We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky....with some added extras!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City View Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 54 Calgary B&B and Inns
Crossmichael, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quirky....with some added extras!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Quirky, chaotic, welcoming, fun, strange - City View Guest House is all those things and more.
We wanted to experience guest house accomodation on our tour of Canada and we choose City View Guest House because it looked slightly different, had stunning views of the cityscape, and of Calgary stampede ground, and was close enough to town to walk.
We didn't realise it also incorporated the quirky personality of our lovely hostess Micheline and this made it stand out from other places we visited. Hailing from Quebec, Micheline has brought an eclectic mix of furniture and ornaments into her home which brought comments of "ooohhh look at that" or alternatively "what in the name is that?"
We had two doubles booked with our room on the first floor and the other at ground level - which could have been claustrophobic but for a little seating area outside.
Our room at first floor level was large with a balcony but filled full of 'stuff' which kind of restricted where you could put things.
The bed was super kingsize and the room also had a desk, chairs, a fridge , a microvave and tea and coffee making facilities.
All fine but also had an array of clutter and ornaments which we could have without. THe biggest bug bear was the polythene cover on the mattress which not and made us wonder about the type of clientele they must attract if they have to have to put this on the mattress. It made for an uncomfortable sleep on a warm night.
On the plus side you will never get a better location for the stampede, the place is fascinating, the food is interesting and the hostess absolutely charming and she will go out her way to make your stay a good one.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank AhrleneFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    15
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
28
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed in City View bed and breakfast twice, firstly on November 2011 and secondly for a attending the Calgary’s Global Petroleum Show on June 2012.

The room I occupied in November 2011 was very well furnished with en suite bathroom(shower), and TV. It was the smallest room of the B&B, even though the space was properly arranged.
In June 2012, I was accommodated in the second house held by Micheline, at around 300 meters down to the street. This time, the bedroom was on the basement, with bathroom shared with others guests.

Comfort and utilities provided by the house were sufficient for my needs.
During this stay, I had the opportunity to meet people working on the oil industry and attending to the global Petroleum show, that enabled me to build my own professional network too.

The both trips I had in Alberta were different, however I really appreciated staying in City View B&B for diverse reasons, the emplacement of B&B is not far away from Calgary downtown,
I took around 25 minutes by walk to get there, secondly the place is very quiet and lastly, as a native French speaker, it was very convenient to ask Micheline advices regarding practical information’s (cars renting, etc..) as well as places worthwhile in Calgary’s surrounding…

I found the ratio price versus offer very competitive for Calgary and on the top of that, Ken’s breakfasts are very plentiful!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renaud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This was my first visit to Calgary and first time ever staying in a B&B, it was a great experience! Couldn’t have asked for anything better!
The location was great, the rooms were so nice and comfortable and the hospitality provided by Micheline was just perfect. She has thought of practically everything you might need and she does everything to make your stay comfortable and easy. She makes you feel at home. Thanks you Micheline for taking such good care of your guests!
If I have chance to visit Calgary again, I’ll undoubtedly stay in Calgary city view. I already miss everything of the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hind i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

The missus and I were going to Calgary for the Neil Young concert and wanted to find an affordable place to stay close to the Saddledome. City View fit the bill. We stayed in the Sunfire Room, which was wonderful- King Size bed, gas fireplace, fridge, microwave, HUGE clawfoot bathtub, private entrance- the only critiques I would make are the fact that no toiletries (i.e. soap/shampoo) are provided (although to be fair, we just assumed that they would be, and ya know what they say about assuming) and the private entrance is a glass door with no curtains; someone walking or driving past the building could clearly see into the room- something to keep in mind if you're planning a romantic evening...
The brekkie was excellent: whole what pancakes with fruit & whipped cream w/ bacon. Cooked by Micheline herself, and really provided a homey atmosphere.
Micheline and Ken are great hosts (being a B & B manager myself I can certainly appreciate what they do) and they have definitely done themselves proud with the City View. We'll be back next time we're in Calgary for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank porkchopsjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

this place its excellent if you are looking for a friendly, cosy and comfortable place to stay in a family environment. We are a couple from Chile, we was very lucky to found this place, because we was looking for a hostel but all of them was full, so we found the City View, and we was surprised that the price was cheaper than the dorm room in a hostel but here we get a private double room with TV and Internet. the room is in the house just in front off the bus stop, so if you are with a lot of luggage is easy to get here by bus, we also get the best information from Micheline who is always keen to help you.
for sure we will come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diego s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

micheline is the perfect host and ken does his part & more...stayed here 5 years ago,back then first impression didnt set you alight until walking through the door.
arriving,like the first time we were greeted at the door,coffee,cookies & a chat followed,then our rooms with a massive comfortable bed,private shower,fridge,microwave etc.
i dont normally eat first thing in a morning and never this time but the variety was excellent & enjoyed by those i were with.
other guests were also pleasant as you made yourself at home with all the help and advice you need
this is a place where you can feel relaxed,no airs and graces but you instantly give respect to the warmth of the welcome you recieve.
there is no pool so i cannot comment but having to rate i would be unjust to spoil the line so please overlook my rating,thanks.
yes there are decoration etc but i would call them fasinating plus micheline even took the time to teach me native american culture and belief's..we stayed two nights as guests of two charming people and i thank them deeply.

Room Tip: my wife and i were in one,my brother and sister in law another,both were nice and with a balcony.oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malc5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caro, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We were privledged to stay on two occassions at City View Bed and Breakfast in Calgary. Both stays were for arrival and departure nights on our trip to the Banff area. Our hostess/propriator Micheline and her helper Ken were both gracious and willing to accomadate our needs to a tee. Their Bed and Breakfast was just as advertized and well organized and clean. The bed was comfortable and offered a great nights rest. The view from the viewing area across the road was spectacular. (With view of the city skyline and Calgary Stampede facility) The breakfast were first class and had a french gourmet touch. If you desire to see the Calgary area or are just looking for a special place to arrive to or depart from Calgary, This Bed and Breakfast should be top on your list. When we are able to return someday we will definitely plan a stay at City View Bed and Breakfast. Oh by the way the rates were very reasonable compared to local hotel rates.

Terry & Kathy Klein
Caro, Michigan

Room Tip: We stayed in the bedroom with the kingsize bed. The comfort was great and the room had plenty of sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Photoseeker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
630 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#31 of 109 in Calgary
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,169 reviews
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Bed And Breakfast

Property: City View Bed And Breakfast
Address: 2300 6 St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 4S2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Calgary City View. With a spectacular view of the Rockies, this comfortable and well taken care of home, is a charming and cozy place to which to return after a busy day of sightseeing and shopping. Situated in a prime location, we are only 15 kilometers from the airport and mere minutes away from downtown Calgary and the Stampede Grounds. We have many facilities and services on our premises to ensure that your stay is as comfortable and convenient as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your City View Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing