We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Care, comfort, a real pleasure.”
Review of Tuxedo House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tuxedo House B&B
Ranked #4 of 54 Calgary B&B and Inns
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Care, comfort, a real pleasure.”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

What a treat it was to stay at the Tuxedo House B&B in Calgary. Glen was such a fantastic host, from greeting us at the door when we arrived to leaving a message on our phone to wish me a happy birthday, which he knew was the day after we left the b&b. Glen's home is comfortable and immaculate and the breakfast with homemade jams (some from fruit from his garden) was wonderful. I'm gluten intolerant and he happily accommodated this.
Although the contact doesn't seem to currently be on trip advisor, it is easy to find the website by googling the name.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
45
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is a FANTASTIC bed and breakfast! The decor is warm and comfortable, the garden is stunning, the host (Glen) was a perfect gentleman, everywhere is kept immaculately clean, the breakfast was delicious, and the property is located close to many great restaurants (within walking distance). I honestly don't think that the pictures of the place posted online do it justice. It's a very sweet place with great attention to detail everywhere you turn. We had packed many activities into our short holiday in Calgary (e.g. restaurants, movie, dinner theatre etc.) but both found that our favourite part of the trip was enjoying relaxing time spent on the balcony of this beautiful property enjoying the sights and sounds of nature on a gorgeous summer morning. All of the 'Excellent' reviews that this property has garnered are well deserved.
N.B. It's easy to access from downtown. It's basically a drive down Centre Street. People can take the No. 3 Sandstone bus down Centre Street if they'd prefer to save themself a car rental.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianCruiseGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Tuxedo House. It's a lovely bed and breakfast with great amenities and close to all attractions. Glen, our friendly host, cooked delicious breakfasts and provided helpful information about the attractions in and around Calgary. However, we were so sorry to hear that Missy, his beloved dog, passed away, and we had read so many positive comments including what a terrific addition she was to the bed and breakfast. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrippingRound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Would highly recommend this B&B. Very comfortable, wonderful host, beautiful house and gardens. Glen is an extremely charming and down to earth fellow who immediately made us feel right at home. Will definitely stay here again! Thanks Glen!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CountryGal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

My daughter and I had a wonderful stay at this establishment. The proprieter was a great host and the friendliest person you'll ever meet. We were there for two nights and it was the most quiet and comfortable stay that you could imagine. The location was perfect as it was on a major bus line so we didn't even rent a car. We also had two delicious breakfasts to boot. Loved the homemade jams and Crabapple jelly! Thanks Glen!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHRISTOPHER T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

A pleasant experience, I stayed 3 nights. Glen and Missy are amazing hosts. Delicious breakfast daily. Superb location, just north of downtown. Glen provided a parking pass and a Canadian National Parks pass that
Would recommend Tuxedo House to B&B travelers.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardSynchroDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Tuxedo House is a pleasant place to stay while in Calgary. Gary makes a nice breakfast and is friendly and accomodating. Be mindful that there is a dog (very calm) on the first floor and that there are shared bathrooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ck76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#4 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#29 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuxedo House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuxedo House B&B

Property: Tuxedo House B&B
Address: 121 21 Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 1S3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing