, due to a road closure. The Starbucks in the lobby was great for a quick breakfast. Only one minor complaint...could have had better communication between the front desk and us when they told Air Canada we hadn't checked out yet and to go ahead and send our delayed luggage, when in fact we HAD checked out. But I would definitely recommend this hotel. We also walked to Cactus Club Cafe both nights for a tasty dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    129
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
105
118
26
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. We had an issue after the first night. The staff was pretty helpful in dealing with it but after the second night we knew it was time to speak to management about it. A manager was contacted numerous times within our stay but apparently we weren't to much of a concern for them. We checked out and once again asked to talk to manager. We were once again told they were in a meeting. We finally got a very rude phone call left on answering machine from manager saying there was absolutely no way they would discount stay (which is not what we were looking for). So if you have an issue that can't be dealt with by staff then absolutely don't expect management to help. Really sad because the hotel is very nice but there are way to many hotels to choose from in calgary to waste our time at this one.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsC1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Calgary Airport, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for posting your comments. My apologies for your experience, the team obviously did not respond to you in a timely or an appropriate manner during your stay. I can understand how this would negatively impact your stay in the city and must have been frustrating to you. I see you stayed with us in May and would like to request the opportunity to speak with you directly to review your comments and the issues you encountered while staying at the hotel.
Please consider emailing me directly at cy.yycap.gm@marriott.com or call me directly 403 717 9400 so that I may speak with you directly regarding your stay. I appreciate you time.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
200 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

we booked to stay here for one night, based on the reviews it sounded like a good place to stay near the airport. Check in was good, the room ok, it was only when we asked for help on how to get transport to the downtown area that it all went wrong. The hotel is located in an area of factories - an industrial estate, unless you have a car you cannot leave, there are no footpaths and no public transport nearby. The hotel does not offer a shuttle or car service to the downtown area. We took a cab to the CTrain station to go in, and on the advice of the receptionist did the same to come back, we called the hotel as advised to ask them to get a cab to pick us up, a very unhelpful receptionist called Mandy refused to call the cab, it was 35 degrees and we are stranded at the station, I even call the hotel manager called Caitlin who says she doesn't know what to do and can't help us. When we get back to the hotel the manager stands and argues with us in reception, shouts at us and allows Mandy the other receptionist to also join the arguement. A very unpleasant experience only resolved when we call the general manager who apologises and deals with the reception staff, removing Mandy from reception. I will never stay in this hotel again, I won't stay in a Marriott Courtyard Hotel again either.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Calgary Airport, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to meet with me during your stay. I do apologize for your experience and I recognize that your experience was frustrating, less than satisfactory and took up much of your personal time. I have personally reviewed your issues with my team and we have accordingly provided additional staff training and implemented procedures that will avoid issues in the future when dealing with transportation between the hotel and the nearby train station. Our associates have embraced the additional training and the new procedures and regret the incident.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We had a problem while staying at this hotel, it was not dealt with well we asked to speak to the Duty Manager who was very patronising and unable to deal with things, she set up a very confrontational situation with the other members of staff in reception and we felt ganged up on by the staff. She cared more about not being overheard by other guests than about making sure out complaint was dealt with properly. In the end we had to call the General Manager to come and sort out the problem as she was unwilling to help, he very quickly apologised and resolved the issues - this whole thing took 2 hours out of our time simply because the reception staff were unwilling to accept that they had made a mistake.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Calgary Airport, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to speak with me about your experience and thank you for giving me the opportunity to apologize when you were here at the property. As you noted during our conversation, the property has receive positive comments regarding the quality of product and service at the property yet we failed to accomplish this for your stay. Based on your feedback I have reviewed the issues and I am confident that a similar situation will not occur in the future. We have accordingly provided additional staff training and adjusted procedures related to dealing with taxis and train service between the property and downtown locations.
I can appreciate your desire not to return to this property based on your experience while noting that the team here at the property strives on a daily basis to provide positive experiences on a daily basis as do all our properties. We appreciate your business and once again my apologies and thank you for the opportunity to speak with you directly when you were here at the property.
Regards, Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. For an airport hotel, I would say that the location, free parking, and free airport shuttle are excellent indispensables. We arrived early, and though we were told that no rooms were available when we called for the shuttle from the airport, by the time we set foot in the lobby half an hour later, there was a room waiting for us. The design of the lobby, the business amenities, the in house Starbucks cafe, a nice gym and pool on the property made us very excited for our choice in hotel. We were particularly impressed with the computer terminal and printer dedicated to travelers needing to print out their boarding passes. As for the room, the bed was comfy, and the glass shower was the only one that I'd ever used in my numerous hotel stays that kept water in, and we didn't end up with water all over the bathroom floor post-shower. Of course the free wi-fi helped us stay connected and the signal was robust in all areas of the hotel. Thank for such a comfortable and memorable stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Classybabe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on two seperate nights: one night on arrival to Calgary airport and the night prior to leaving. The hotel is nice and clean and the staff was super friendly! Check-in was prompt as was check-out. We were able to print our boarding pass at the business centre. The lobby area is nice with a fireplace, tv's, and lounge/bar area. A Starbucks is located inside the hotel and they also have breakfast there. Both rooms were similar. We did notice that our room facing the airport was noisier than the one facing the front of the hotel. We also enjoyed the Moxie's restaurant across the road. We also noticed quite a difference in price between a weekend stay and a week night stay. We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Far North Coast, NSW
Level Contributor
231 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Prompt free airport pick-up service and friendly check-in.
A fairly new hotel. Our room was fabulous and very spacious! Overlooking the golf-course (this was entertaining to watch!)
The rooms were very quiet both from outside noise and adjoining rooms.
WiFi was faultless and can be accessed in room. Ice machine provided near the lifts and bar fridge in room. It was handy to see a mini-supermarket in the foyer to purchase essentials and/or snacks. Also handy is the coin-operated washing machines and dryers.
We had dinner in the lounge and it was reasonably priced given that guests have limited options available to them. We were impressed by this.
Shuttle to airport takes 15-20 minutes, but I understand it will be quicker when airport roadworks have finished. We used the airport courtesy phone to contact hotel to be picked up.

Room Tip: The cleaners lift is noisy - request a room away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4evaLuv-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Residence Inn by Marriott Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O' Call Hotel
Northeast Calgary
Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Delta Hotels Calgary Airport In-Terminal
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn by Hilton Calgary Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Calgary Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Calgary Airport

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Calgary Airport
Address: 2500 48th Avenue NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 4V8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Calgary Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Calgary Airport provides greater flexibility and choices for guests than the other Calgary airport hotels. At the center of it all, our restaurant and bar - The Bistro - is a destination that delights with breakfast in the morning and fantastic drinks during the evening. When you stay at Courtyard by Marriott Calgary Airport, you can enjoy flexible accommodations, as well as inviting public spaces, that provide free Wi-Fi and many opportunities for relaxation. Our YYC airport hotel's free airport shuttle makes it easy for you to arrive with us or to head back to the airport when your stay in Calgary is through. We offer a perfect blend of convenience and comfort for our guests, with modern decor and many high-tech amenities. Courtyard by Marriott Calgary Airport is close to Calgary Tower, CrossIron Mills, and businesses like Shaw, General Dynamics, and Telus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Calgary Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing