We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B & B!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City View Bed And Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City View Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 52 Calgary B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

The missus and I were going to Calgary for the Neil Young concert and wanted to find an affordable place to stay close to the Saddledome. City View fit the bill. We stayed in the Sunfire Room, which was wonderful- King Size bed, gas fireplace, fridge, microwave, HUGE clawfoot bathtub, private entrance- the only critiques I would make are the fact that no toiletries (i.e. soap/shampoo) are provided (although to be fair, we just assumed that they would be, and ya know what they say about assuming) and the private entrance is a glass door with no curtains; someone walking or driving past the building could clearly see into the room- something to keep in mind if you're planning a romantic evening...
The brekkie was excellent: whole what pancakes with fruit & whipped cream w/ bacon. Cooked by Micheline herself, and really provided a homey atmosphere.
Micheline and Ken are great hosts (being a B & B manager myself I can certainly appreciate what they do) and they have definitely done themselves proud with the City View. We'll be back next time we're in Calgary for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank porkchopsjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    14
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
27
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

this place its excellent if you are looking for a friendly, cosy and comfortable place to stay in a family environment. We are a couple from Chile, we was very lucky to found this place, because we was looking for a hostel but all of them was full, so we found the City View, and we was surprised that the price was cheaper than the dorm room in a hostel but here we get a private double room with TV and Internet. the room is in the house just in front off the bus stop, so if you are with a lot of luggage is easy to get here by bus, we also get the best information from Micheline who is always keen to help you.
for sure we will come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diego s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

micheline is the perfect host and ken does his part & more...stayed here 5 years ago,back then first impression didnt set you alight until walking through the door.
arriving,like the first time we were greeted at the door,coffee,cookies & a chat followed,then our rooms with a massive comfortable bed,private shower,fridge,microwave etc.
i dont normally eat first thing in a morning and never this time but the variety was excellent & enjoyed by those i were with.
other guests were also pleasant as you made yourself at home with all the help and advice you need
this is a place where you can feel relaxed,no airs and graces but you instantly give respect to the warmth of the welcome you recieve.
there is no pool so i cannot comment but having to rate i would be unjust to spoil the line so please overlook my rating,thanks.
yes there are decoration etc but i would call them fasinating plus micheline even took the time to teach me native american culture and belief's..we stayed two nights as guests of two charming people and i thank them deeply.

Room Tip: my wife and i were in one,my brother and sister in law another,both were nice and with a balcony.oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malc5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caro, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We were privledged to stay on two occassions at City View Bed and Breakfast in Calgary. Both stays were for arrival and departure nights on our trip to the Banff area. Our hostess/propriator Micheline and her helper Ken were both gracious and willing to accomadate our needs to a tee. Their Bed and Breakfast was just as advertized and well organized and clean. The bed was comfortable and offered a great nights rest. The view from the viewing area across the road was spectacular. (With view of the city skyline and Calgary Stampede facility) The breakfast were first class and had a french gourmet touch. If you desire to see the Calgary area or are just looking for a special place to arrive to or depart from Calgary, This Bed and Breakfast should be top on your list. When we are able to return someday we will definitely plan a stay at City View Bed and Breakfast. Oh by the way the rates were very reasonable compared to local hotel rates.

Terry & Kathy Klein
Caro, Michigan

Room Tip: We stayed in the bedroom with the kingsize bed. The comfort was great and the room had plenty of sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Photoseeker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leduc, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We arrived in the city a little earlier than your scheduled time and were able to check in at noon. The room had a panoramic view of the city. A private bath and king size bed were a nice touch. Room was nice and clean and had a private balcony. We walked to the saddledome for our event and walked to 9 ave and enjoyed an afternoon of shopping and a nice lunch. Breakfast was a delicious french toast/fruit & whipped cream combo, orange juice and coffee. Real food, not like a breakfast at your typical hotel. We enjoyed our stay and will keep this place in mind the next time we are in Calgary. Great value.

Room Tip: We chose sunset room and it exceeded our expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvidCoffeeDrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed at the City View B&B for one weekend, and it was an all around pleasant experience.

I guess you need to kind of like all the cheesy decoration - I found it charming: it made a nice change from the business hotels I usually stay at.

The quality of the breakfast was superb, actually the breakfast was a little piece of art each morning.

Micheline and Ken were good hosts and very supportive in any touristic questions I had.

I would stay at their place again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in October. It was probably the cheapest place to stay and considering we were just passing through we weren't fussy. Micheline is a lovely host and means well, however she is a little all over the place. The room we stayed in was okay; I agree with the other reviews there was too much junk and room was very dusty. The breakfast was average nothing special in my opinion. I probably would not stay here if I was on vacation but if you just need a place to sleep it's an average place with great views of the city.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isa198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Bed And Breakfast

Property: City View Bed And Breakfast
Address: 2300 6 St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 4S2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Calgary City View. With a spectacular view of the Rockies, this comfortable and well taken care of home, is a charming and cozy place to which to return after a busy day of sightseeing and shopping. Situated in a prime location, we are only 15 kilometers from the airport and mere minutes away from downtown Calgary and the Stampede Grounds. We have many facilities and services on our premises to ensure that your stay is as comfortable and convenient as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your City View Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing