We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the house, and the neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 54 Calgary B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved the house, and the neighborhood”
Reviewed 23 May 2007

This place is so great. They even give you a gym pass to the gym just behind the backyard. How nice is that?! Breakfast was really yummy and served fresh and quick, at my convenience. The bed was pretty comfortable, too. The only drawback was the shared shower - I guess I had the same schedule as another guest, so I had to time my shower just right. Otherwise the house is lovely, the owner is really hospitable and down-to-earth and the inn is just down the street from a great little pub with lots of young people and good beer. The first snow of the year arrived the same day I did, which made the house so pretty!

  • Liked — The owner was really friendly and helpful
  • Disliked — It was a little noisy upstairs thanks to the great, old wooden staircase
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BackpackGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    14
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
39
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2006

What the River Wynde has going for it is the location. It's on a lovely little street, in a quiet location so very close to the Kensington shopping district. You can just walk there!
What the River Wynde has going against it is the house itself. After our initial shock at first seeing it - the house is smaller and simpler than we had thought, we were glad that they had a self-check-in system. That was great! But, once inside, we were dismayed at how noisy it was to simply walk on the floor!! The floors are wooden and old and a part of the ambience. We stayed in the Forest Room, which I agree with a previous poster is the best room to stay in as people won't be walking past this room, since it's at the end of the hall. But we felt bad for people in the other rooms when we would walk past, or go up and down the stairs. Those stairs are noisy!! The one thing we did not like about the Forest Room were the lace curtains on the glass door of the room - no privacy!!! You can see right through those beautiful curtains. Also, if you go out on the balcony from the Forest Room, don't close the door behind you, as you might unwittingly lock yourself out. When we stayed here, all the rooms upstairs were occupied, but we never had a problem with access to the bathroom down the hall. River Wynde is a lovely place, otherwise, decorated beautifully and very well furnished. It feels very homey. And the breakfasts are fantastic! Would we stay here again? Maybe, especially since they have a fan in the room, which can block out most noises.

  • Liked — Close to Kensington, great breakfasts, comfortable room
  • Disliked — the noisy floors and stairs, and the see-through curtains in one room
  • Tips/Secrets — Just know the place can be noisy
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2006

We stayed in River Wynde for 3 nights recently. It is a very nice B & B in a lovely part of town, and it probably a great place to stay if you are in a room upstairs. However, as we were on our honeymoon, we had booked the 'Fire Room' which was slightly more expensive and billed as a more romantic room. I hadn't seen the earlier review, so didn't realise that this room is basically the former dining room, and is on the ground floor next to the kitchen and the main hallway of the building. The house is old and soundproofing minimal, so anything that happened on the ground floor sounded like it was happening in our bedroom - not very conducive to sleep (and not particularly romantic!). We didn't get a single full nights sleep, the last night was especially bad as someone came in to use the kitchen ( a great facility to have, by the way) around half twelve, and another person left around half four in the morning, taking about 20 minutes and many trips up and down the hall past our door to do so.
The breakfasts were fantastic, and overall it is a nice place, Deanne is very friendly and helpful, but really shouldn't be charging $110 plus tax for a room you can't sleep in! Stay here, but not downstairs.

PS, We were sharing a bathroom (which I didn't know when making the booking, it's not mentioned on the website) with a room which is in a cabin in the garden. The people staying there seemed quite happy with their room but not everyone might appreciate walking through the garden at night if you need to use the bathroom!

  • Liked — location, breakfast, free internet access
  • Disliked — no soundproofing!
  • Tips/Secrets — go upstairs!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Corkonienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2006

what a lovely place.we stayed in the fire room but it was too hot to have the fire actually lit. The whole atmosphere is so laid back and we were encouraged to use the facilities in the kitchen. The breakfast was lovely and its such a great location, just over the river from downtown . There is a really peaceful garden to sit out in and Deanne is a super hostess.

  • Liked — location and friendliness of host
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank happyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2006

We stayed for 2 nights, separated by a weekend in Banff National Park. The park was great, but the River Wynde spoiled us for our nights away, so it was wonderful to return. Deanne, the hostess, made us feel welcome, and - perhaps even more important - friends.

The location is a little way out from the center, but in a great neighborhood, full of interesting shops and good restaurants (we tried two, and had fantastic food both times). There's a big Safeway's near the train line into town. It's actually walking distance into town if you aren't in a hurry, but the train (light rail) is also very convenient.

The first night, we stayed at the back of the house, in a room with its own balcony (the Sun room). It overlooked the back garden,and what turned out to be the deck we ate breakfast on the following day. The room had just enough space to make you feel that you fitted in without too much crowding. (If you like to bring lots of gear with you, you might not feel this.)

When we returned, we stayed in the room at the front of the house (the Forest room), which was quite a bit larger, and had a balcony that overlooks the quiet street in which the house sits. (It's got a gate to block through traffic, so there's almost no noise.) The second morning, we ate breakfast inside in the kitchen. Both rooms were very comfortable; both breakfasts included ample quantities of good food.

The rooms shared a bathroom with the other guests, with a bath and a shower. We never had a conflict with anybody. (And we never experienced noise from other guests.)

Deanne made us feel incredibly welcome. She uses a lock-box system I've not seen before: she gives you the combination, and you can check yourself in, rather than having to be stressed about making (and meeting) an appointment. We liked this a lot, and wished more people did it.

We'd happily go back - and I'm giving the address to all my work colleagues who might visit Calgary. It's far more pleasant a place than any hotel.

  • Liked — friendly host; comfortable rooms; great breakfast
  • Disliked — shared bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — think: house, not hotel
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ajw42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2006

Maybe the other glowing reviews were based on which room they stayed in. Be aware that the Fire Room on the main floor (what would have been the dining room) gets alot of noise from above and the kitchen next door. People coming and going resulted in an extremely fitful sleep. After what I had read, not what I had anticipated. Based on this experience, will not return.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank starfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2006

We have just returned from our trip to Canada and can thoroughly recommend the River Wynde B&B to anyone thinking of staying in Calgary.
This charming beautifully presented house is in a quiet road and in an excellent position from a visitor point of view. The rooms are very comfortable and everything in the house is kept spotlessly clean. Deanne encourages you to treat it as a home from home and it really is. For anyone worried that staying in a b&b feels like intruding in someone else's house be assured that you feel completely free to come and go as you please, make yourself a snack in the kitchen, store bits in the fridge, chill out in the lounge, borrow a video from the collection downstairs etc. We didn't see very much of Deanne except for the mornings where we were greeted with a big smile and a delicious cooked breakfast served out on the patio in the sunshine. Each morning she took the time to sit and chat with us and her other guests, nothing was too much trouble and everything felt so relaxed and comfortable. When it came time for us to move on to our next destination we felt like we had made a friend and of all our stops in Canada this was the one our 14 year old says he enjoyed the most and we would have to agree!

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Droid0162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Kensington Riverside Inn
Kensington Riverside Inn
#27 of 109 in Calgary
380 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Palliser
#19 of 109 in Calgary
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast

Property: River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast
Address: 220 10a St NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1W6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Hillurst , Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on a quiet residential street, in the heart of one of the trendiest shopping districts in Calgary. Just minutes away from the downtown core of Calgary by foot or light rail train, we have delivered comfort and value to business and vacation travelers for over thirteen years! Offering many amenities; feather duvets, hot breakfast, loaner bikes, gym access, robes, slippers, high speed wireless internet, large well-appointed rooms with hardwood floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing