We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The quaintest motel in town”

Stetson Village Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stetson Village Inn
Ranked #85 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Burbank, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The quaintest motel in town”
Reviewed 24 April 2009

I stayed here for a week, and the service was impeccable. From the people at the front desk to the cleanliness of the rooms, I highly recommend it to anyone wanting value for their money and the most personable service. I felt so welcomed here!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yahoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    9
    3
    3
    11
See reviews for
11
4
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2007

In my opinion, whether or not the staff are pleasant, this hotel needs to be demolished or seriously renovated. Stayed here on a Fri. and Sat. night. Couldn't move elsewhere as other nearby hotels were fully booked due to a int'l. event at Spruce Meadows. It is a very reasonable priced hotel for Calgary ($89/night), but that includes doors that need to be closed by a shoulder push (bathroom door didn't close), peeling paint and wood, mouldy shower curtain, and broken TV. If your only requirements are a comfortable bed and good shower pressure this hotel is fine. Due to the very thin walls I listened to the motel's pub band play very loud music until 1:30 a.m. both nights and non-family-friendly content in the morning from the couple next door. The hotel staff certainly were not honest when I asked for a quiet room at the time of making the reserv. and at check-in. Perhaps there aren't any quieter rooms. It's just a very rundown place and I would not stay there again.

  • Liked — shower pressure
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirkyitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2006

We stayed at the Stetson Village during Stampede week and found it very pleasant---even as crazy as Stampede can get in the city of Calgary. We had a few functions in the south part of the city and we were searching for a clean reasonable place to stay. And thats exactly what you'll get when staying at the Stetson Village. The staff was friendly and helpful when we needed anything---day or night. And the breakfast at their restaurant is pretty good too! We'll be back next year along with a few other couples! Thanks for making our stay in Calgary enjoyable......Yahoooo!

  • Liked — Price, location and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Traffic along the main road is alittle frustrating, McLoed Trail?
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2006

This was our first time trip to Calgary as tourists. Stetson Village Inn was higly recommended, so we checked it out! We are glad we chose to stay here! The crew are very friendly and heart-warming from the front desk to housekeeping. The place is well-kept, clean, secured, and comfortable. We'll visit Calgary again next year, this time for business venture; and we'll surely stay at Stetson Village Inn again. We're looking forward to it!!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank MAE-YA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2006

I've made reservations at this hotel everytime I stop by in Calgary, and it never seems to displease me. The people at the desk are so friendly to me...maybe it's because I'm such a familiar face now, but I have absolutely no complaints about staying here. It's clean, they're organized, the people are great. Overall, I have an excellent experience every time. No need for any of those other places on Macleod. They don't compare to this little diamond in the rough!!!!

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jw033588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelson, bc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2006

even though i confirmed the reservation two weeks before, one week before, and then THE DAY BEFORE THE RESERVATION, they still ¨lost¨ it. a fixable situation if the whole south end of the city were not booked (overbooked... emily??) for an international event at spruce meadows. the rooms were for guests at a family wedding and we found out we were out of luck on the saturday evening during the reception. i suggest the travelodge or the econolodge just a few minutes north on macleod trail. they are clean, inexpensive AND SEEM TO BE ABLE TO HONOR RESERVATIONS!!!!

  • Liked — didn´t get a chance!!!
  • Disliked — again, didn´tget a chance!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — don´t try to reserve here if you need to depend on it, even with a credit card to hold it, they gave my room away
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lalamich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#92 of 109 in Calgary
243 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#45 of 109 in Calgary
533 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#29 of 109 in Calgary
906 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Econo Lodge South
#88 of 109 in Calgary
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stetson Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stetson Village Inn

Property: Stetson Village Inn
Address: 10002 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 3K9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Stetson Village Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stetson Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stetson Village Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing