We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a winner”
Review of Mercato West

Mercato West
Ranked #210 of 3,546 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Christina Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always a winner”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Excellent service as always and great food. Best pasta in town. Comprehensive wine list with some top Italian wines.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Casper V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    32
    16
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Eat here weekly”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have tried just about everything on the menu in both the restaurant and the Pizza bar. I have never been disappointed with a dish they recommended or with a pizza I have ordered. Recently I celebrated my birthday with 18 people at this wonderful establishment and it was amazing as always. On a weekly basis my kids and I go for the pizza. It is thin crust with delicious toppings and it is served up at the pizza bar. The kids love the atmosphere and love the pizza so much they eat it for lunch the next day. My kids are 5, 7 and 16 so this place caters to children. The service is always wonderful and attentive and the staff from day one has been wonderful to deal with. Yes it is more money but the food is fresh, the service is wonderful and I am never hungry or disappointed when I leave. Eating at the other restaurants in the area is like a roller coaster ride of great to terrible and Mercatos is always consistently wonderful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle11796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, but not quite worth the $”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Hubby and I visited Mercato's on a date night. We don't mind shelling out $$ for a nice meal out, but this one fell a bit short. It was all fine and good service, but just not quite worth a higher than average price. The atmosphere is busy and a bit flashy - not intimate at all. Seems like a place to take someone you want to impress.

Good restaurant, but just fine, nothing more.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelwKiddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“BEST pizza in town!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Mercato West is divided into 3 sections - the market, the restaurant, and a pizza bar. The pizza bar is incredible. WAY better than any pizza place downtown. Delish flavours, fresh, and how amazing is it to be served by Italians who know their food and wine. We've had 4 of the pizza's, and they don't disappoint. They also make killer desserts and specialty coffees. This place is not to be missed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank esg772016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We visited Mercato for a special occasion and was not disappointed at all! It felt like a little slice of Italy in Calgary. Wonderful food and wine selection. Service was a bit spotty, but the atmosphere and food certainly made up for it. It is a bit pricey, so good to visit for special occaisions.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tlhoooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercato West also viewed

Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Mercato West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing