We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located with Fine Hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inglewood Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 57 Calgary B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Located in an old neighborhood of Calgary next to the Bow River and paved walking trails, this B&B is a model of what such lodging should be. Helmut and Valinda are as friendly and helpful as everyone has described. The breakfast menu is a changing one every day with three items to choose from but with lots of variety and creativity. Rooms are large and very comfortable with our hosts eager to please on any thing extra needed. Shoes are removed at the front door in the old European tradition. Free wifi is offered in the rooms if you have your own laptop computer or downstairs on theirs in the dining area. Driveway parking is available and there's ample street parking as well. The location is great for walking to such sights as the Stampede grounds (perhaps 2 km. distance and a 20-minute walk along easy footpaths) and the downtown is a straight walk along nearby 9th Ave. (perhaps 2.5 or 3 km in 30 minutes). The Glenbow Museum and 200-meter high Tower are on the same 9th Ave. as is the parallel pedestrian-only shopping zone of Stephen Ave. which also has numerous restaurants. But not to be outdone in that department is an excellent pub called the Hose and Hound (an old converted firehouse) just around the corner from the B&B that offers an interesting, eclectic menu of very good quality. Certainly a great "center of operations" for those wanting to attend the July Stampede rodeo and other activities on the grounds as parking around and at that facility is limited and, as one would expect, congested during Stampede dates.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

Inglewood B&B is named after the local neighborhood, which for a time was the center of town until the CPR moved its main station to a location across the Elbow River. Inglewood gradually deteriorated into a scuzzy condition until people began to recognize the advantages of low cost property near the city center. Our hosts, Valinda Larson & Helmut Schoderbock, built the house in a traditional style so it fits nicely into the area. The inside of our B&B wasn't especially noteworthy, but the place was very clean and well-managed. Valinda and Helmut were very friendly and helpful with tips on dining, etc. Three different breakfast options were offered to take account of special dietary needs. The hosts joined us for coffee and a chat, which is one of the best things about B&B lodging. A minor peeve--there were no chairs in the large bedroom.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshsinger44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This was our first stop in Canada and it was a good one! When we arrived Valinda welcomed us and showed us the house / room. Shoes off and don't be afraid of the cats :-).
Valinda also mentioned some local bars and diners, downtown Calgary is a 10-15 minutes’ walk.
The room was clean and the breakfast was good. Valinda's whiteboard with all the names and breakfast choices; loved it.
The breakfast table is also a good way to start your day, everybody is introduced to each other and all the travel tips are being exchanged.

Definitely a place to come back to. Ask Valinda for the "Cat Story" (the one she saved).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wouteros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Valinda and Helmuts homely B&B. This was our first night in Canada and our first experience of Calgary. Valinda and Helmut are really welcoming and happy to suggest places to see and eat depending on your taste. It's a really nice walk into the main city centre, right along the river path. There is also a good local pub, the 'Hose and Hound' which is built inside an old fire hall, within a couple of minutes walk. The room was nice and cosy and the shower was good. The nicest thing about it is that they are both around at breakfast, even having breakfast with the guests, so its got a real 'family' feel- it was nice to meet Rolf and his family (who wrote the review below)! Valinda's home made muesli was my favourite breakfast of the two week holiday!!! Shame we didn't get to stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bryonywalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

It is a great little B&B in Calgary, a pretty house with a nice garden. And the location is perfect, calm but also very close to the city. Ideal for a sightseeing-tour.
We enjoyed the familiar atmosphere and say thank you very much for your tipps for our travel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helmuth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This has been our fourth stay with Valinda and Helmut, this very nice Canadian/Austrian couple running this B&B now for numerous years, and it had always been better than we remembered it from previous years.
Valinda's pride is the breakfast, with three very different choices every day to pick from and varying during the week, always including fresh fruit such as their homegrown raspberries.
Breakfast is held at a big table in the guests' sitting room which is also providing free internet access.
Rooms are very nicely appointed and very well kept, TV in every room and also in the guests' sitting room.
Helmut is keeping the place in good repair, and as he is very good working with wood there is always something new to admire, blinds, furniture inside and out.
Both are full of good tips and hints what to do and see, and can provide everything from maps to brochures offering discount on many tourist attractions.
Despite running this B&B throughout the year, both are still obviously enjoying it. The house, though looking old and traditional, was custom-built for them to be run as a B&B.
Adding to all these delightful features is the location of the B&B: It is located in Inglewood, a suburb of Calgary but still within walking distance of downtown Calgary (about 20 minutes). It is also in walking distance of the zoo, and the backside is overlooking the stripe of green running along the river Bow, excellent for jogging, cycling or walking along the river to the City Center. In the front, there is a playground across the street which belongs to a day care center, but at least in the late afternoon/evening, it is always empty and opten to the public.
The next street running parallel is the main street in Inglewood, featuring some restaurants and shops.
The Fort Calgary is close by.
We always rent a motorhome, and RV companies will pick you up and return you to this B&B, though grudgingly (but they do it, just insist!).
My 7-year-old daughter who was accompanying us on the last three trips said this year when we left: Mummy, are we going to see our friends Valinda and Helmut again next year?
We all certainly hope so!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rolf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed four days at Inglewood and found the accomadation extremly comfortable. The hosts Valinda and Helmut were very helpfull and frendly.the breakfast was adequate and tasty. We would defiiantly stay there again and would recommend it to anyone staying in Calgary.
Margaret and Stan Queensland Australia

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan7157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Mission
Calgary Westways Guest House
Hillurst
River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast
Northwest Calgary
Along River Ridge
Along River Ridge
#5 of 57 in Calgary
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Tending Gardens Bed and Breakfast
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglewood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1006 8 Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0M4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Inglewood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range: £75 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Calgary location in quiet neighborhood along park and Bow River. Free: off-street parking, WIFI, guest computer station. Comfortable rooms, professionally prepared food, friendly and helpful hosts. English and German spoken. Walking distance to Calgary Tower, Convention Center, Calgary Zoo, Fort Calgary, Calgary Stampede, Saddledome, downtown businesses. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing